We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant experience”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from staying at Auckland Takapuna Oaks for 8 days and must say we where extremely satisfied. We stayed in a one bedroom executive and found the room fantastic. The room was spotlessly clean and the facilities in the room where all first class. The people that are working the front desk are a credit to this hotel and where always happy to help. The ferry is just down the road and they supply tickets for this at no extra charge and we used this service to go into Auckland with out any problems. We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay there again if we go back to NZ.

Room Tip: we stayed in the 1 bedroom executive and for us it was fine. there was no aircon in this level of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    180
    68
    30
    13
See reviews for
153
298
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am in Auckland every 3 months and have previously stayed at Rydges and Waldorf Stadium Apartments this year.
In my view the Takapuna Oaks was the best out of the three properties that I have stayed at this year.
The rooms are well planned and spacious, there is free wi fi up to a certain limit, no charge for car parking but the winning factor is their staff , they go out of their way to help you.
They really understand what hospitality is all about.
The free breakfast and Ferry tickets are a bonus. Rajesh and his team are first class , I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 528956John_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here as we were returning to a city hotel a week later and wanted to spend a bit of time exploring Devonport area. So we got a late-booking discount, and for $125 for two for the night was wonderful value. This included breakfast, (not cooked type,) a welcome glass of wine for 2, and two free ferry tickets to the city, (worth $22 by itself). The room was the largest we had experienced, great night-time view across the harbour to the lights, bridge and Sky Tower, very comfortable bed, good shower, and plenty of room. No night-time noise.
We had a car so had no trouble going up the road for dinner, the hotel is down a long road from the nearest shops, but a public bus does go past. We caught the ferry over to the city and back, and as it was Saturday we had a bit of a tour to a few other ferry stops.
I did not notice the hangover from the building's earlier life as an aged care facility, and was not concerned by some mini-bar items on the kitchen bench,( some other reviewers complaints)
Someone did mention that most of the staff seem to be of Indian origin, that is a plus for me, better service and cleanliness, but the young man on the reception did have a very NZ accent, so there was no concern with communicating, not that we had any complaints.
All in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Don't know about you, but I'm sure it doesn't count as a 2 bed suit if the only toilet is through someone else's bedroom. The receptionist apologetically explained "it's really more of a family room", but it's a bit late to find that out after you've arrived with your business colleague!

These guys need to get real about their descriptions. Really poor.

Room Tip: Don't believe the room descriptions online! Phone and ask what you're getting. It might he...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night in May and it was fantastic. The view at night looking over to the harbour bridge is magical. Love the large rooms. Everything clean and tidy and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Slept great on a really good mattress. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stay in a modern and beautiful room for the same money of any other common motel in NZ.

And if you need to go to town walk 5min and catch the ferry! It sure beats any other transport.

Also free WiFi and parking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymoteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed here multiple times and loved it. It is hard to find a quality hotel in Auckland, especially the North Shore, as many are overpriced and old. So we felt lucky to find the Takapuna Oaks which is miles ahead of the others, very modern, and has a high standard of cleanliness. Room sizes are large and include all the amenities including a nice kitchen area, a washer/dryer combo and a heated floor in the bathroom. Also the views are great and the staff and manager were tremendous. Did I mention they also offer a free breakfast? I wish every hotel experience could be this nice. Plus the price is very affordable (based on my stays at other hotels the Takapuna Oaks could be charging double for what they offer). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad33820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
1.8 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Property: VR Takapuna
Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing