We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Tropical Location”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hawksnest Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adfriedma
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location. No indoor shower.”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
5
people found this review helpful

The location and views are wonderful. Short walk down to Gibney beach; one of the most beautiful beaches in St John. You virtually have the beach to yourself since there is limited parking. Location can't be beat; thats why we selected it.

Now for the downside -
1. There are no indoor showers. This normally wouldn't be a problem, however the villa is tucked in a lush forest, there is always moisture in the showers and they become breeding grounds for mosquitos. The first night my daughter took a shower and was covered head to toe with mosquito bites. No one took showers the rest of the trip. This isn't acceptable anymore with fears of mosquito borne illnesses; Zika, Dengue etc.... At the very least they should inform customers that there are no indoor showers. Don't even think of showering after dark.

2. Cleanliness issues. When we arrived the sheet on our bead was covered with yellow stains. I pulled another sheet out of the closet, but it had blood stains. 3rd sheet I found was clean.
Definitely need to do better with the linens.

I'm no prima donna, and overall the experience was good. I love St John, service provided by Catered to is very good. Unfortunately, going forward those two issues would be deal breakers. People need to be aware that there are no indoor showers. I don't think thats acceptable anymore with heightened fears of mosquito borne illnesses.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Thank you for your review of Terrahawk. We are sorry that you were in any way disappointed with the fact that Terrahawk has outdoor showers. This is a feature at many villas on the island and many guests specifically seek out homes without door showers. We are sorry that you were not aware of this. We would like to mention that outdoor showers are noted on our website as a custom amenity at Terrahawk. We have also had all of the linen inspected and replaced as needed.

We are happy to know that you otherwise enjoyed your vacation on St. John and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanci M
Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tropical Location”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Terrahawk is a wonderful villa for those looking for a true tropical experience! It is a perfect two master suite home although a little dated. The location was perfect for all the beautiful North Shore beaches while running into Cruz Bay was quick and easy. We loved the front porch views for morning coffee/breakfast! We do like to watch an evening movie a night or two and were not able to as the tv was the size of a postage stamp. We laughed and made our way, but a larger tv would be a great upgrade. Bedding and living room furniture were just ok on the comfort range. But, again, location and views make Terrahawk and we would stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to North Shore beaches and views
Liked least: Poor TV, bedding and uncomfortable living room furniture
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownEaste...
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, great week”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Property represented by Catered To. Picked up at the ferry by Kate. She had lots of good info while we waited for our rental car- a necessity for this location. The house was stocked with treats and necessities . Kitchen well equipped. Has local phone. Mid week there was cleaning service which was nice. Location excellent for N. shore beaches and Cruz Bay. In fact there is a lovely beach in walking distance across the street. Only downsides-flat screen TV for too small for the men in our group. The driveway is a real challenge due to narrowness, steepness and rock walls. We had the big jeep for 4 and only one member of our group felt comfortable doing the driveway. No incidents though so we had a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: TV and driveway
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CL1494
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location walk to Gibneys beach”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice stay at a convenient location. Its a short walk of about 2 minutes to the beach and about 10 min to Peace Hill and the secret beach below. This beach and neighboring Hawksnest were quiet and had very nice snorkeling. Well equipped kitchen and good with the room safe and air conditioning. The internet went out but the Cateredto staff setup a line-of-sight modem that got us online for part of the time (apparently the phone company here is unreliable). Staff were helpful in meeting and resolving any problems. One suggestion is to improve the trash system which currently requests that guests drive trash to dumpsters in town daily. A car is needed for staying in this rental.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
telwyn
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great home - even better location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Great home to rent. Two comfortable bedrooms, large living room, two outdoor showers, kitchen in living room. Perfect for a family of 4 or two couples. Best part of the house is the large deck looking over Hawksnest towards Caneel Bay and St. Thomas. Wifi in home is very spotty - broken more than it's on. Decent AT&T cellular throughout the house.

Catered To Vacations was great. Met us at the ferry, took us to get our rental jeep, then to the grocery store, then to the house for a quick tour.

Best part of house is the location. Minutes walk to Oppenheimer Beach and a short drive to the entire island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Spotty wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing