We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place we stayed at !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palma Quemada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TIPI JUNGLA ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
IJzendijke, Nederland
1 review
“best place we stayed at !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We can highly recommend to stay at Tipi Jungla if you are travelling along the coastline near Domincal. Mario and Manon will let you feel right at home in this beautifull place in the middle of the jungle with a spectacular view over the jungle to the ocean from the pelanque. Mario breaths nature and will for sure take you guys out in the jungle looking for poison dart frogs and all the other bush animals you can find. The pelangue is a beautifull spot to relax and enjoy sunsets. We have stayed with Mario and Manon for 4 nights and if we go back to Costa Rica we will definately go back to this wonderfull place. Mario and Manon - you are wonderfull people, passionate about the environment and very keen on giving your guests a wonderfull time at your place. Cannot wait to see you guys again. All the love : Edwin, Sabina and Nick. XXX

Room Tip: all the tipi's are amongst the jungle so it does not matter which one you are in. The pelangue i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwinlaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
107
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spend three nights at tipi Jungla in august 2012 and enjoyed every minute of it! We slept in a Tipi in the middle of the jungle, which was really cool (and a bit scary the first night..although the tipi's are really comfortable). The views from the Tipi and from the Palenque were very beautiful, the best we had during our trip so far. Mario & Marion are very kind and did everything to make us feel welcome. They also know a lot about wildlife and have great stories to tell. The frog-tour we did was amazing (we even saw the rare glass-frog, very beautiful) and Mario took us to see a baby-sloth and a beautiful waterfall. We would definately recommend this place to other travelers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markelo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spend the last three days of our trip in Tipi Jungla and we can definitely say that those were the best! Your tipi is in the middle of the jungle and has its own little bathroom. Of course there can be insects in your tipi, but you sleep under a huge mosquito net, so they can’t come close. Manon and Mario are very warm people. They prepare lovely breakfast, lunch and dinner for their guests. Around the tipi you can see toucans, frogs, sloths and sometimes monkeys. So listen to the stories about the jungle-adventures from Manon and Mario, learn about the animals, relax in your hammock and enjoy this unique experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We could only stay one night at Tipi Jungla Lodge because of our planning. That was really a shame, because it is such a beautiful place! We did a frog-tour with Mario and saw some beautiful frogs! Mario is really enthousiastic and knows a lot about all kind of animals.
Mario and Manon took really good care of us and everything is very nice handmade. The views are amazing! It's a real natural way to experience the beautiful jungle of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My boyfriend and booked a couple nights at TipiJungla in March because we wanted the 'middle of the jungle' experience. We ended up staying at TipiJungla until the very end of our vacation, because we just didn't ever want to leave! It was by far the best vacation place I've ever been to, and was such a great value for a very low cost. This is definitely a place I will go back to.
Seriously -- if you're looking for a middle of the jungle experience, this is the place. Your Tipi (which is beautiful, spacious, and with an outdoor showever) is set in the middle of the jungle, and connected to three other Tipis by trodden path, and up to the main cabin were you can go hang out on the Hammocks that overlook the rainforest and ocean front. Truly amazing. It is a very quaint atmosphere, with only 2-6 other guests there at a time, so you will be served home-cooked meals along side a small group, and get the most personal jungle-tours you could imagine. We did a 'frog' tour (looking for different frog species in the jungle), waterfall tour (where we ended up at a beautiful 'Blue Lagoon' where we sunbathed and swam for the afternoon), rode horses along the beach and met up for pizza on the beach at sunset... I could go on!!!
Looking forward to going back... ASAP!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed 3 nights in february and it is truly an amazing experience to sleep in the middle of the jungle! The tipi's are very comfortable and eco friendly. The sounds of the jungle puts you to sleep at night. Manon and Mario are very helpful and friendly hosts. We went horse back riding on the beach. We saw a lot of sloths up in the trees and wow what a beautiful sunset! Manon arranged a campfire and pizza's. That was truly an evening I will not forget! So don't hesitate and find out yourself!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank na_tasje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This amazing jungle experience is a must do in Costa Rica. From the moment you set foot in your own tipi, Mario and Marion are going to make your stay unforgettable. Your tipi stands in the centre of the rainforest with a great view towards the ocean, which you can also enjoy from the restaurant/lounge area. One thing you have to experience is the crocodile tour with Mario. You go to a nice swamp area at the foot of the mountain where a couple baby and mature crocodiles are living. We had the luck that one smaller croc (0,7m) was outside of the deeper swamp so we could catch it and we could hold it and take 100 pictures. After relieving it back to the swamp we spotted also the red-eyed frog!! During the day you have to watch out that you don't step on the black & green dart frog, which is so beautiful. We did also the horse riding tour on the beach which Florence enjoyed a lot. You ride along with 4 horses for 1,5 hour on a empty beach. In between all the activities you can enjoy the view from the lounge/restaurant area where you can spot toucans, falcons and monkeys while you're reading your book. For us this is one of the most amazing spots we've ever been and Mario and Marion make you feel at home far away from home.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bassteegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma Quemada
4.9 mi away
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
5.5 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
6.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Guava Lodge
Guava Lodge
#2 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rafiki Beach Camp
Rafiki Beach Camp
#1 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charlie's Jungle House
Charlie's Jungle House
#3 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TIPI JUNGLA ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TIPI JUNGLA ecolodge

Property: TIPI JUNGLA ecolodge
Address: 10 km north of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica, Palma Quemada 8915-7857, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Palma Quemada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Palma Quemada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipi Jungla is a unique eco-lodge in Costa Rica. Comfortable teepees on wooden platforms are placed in the rainforest and guarantee an unforgettable night. Each teepee has a private bathroom and a bed with ergonomic mattress. The "Palenque" offers a place to relax in hammocks, enjoy the sea and jungle view and have a drink or something to eat. Tipi Jungla is the ideal location for nature lovers, peace seekers and adventurers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
TIPI JUNGLA Ecolodge Costa Rica/Palma Quemada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing