We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation”
Review of Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good accommodation”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Australia. The rooms are clean and a good enough size. The bistro downstairs was reasonably priced. We got a $40 voucher as part of our booking which was great. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luingxstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurleyHotelGroup, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review - look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
24
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Hill
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are about a dozen rooms above the hotel. For about $105 you get a pretty good room. New air con, plasma and a good bed. Bathroom is pretty good. Nothing flash but it is handy to Flinder's Hospital. Rooms can get a bit noisy on the weekend but that doesn't go too late.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbycr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HurleyHotelGroup, Manager at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review - look forward to seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms serviced daily even over the weekend, great entertainment and food downstairs with a good bar and service. No lift but all 12 rooms on second floor reached by two flights of stairs. Not children friendly and could be noisy if seeking a quiet night.

Room Tip: Room No6 is quiet with view to carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Access to this hotel from Adelaide is via M44 Bus. Bus Stop 24. The bus stop for south bound travel is outside the hotel. The bus stop for buses to the city is across the street. In peak hours the road is very busy and can be hazardous. The nearest light-controlled crossing is a 100metres or so to the south. Taxi from the airport is $A30. A more scenic route to the airport is via Marion Centre and Glenelg Interchange. was tested. For seniors its $A2.50 each way.

The hotel has 12 rooms for accomodation upstairs. Bedrooms contain usually two single or one double bed. An interconnecting door is available to cater for both combinations. Bedrooms are not large, but the beds are comfortable.. The rooms and bathrooms are meticulously clean. The bisto dinning room is adjacent to the casino on the other side of the dividing bar. Meals including breakfast cater for most tastes at reasonable prices.

The hotel has a well patronised entertainment area, but our experience was not compromised by exessive noise.

A good place to stay off campus for the Flinders University or Flinders Medical Centre.

Wifi was a bit iffy, but we were shown table 3 in the Bistro where it worked fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zambuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for you lovely review - will need to follow up on WiFi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannum, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just wanted an overnight stay in the southern suburbs of Adelaide, in order to be close to our destination early the following morning. The room was small, but comfortable and very clean. Bathroom very tiny but overall everything was adequate for our needs. Food in the dining room downstairs was excellent. No lift up to the rooms, only stairs, but this is not a problem generally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - look forward to seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Exactly what you expect! Close to hospital and shopping centre. Nothing flash but all that we needed.
Food in the dinning room was fantastic, best fish (whiting) I've found across S.A.
Reception staff could not be more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieriddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review - hopefully the front office staff will more friendly next time you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed two nights and found the place to be average. The sign at reception says free wifi Internet but there's no Internet to be found unless you hang around the lobby. The following is a letter that I sent to them after my stay there. It pretty much sums up the experience.

Well, thanks for nothing! I stayed at your hotel for 2 nights and paid cash (saving you the VISA fee) and unfortunately left a book behind that my wife gave me for my birthday. It turns out that this book is worth around $30. I called your reception and was told that it was there but it seemed that it was going to be a hassle and the "boss may not be happy about somebody having to go to the post office". Really? I just got the card in the mail today that it was sent COD with a $21 pick up fee! This book would have cost no more than $5 for you to send which is around the fee that I saved you by paying cash. I could have given you this $5 with my VISA card over the phone By the way, I worked it out that the book was left there on my first nights stay and not mentioned to me when I booked later on for the second night. Again, thanks for nothing!
Ivan

There you have it, where has the service gone these days? $200 worth of business and no customer service for it. My ne t stay in Adelaide will not be at the Marion. There are other places for around the same price with excellent service...try Hotel Minima in North Adelaide.

Room Tip: No Internet whatever room you get even though they claim that it's there. Bathroom somewhat outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maplegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will follow up re the WiFi. We are definitely not a 5 star property and I think our price reflects that. Our rooms were recently renovated although I admit our bathrooms are very clean and functional but dated - but did you find the bed comfortable?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell Park
3.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
1.8 mi away
Marion Motel and Apartments
3.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tonsley Hotel Motel
Tonsley Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Clovelly Park
86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marion Holiday Park
Marion Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Bedford Park
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Hotel

Property: Marion Hotel
Address: 849 Marion Rd | Adelaide, Mitchell Park, Marion, South Australia 5043, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Marion > Mitchell Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open 7 days from 8am - Accommodation 12 well presented rooms with en-suite bathrooms. 2 Bars - Bistro - Breakfast - Lunch - Dinner served daily - Function rooms - Quality Food & Wine - Browse Bottle Shop / Wine Store - Onsite Gaming Room - Live Entertainment Marion Hotel gateway to the Fleurieu Peninsula & Kangaroo Island Sealink - Marion Road just 4 km south of Cross Rd **Distance from *City - 12km *McLaren Vale - 30km *Airport - 10km *Adelaide Oval - 12km *Cape Jervis - 96km (KI Sealink) *SA Aquatic & Leisure - 4 km *Finders Uni & Medical Centre - 3km *Westfield Shopping-town Marion - 3km *Glenelg Beach - 7km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing