We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a single drop of water, from check-in to check-out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Bejuco 60901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Certificate of Excellence
Gerasdorf bei Wien, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not a single drop of water, from check-in to check-out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This could be a real nice place to stay. Its location in the middle of nowhere may be positive for the one and negative for the other, but we found the place while travelling by motorbikes, so the location was ok for us. Main building with a fairly impressive stairway to the upper level, so we accepted the USD 100,- for single occupancy per night (off-season) - just to realize that there is no water at the room. "Yes, they do some maintenance at the water supply, that happens _from time to time_ but in 2 or 3 hours latest, there will be water again."

Later that afternoon - that guy who cashed in our 100 bucks wasn't seen any more - no water until now - the girl at the restaurant bar said "they do this to us ALL THE TIME", and could not take our order for fries to come with our meal, 'cause there was no electricity, either.

To make a full day's story short: we did not have a single drop of water from check-in until check-out. Do I need to explain the consequences in detail? I doubt. Just as one less disgusting detail: The maid wiping the restaurant's floor had to fetch the water from the pool outside...

At check-out, we got back 20 bucks, because 'no water', but that left us with USD 80,- for a night with no sanitary / bathroom / at all. Can't recommend that place - it is nothing more that facade.

Room Tip: all rooms have the same layout. Bring your looong cable for your laptop - the wall power outlet is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2201_Walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herald A, Gerente at Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Hello dear Walter
Thank very much for take the time to comment in our trip Advisor page.
We like to offer you a sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you have in the Hotel doing you visit.
We have a new management in place and also a new vision and mission regarding our service and our way to handle and approach any request or complain of our guest or visitors.
We had made changes and we have now a full restaurant operation regarding if we have electric power or not.
We made alliance with the local water company to be more careful especially with the water issue
Your complain was handle very poorly for our staff and management and one again receive our sincere apologies
We like to let you know that we are improving every day in the maintenance of our property and also important in regarding our service and our way to handle and approach any request or complain of our guest or visitors.
We made a lot improvement after your visit and we toke you important comment in highly consideration that is way we have this changes and we are looking forward and hoping that you can considered visit us one again and we will make anything that is possible to make your stay with us the best experience
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
27
50
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

3 of us stayed a week at the Delfin. Staff was always courteous and helpful. Our rooms were clean and well-maintained. Food was excellent, ocean breeze and views were amazing. Wish I was still there, already looking forward to another trip!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a GREAT view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had an amazing time and would highly recommend this gorgeous beachfront resort. The amazing food, friendly staff, excellent service, and clean accommodations were all top notch. We highly suggest doing some of the local excursions while on your stay. The hotel scheduled several excursions for us including zip lines, monkey tour, and a tour of the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park (at a discounted rate). We were able to rent a car from the airport, which we would highly suggest, and go on little daily excursions to other towns like Parrita, the beautiful Los Suennos Marina and Jaco just to name a few. The local fare is delicious and the fruit stands have the freshest, most juicy fruit we've ever had! We even enjoyed some night life in Jaco. We enjoyed a local festival there with vendor booths, fresh food and live music. The beach at Hotel Delfin is very secluded and private and the sunsets are beyond description, leaving everyone speechless every night! We couldn't believe the view from our room! So nice to open the windows and let the breeze come in and hear the relaxing sound of the ocean! Very nice to sleep to and wake up to. We felt very safe there and weren't worried about taking off on our own and being adventurous. They have the coolest iguanas, geckos and monkeys that hang around the pool...very fun to watch! The grounds there are gorgeous...the lawn guy even picked a coconut for us and let us drink the water. It was so fresh and delicious! The hotel looks perfect for a relaxing get-away, family reunion, wedding, reception, honeymoon...you name it! They had a wedding there the week before. We saw the pictures and it was soooo beautiful! Makes us want to get re-married! We met so many cool people staying there! Can't wait to make more new friends next time we go! Highly, highly recommend Hotel Delfin!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

So this is the picture from their website and this area is the lobby, bar, and restaurant all rolled into one. It is a very nice area. There seems to be a nice breeze that comes though here almost all the time. We stayed here from Friday afternoon until Sunday morning. We payed $124 a night as it was high season prices. Check their link to see full website and prices. We were there to attend a wedding of a friend which was very beautiful. I think anyone who would like to have a wonderful setting for their wedding this is a nice place to do that. So on to the review of the Resort itself. You need to read my full review on my blog before you visit. You can find it here:

http://bestofcostarica.org/2014/03/17/review-delfin-beachfront-resort/

Room Tip: Did not like room 12. Not sure of the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife & I visited the Delfin Beach Resort on the recommendation of an individual that had done some work for us in our home. He informed us that he had stayed there many times before, and loved it. When we first arrived, I wasn't certain how I felt. The interior lobby was not air conditioned. However, it was very open aired and the breezes coming off of the ocean helped keep the lobby relatively cool. The hotel has two stories, but no elevator. The stair case leading to the second floor looks like it came from the movie Gone With The Wind. It really is gorgeous, and the staff at the hotel is more than willing to assist guests with getting their luggage to their rooms.

Guests enter their rooms from the front side of the hotel, and each and every room of the hotel has a back door with a balcony that over looks the ocean. This is not a corporately owned, five star hotel. There are three owners who genuinely want to provide a very comfortable place for people to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, and find a quite, nice place to unwind, rest, and also enjoy themselves. This is that place.

The hotel has a small staff of workers that are there to meet each, and every need of the guests. The food is good; the rooms are clean; and my wife and I found that the bed was very comfortable. When my wife and I go on vacation, we don't plan to spend all of our time in a hotel room, so having the very best is not a priority for us. The Delfin Beach Resort is not opulent luxury, but it is a comfortable, affordable, nice place to stay. The Manager's name is Freddy, and he is just about as personable as a Manager can be. The sunsets are amazing from this hotel, and the beach is beautiful. Each night there is a company that arrives at the Resort from the beach side of the hotel with horses that can be ridden on the beach for tours of the area. After having stayed there for 3 consecutive nights, what I can honestly say about the Delfin Beach Resort is that if I do ever return to Costa Rica, I will stay there again. It is nice. By the way, they also have a pool that is well maintained, and clean. There is a hot tub above the pool that over flows into the pool. It is very attractive. Altogether, this is a real comfortable, and nice place to stay.

Room Tip: It really does not matter which room guests are booked into. Each and every room runs from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnphilips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Where do I begin! If you are looking for seclusion and privacy in the beach, this place is it! I have been several times and have enjoyed every vacation I have had at the Delfin. When people ask why I go so often I tell them that it is like my second home. The staff and service are always amazing. They are currently under new management and making some great changes. Wether out by the beach, sitting at the bar with amazing views or just laying by the pool, I am always at peace. The kitchen provides excellent meals for lunch dinner and breakfast! The bartender makes some top notch drinks as well. All of the rooms are beach front and provide excellent views of the pacific! Sandra and Freddie run the hotel and bar and always provide anything and everything I could ask for. I have been to several places in Costa Rica and as far as privacy and proximity to the beach you couldn't ask for a better place to stay. A true beauty in Costa Rica!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPage41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and i had a very bad experience in this hotel. The first day we checked our room and we detected several problems: the tap of the shower did not work, the drainpipe was stucked as well, so after 1-2 minutes of taking a shower I was standing inch-deep in the water. In addition to this, there was a really bad and continuous smell coming out of the bathroom. Besides the remote control for the TV did not work and the lamp on the bedside table eiter. Truly not an ideal situation, however not really a problem - so far. We adviced the hotel personnel and the next day almost all the problems were solved, excluding the drainpipe and the smell. We asked for swapping the room but we were told that the hotel was full. We reserved for 4 days but facing the situation of no possibility of swapping and the lasting smell and stucked drainpipe, we decided after the second day to communicate the manager (Sandra) that we wanted to leave. We explained again what has been happening and detailed our concerns. To our surprise, the manager was really impolite with us, she never asked if our concerns were solved, never showed interest in our well-being and if the room was in good conditions or not. Instead she said that she would have no time(!) for us to check if the room was ok and as the hotel she is running is a BUSINESS she can not make any refunds. She was so impolite and really rude. We were surprised about her behaviour as we did not show any agression to her, but she reponded in a very agressive and hostile way. When I showed my disgree towards her way to treat us and towards the fact that she reclaims me to pay for the pending(!) nights in a room that is in no way enabled to host visitors because of very bad smell and stucked drains, she wanted to call the police!! I do not know what is inside of the manager's head in this situation?!?! I do not know either how the owners of the hotel could have put this kind of person in such an exposed and client facing position, this is not leading to a sustainable business... We had made some very good experience with the costaricans, the the manager Sandra was far the worst experience of Costaricans we made in 3 weeks!! Finally I paid a pending night in order to avoid loosing time and nervs during my holidays (bad decision?), and we went to another place. In this way we lost like 125 USD, but I would not have stayed one more night in this circumstances. The fun thing: when we checked out, the manager finally went to check our room (she should have done it when we complained so that she could make sure that our concerns were solved), but this time she did it probably in order to check if we broke or steal something!!
There were more people working in the hotel. Everybody treated us really good. Food was good as well. But finally what stays in one's head is the bad experience with Sandra, so this evaluation is POOR.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herald A, Gerente at Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Hello dear Dominick
Thank you very much for take the time to writing a review in Tripadvisor.

We would like to let you know that we have a new management in our hotel with a new vision and mission regarding our service and our way to handle and approach any request or complain of our guest or visitors.

Your complain was handle very poorly for our staff and management in that period of time that you give us the honor of your visit and one again receive our sincere apologies.

We are very careful reading all the tripadvisor review to make sure that we do not make a mistake with any of the guest and visitors that trust us to enjoy the vacations with us.
Your opinion has been taken with the most highs consideration is a great reminder to work hard every day and think always in our guest.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Bejuco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#2 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
0.0 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel and Island Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort

Property: Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort
Address: Playa Bejuco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be staying right at the beach! We are one of the few real beachfront luxury accommodations in Costa Rica with less than 40 meters from the Pacific Ocean. The Delfin Beachfront Resort is located on the tranquil and secluded beach of Playa Bejuco on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica at just a 2-hour drive from the airport in San José. Once you get to Jacó, drive approximately 30 kilometres south, after passing Esterillos, Monterey and Del Pacifico, you will see signs on your right for the entrance to Playa Bejuco. Drive down to the beach and take a left. Amenities Weddings is just one of the many specialties here The Delfin Beachfront Resort has been host to many weddings of the rich and famous. The lobby speaks for itself with 40-foot ceilings crafted in over 2-miles of teakwood and almond. The grand staircase is also a landmark with famous U.S. Senators. If you prefer "barefoot on the beach" weddings or a ceremony in front of 50 capuchin-monkeys, just ask for it. Delfin Beachfront Resort has contracted with a well renowned event planner in Costa Rica to deliver the wedding of your dreams. But there is much more adventure here: Sport fishing, hiking on a nature trail and on the beach, surfing, jungle and beach tours to rainforests, beaches, waterfalls and wildlife, canopy tours, snorkelling, horseback-riding, ATV's, hang gliding, crocodile river cruise, cruise to Tortuga Island, aerial tram, twin engine aerial tour, Spanish school, and last but no least, treat yourself to a relaxing in house massage at the private facilities. Rooms Deluxe guestrooms right at the beach This Costa Rican landmark features luxury accommodations with beachfront rooms less at than 40 meters from the Pacific Ocean. All guestrooms include air conditioning, ocean view balconies, TV, private bathroom with hot water, and Internet access. Beautiful Restaurant & Bar At the bar and restaurant you can enjoy magnificent views of the pool and lush tropical surroundings on one side, and the beautiful Pacific Ocean on the other. The bar features Direct-TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Beachfront Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Delfin Beach Front Hotel
Delfin Beach Front Parrita
Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing