We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Coast Morib International Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Banting
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst hotel or resort ive stayed. the smelly thme park, hostel like buffet, rude n unethical staff ( knocked our door twice and straight away opened the door when we were inside packing the bag) and the list goes on.

Do not stay here. Do not.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ribss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    105
    208
    116
    148
See reviews for
306
99
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Lousy service during peak season. Unable to manage big crowds of tenants with only one counter opened for key collection! Faulty room keys for all rooms! Public toilet ultimately dirty with unpleasant smell even from faraway! Wifi is not connectable. This place is just bad!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Waifun7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banting hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Never heard of this resort until I was invited to participate in an endurance race. From the website, it looks great. However, the reviews was not that great. My personal opinion it would be a great property if they have entirely separate the water theme park and the resort. I meant TOTALLY separated.

Upon arrival, the lobby was a pandemonium of wet and slippery floors, coupled with half naked guests in their swim trunks, ladies in their wet clothes (I assume they were swimming too), kids running around and reception staff have no idea on a smooth and quick check in process. No senior managers was around when you need one. I waited in the for almost an hour and was informed for all race participants check in was at another location. Oh well ....

Noise level was at the highest decibel when you come across the water theme park. I have never, never in my life see so many bodies in a pool or pools before. Think of a canned of sardines! I am surprised there were no accidents at the water theme park! The ratio of swimmers to lifeguards was non existence. I was informed the water theme park was open to the public. I did not utilized it as after closing for the day, the water in the pools were a wee bit cloudy with flotsams and sad to see, rubbish around the pool areas with food packages and plastics.

The resort rooms was generous in space and I had a room with a jacuzzi built into the bathroom. The bathroom was large. They could do with more furnitures as the room was large and with little furniture makes the place looks cheap. Overall, the room was adequate for my needs with everything in good working order. However, the entrance door is thin and anyone that walks or talk along the corridor, the sound travels.

I had breakfast, lunch and dinner there as there were no other outlets outside of the resort or it was too far. My take on the food served was a poor one star rating. I even tried their specialty Korean restaurant and it was terrible.

The beach was beautiful but don't expect white sand. It's soft brown sand and the tide seems to go very low. Great for reef walk. Sunset was great. Bar at the beach serves a live band and not worth the time. If you need too, order a beer and not any cocktails cos they do not know their mixes well. Drown your sorrows over the whining of the band.

Overall, I would not return unless for a race or they do something to separate the areas between the water theme park and resort. Oh, the spa - nice decor but give it a miss - it's really bad!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for a night in 3 bedrooms apartment. The apartment complete with small kitchen, dining and living area. Both bathrooms have free standing shower and no tub. Amenities include shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, soap, toothbrush, comb, shaver, cotton bud, shower cap and sewing kit. Overall the apartment in a good condition except for the 3rd bedroom which quite small, no air cond (fan only) and the wall full of graffiti by kids i assumed.

The water theme park was quite small but good enough to entertain kids. Guests didn't really followed swimming dress code here, i supposed it just not that strict. So, shirt seems to be acceptable in the pool.

Buffet breakfast near the beach. The resort set up huge canopy and it seemed a bit chaotic and hot as well with lots of people all in one place. There were 2 buffet lines but we need to line up quite some time to get the food as there just too many people. The table cloth quite dirty as i think they short of staff to control a big crowd and clean up the tables.

The resort just a short drive from KL, so very packed on weekend. Good accommodation but i think they need better planning for buffet breakfast. Beach wise nothing to shout about. They have nice huts to hang out but thats it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandpkWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went on a short getaway with friends to Morib and chosen to stay at this hotel on a deal purchased online. It was a worthwhile-stay as a whole. Although it took us some time during the check-in, but i guess that's normal for a hotel that accommodates hundreds of rooms. Upon entering the room, we were delighted with the clean and nice studio suite completed with comfy bed and exciting jacuzzi experience. Our rooms overlooking out to the water theme park and beach are some of the best things ever happened in our trip. Water park is small, yet we could get all the fun playing around the low-challenge-level slides and tunnels, probably because we are not too fond of fierce water sports/ activities anyway. It's evident that everyone in there enjoys spending time with friends and family, in the water. So rather than going for might-be-way-too-vigorous-or-heart-pounding water sports in KL renowned theme park like the sunway's or other, I would recommend the water theme park in GCRM especially for the family with teenage and children. We were also surprised that despite some of the bad reviews for the food the hotel served, we managed to find our pleasure in enjoying their buffet dinner and breakfast. A wide variety of food was served and the taste was good and fine that we wish we had a bigger stomach! Just go for the buffet if you'd like to have both oriental and western delicacies at any one time, they are just superb enough to make you full and happy.

Room Tip: Request for a front-facing room overlooking the water theme park and beach. The scenery is just so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meiyeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

FIrstly the check in service is bad. The hotel have various of promotion / offer and the staffs are not helpful as they confused themselves on the package I have purchased and never pass me the buffer dinner voucher (lucky I check with them). While waiting to check in, I heard from the other was saying out of 7 rooms, 2 of it the Jacuzzi is not functioning. Am too unlucky and facing the same issue for my room. Technician and and fixed it, and I need to become part time cleaner as the jacuzzi tub is super dirty. After cleaning finally I have to wait the water to stock up for Jacuzzi. Another drawback yet to come, once u r done and wanna let go the water from the tub, basically the water jz pouring to the bathroom floor and make it flood. All dirty is on the floor and the pipe is stuck so water is going out very slowly. Dinner is nothing. normal food. It may worth a visit if you have kids and wanna bring them to water theme park. But even though I will suggest for other water theme park :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kok fai t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location signage to the hotel is not very clear, so if you are traveling by car be sure to be ready with GPS or call them for direction, well this is my second time here, no improvement at all, those who have book room here please call to confirmed or you will have problem checking in to the hotel which will spoil your holiday mood, that also if you called get answered. I called 3x to no answer only the 4th call was successful. Check in as always with a long long Q, got a room on 4th floor but went up room door cant be open, have to go down again to activate the key with no apology. Didn't expect it anyway. Room do have a good size for couple and family but the AC is too small for such a room. Our room was warm and survive by the ceiling fan.Maintenance and cleaning standard of room is very poor, for breakfast better be early or you will missed or have to wait for the food to be refilled especially on Sunday morning. Clearing of plates, you are lucky if they do so without you calling. Promotional rate going for RM168.00 with few T&C, it is still worth it if you are mentally ready and prepared for what is to come. Do not have high expectation for this property.

Room Tip: Even room numbers face the pool/theme park and beach/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banting
4.3 mi away
Hotel Impian Morib
Hotel Impian Morib
#2 of 6 in Banting
38 reviews
20.4 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
532 reviews
19.4 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
18.9 mi away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#11 of 24 in Klang
5 reviews
18.0 mi away
Seri Bayu Resort
Seri Bayu Resort
#10 of 14 in Sepang
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Morib International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Morib International Resort

Property: Gold Coast Morib International Resort
Address: PT 294, Kawasan Kanchong Laut | Morib Beach, Banting 42700, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Langat District > Banting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Banting
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Coast Morib International Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast Morib International Resort located in the lovely area of Morib Beach, enjoys a commanding position in the beaches, sightseeing, family fun hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Gold Coast Morib International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Resort Morib Hotel Banting
Gold Coast Morib International Resort Banting, Malaysia - Selangor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing