We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just divine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Coulonniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Coulonniere
Ranked #1 of 1 Wismes B&B and Inns
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Surely this couldnt live up to the previous reviews - well it was even better than we expected. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and treated like long lost friends. The wine on the patio was a delightful touch as was the conversation we had with the friendly host and hostess, with our little French and their little English we muddled through. The room was obviously a labour of love and has been completed to an extremely high standard by the host himself who proudly showed us around. The amenities and the finish are what you would expect in a very high end hotel - it was an absolute joy to stay there. Breakfast was divine - cooked by our lovely host who makes sure to use local products whenever possible - the jams (again local) were amazing and so sophisticated. We enjoyed next door's eggs so much, we were given half a dozen to take home. Please please stay here, you'll be surrounded by luxury and welcomed like family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottevaere, Propriétaire at La Coulonniere, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello Elisabeth,

My wife & I are exceedingly grateful to you for your very pleasant message on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed at La Coulonniere on Saturday night on our way back to the UK and it was wonderful. It is one of those rare places that looks great on the website, but is actually far better in real life! We will definitely go back, and this time for a longer period rather than a quick stopover - I would recommend this B+B for a full holiday as it is beatiful, relaxing and well located.

The bedroom is fabulous, everything is top spec and brand new, bed super comfy and the garden just gorgeous. We were met by our friendly hosts and instantly offered a local beer - great after a long journey... and my pigeon french was even accomodated!

Thank you so much and see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knebworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wonderful experience and best chambre d'hotes we have visited and we have been to many!! Greeted with glasses of wine and shown to excellent accommodation with all the best facilities including a Nespresso machine for making coffee.Better than a 5 star hotel. Host and hostess could not have been friendlier and they genuinely wanted to make our stay a very pleasant experience.Lovely room surrounded by beautiful gardens. Breakfast was delightful with many local products. We would certainly fully recommend this chambres and will definitely return ourselves.
Angie and John Williams

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angieknebworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Everything about La Coulonniere is first class! The previous reviews are spot on, and I can only echo the praise. Wonderful
Hosts, fantastic accommodation, delicious breakfast! We didn't stop smiling from the moment we were greeted with a very welcome, local, cold beer, until we left! We only stayed for one night on our way home to the UK. However, we will definitely return and stay for longer! Thank you for a wonderful stay, and for telephoning the local Auberge (where we enjoyed a tasty meal) to book us a table!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived to an excellent welcome from Dominique and his wife. The accommodation is superb and the breakfast a delight. An excellent stopping off place to or from Calais. Absolutely faultless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Penwortham, UK
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I used this absolutely gorgeous Bed and Breakfast on route to the Burgundy region. From the minute we arrived, the welcome was so friendly. We sat and chatted for ages to the lovely couple. They went out of their way to book a restaurant that evening, and even bought us some champagne and small canape whilst we got ready. The room was beautiful, the setting peaceful, and the breakfast was simply just delicious. We really recommend this charming, beautiful place !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momPenwortham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights as guests with Dominque and Genevieve in their superb house and look forward to returning soon. From the time of our arrival at the house and the welcoming drinks, the complimentary champagne and canapes, the warmth of the welcome was only matched by that of the log burning stove in the marvellous bedroom. Their attention to detail is stunning as is their hospitality. The house is situated in a quiet hamlet with a most agreeable traditional French restaurant a short drive away where we enjoyed an excellent meal on the evening of our arrival, that Dominique kindly rang and booked for us. The leisurely breakfast was a joy, with home made or locally produced delights in abundance, Dominique even bakes the bread fresh each morning! Dominique re-buit the house as a labour of love and that is how he and Geneveve run their home. We feel privaleged to have enjoyed the hospitality of such a superb place and people. Merci Genevieve et Dominique et au revoir.

Room Tip: There is only one letting room so you are assured of both a superb room and superb hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wismes
3.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#3 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
#1 of 2 in Aire-sur-la-Lys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Coulonniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Coulonniere

Property: La Coulonniere
Address: 26 La Place Hameau de Cantemerle, 62380 Wismes, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wismes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wismes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Coulonniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing