We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views of Downtown Auckland!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
El Monte, California
1 review
“Nice views of Downtown Auckland!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

These apts/hotel rms. were a welcome change from a regular hotel room. This property was comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed having washer/ dryers in our rooms. The continental breakfast was substantial enough to get us going each morning. We would recommend this property to others. The staff on duty was friendly and helpful. It was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us and having taken your valuable time to share your very positive experience you had at our Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you embraced what we offer at our property. Great rooms, great Location and Price! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it good to know that they assisted in making your stay comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you again in future and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you,
With warm Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    180
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
150
296
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked and paid in full on 2nd July, 2012, for a Harbour View Room. We were given a 'box room' and a view of the carpark. I requested to be moved to the correctly required room to be told nothing could be done.
As this was our Wedding Anniversary and we had come from country N.S.W. Australia I was very upset by their attitude.
We then went for dinner in the Sunset Lounge, where we wait 1-1/4 hours for one main course and one glass of wine each. Other diners were complaining of the long wait. The Staff were trying to do their best but were very unstaffed for the number of people in house that night.
Then they DOUBLE charged me for our dinner!!

I can see no good reason to pay ahead (they had my money for seven months) as it doesn't guarantee you the room of your choice.

I have written to Udal Sarin would offered us the correct room next visit...What next visit? you spoilt our stay this trip why would I want to stay with you again?

Room Tip: Ask Reception to show you the room before you pay your money or book-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumballPortStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies that your experience was below expectation. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to delay in service.
It is our continuous endeavour to improve and provide our best services to all our guests at all times.
We look forward to welcome you again in future.
Thank you,
With kind Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of the 12 month summer, OZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

like another reviewer said - make sure you get the room that you paid for - we paid for harbour view - but could barely see the water if we craned our necks from the balcony - we spoke with management and they shifted us to a genuine harbour view room.

one thing you will need to know before you book is what you plan to do with your days and how you plan to get there - we went to all places by car - and have to say that Lake Road is like one enormous cul-de-sac and rarely does it move near the speed limit - once we realised this and factored in a bit of extra time it was fine - and the ferry is very accessible - but we wanted the convenience of the car so we just allowed more time.

Room Tip: make sure you get what you pay for - be very specific - if you want the room with the view of Auckla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you had a very Positive experience.
All our harbour view rooms offer a good view of the sea on either side of the city.
Please stay in contact with us and we look forward to having you stay with us in future and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you,
With kind regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay!!! We had a family holiday with 2 couples and a young baby and enjoyed a luxury 2 bedroom suite on the top floor. It was relaxing and we had a lovely view of the ocean and city, (the other side has a view of the sea and the harbour bridge). The decor is very pleasant and we had our own laundry and a full kitchen and air conditioning. The staff are all very helpful and friendly too. Definately would stay here again!

Room Tip: Upper level offers the best view but I feel that all the rooms are more than satisfactory!! If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us and appreciate for having taken your valuable time in providing us feed-back.
We are glad that you indeed enjoyed our Hospitality and the efforts of our staff in making your stay a memorable one.
It is our continuous endeavour to provide our best services to all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Thank you,
With warm Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booked in to the the Takapuna oaks for a long term stay 18 days, and paid a $200 deposit when we arrived we were asked to pay for the room in full before we had even been shown the room, so before we paid the balance we asked to see the room it had a view of the car park not something we wanted to look at for 18 days, if you book make sure you get the room description confirmed by email, after a long discussion with the Manager we were informed that if we required a room with a view it would cost more, so we checked the cancellation terms, which confirmed that it would cost us 1 nights stay cost or in our case the $200 deposit paid to cancel the booking.

It is important that if you book here you know that this hotel is not in Takapuna it's in Bayswater approx 15mins drive to Takapuna beach and shops etc. it's ok if you want to catch the ferry every time you want to go into Auckland or you have to drive over the bridge.


Sent from the old iPad

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank brentperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your feed-back and offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As a matter of fact, every feed-back received, assists us in improving our services for future guests.
We have already taken the necessary corrective action with regard to observations conveyed.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services at all times.

With sincere Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in Skyview room - ground floor no A/c left the windows open hoping if someone tried to get in I'd hear them. Bathroom tile grout falling out.
Upon Checkout was asked to comment by email on our stay and did so, no one bothered to acknowledge.
The dining room is white table clothed BBQ outdoor tables with the appropriate chairs, no lounges or are to sit and have a drink, had hoped to have family come and have drinks but wasn't suitable. The night and dinner cost $300 odd dollars,
Plunger coffee had to be bought from reception, that was the final joke.

Room Tip: look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, Management at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mr K Phill,

We apologise for the delay in replying to the valuable feed back provided to us.
It is our continuous endeavour to improve the services at all times to all our guests.
We have already installed air conditions in all our 1 and 2 bed room harbour view rooms and shall be completing the work in a phased manner.
Repair and maintenance is always an ongoing process in service industry and the same is also carried out on day to day basis.
however,we are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and assure you of our best services at all times.
we look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Thanking you,
Kind regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

One night stay after hopping off boat at nearby Bayswater marina. Disappointing to find room had no balcony even though booking had stated there was one. Was told they had given us a room with A/c instead as no balcony rooms left with A/c. So I think they need to clarify what you are actually getting when making a booking. The apartment itself was lovely. Dinner in the restaurant great and good value with a fantastic view of Auckland city.

Room Tip: Clarify what you get when making the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We thank you for having stayed with us and having taken taken your valuable time in providing us the feed-back. Any feed back we receive helps to make us better.
we have already updated website regarding rooms with balcony.
We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Thanking you and assuring you of our best services at all times.

warm Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
1.7 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Property: VR Takapuna
Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing