We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Surf Break & Pizza In Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Surf Break & Pizza In Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly Staff, Minor runs the Bar, Anthony is the cook makes the Best Pizza in Costa Rica, make very good Fresh Fish Dishes, my wife has a problem with Gluten, Anthony went out of his way to get her food she could eat that's why I gave this Restaurant an Excellent Review. The Hotel is on the beach, Excellent Surf Break, walking on the beach in both directions is possible, there are warnings about swimming in the ocean, the pool is a better option if you want to swim. The sunsets are a must see. All the rooms face the ocean. Just a beautiful & quiet place to relax.

Room Tip: There are 8 room on the top floor the Best room far left, it is quieter, as only in day time is ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    18
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
28
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Delfin is the place to be! The staff is warm and welcoming it feels like coming home. I can't wait to go back and see everyone. The beach can't be beat with amazing sunrises and sunsets and you can walk for days. The food won't disappoint - Anthony has mad skiils. Spend some time sitting at the bar looking at the ocean while the regulars come in. It feels like my local Irish bar in NYC with a better view and amazing vibe. The experience cant be beat - everyone goes out of there way to make everything is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This nice hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Every room has a porch overlooking the ocean. Awesome pool and great bar and restaurant. The restaurant is not fancy, but the food is fresh and good. It will not disappoint. We stayed there off and on while building our home here, and have gotten to know all the staff very well. We often have local gatherings of neighbors here as it is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a costarican architect I get to stay a lot in hotels all around the beaches in Costa Rica. This is way my worst experience ever for such a price. Pool was dirty, hot water in showers could get you a second degree skin burn, they gave us no pool towels because they ran out,power went on and off during all night, there were no accessible outlets in the room, cockroach on the courtain!!!. The worst of all was the lady taking care of the hotel Sunday morning, who does not know how to treat clients with respect. She was mean all the time and in such a bad temper, that she was rude to me when asking why they wouldn't take credit cards. Guys be smart and go other hotels around the area that are nice and charming: El Pelicano, Encantada cottages or even Alma hotel.

Room Tip: Dont pick a room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glorijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property is gorgeous. The sunsets are priceless, the beach expansive and empty! Every room has an ocean view and the pool is just gorgeous. Whether you feel like enjoying the pool, surfing the good waves out front or just building a sand castle this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonenete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just had my wedding at the Delfin and it could not have gone better. The night before, the chef made a wonderful menu for everyone who ate at the restaurant. The day of (when everything is crazy getting ready), Eddie was very accommodating. They let us move things around when necessary, and did many small favors that were extremely helpful. Anything from getting some extra nails for us while Eddie was out on an errand, to the bar letting us use a cup for communion at the ceremony. The pool and little ranchito out back made for a great environment, and you can't beat the fact that it's right on the beach. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salunga, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were in Cost Rica for the first time for our friend's wedding. (He is currently living in Costa Rica.) His wedding took place at this hotel and we decided to stay here the night before and the night of his wedding. My husband and I were not sure what to expect due to some reviews on this site. After being there 30 minutes we determined this was a hidden treassure. When they say beachfront - they mean beach front. Every morning we woke up to the sight of waves crashing onto the beach directly in front of us. The staff was friendly and the drinks were AMAZING. We relaxed, spent time on the beach & at the pool, and lingered at the bar and eating areas. The sunset was beautiful!

I am not sure why some people wrote questionable reviews. My guess is they forgot the relatively inexpensive price they were paying for this SMALL (less than 25 rooms) quiet private hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view. If you don't want to climb steps - ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevang03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Bejuco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#2 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
14.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
5.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita
La Dolce Vita
#1 of 2 in Esterillos Oeste
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort

Property: Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort
Address: Playa Bejuco 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be staying right at the beach! We are one of the few real beachfront luxury accommodations in Costa Rica with less than 40 meters from the Pacific Ocean. The Delfin Beachfront Resort is located on the tranquil and secluded beach of Playa Bejuco on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica at just a 2-hour drive from the airport in San José. Once you get to Jacó, drive approximately 30 kilometres south, after passing Esterillos, Monterey and Del Pacifico, you will see signs on your right for the entrance to Playa Bejuco. Drive down to the beach and take a left. Amenities Weddings is just one of the many specialties here The Delfin Beachfront Resort has been host to many weddings of the rich and famous. The lobby speaks for itself with 40-foot ceilings crafted in over 2-miles of teakwood and almond. The grand staircase is also a landmark with famous U.S. Senators. If you prefer "barefoot on the beach" weddings or a ceremony in front of 50 capuchin-monkeys, just ask for it. Delfin Beachfront Resort has contracted with a well renowned event planner in Costa Rica to deliver the wedding of your dreams. But there is much more adventure here: Sport fishing, hiking on a nature trail and on the beach, surfing, jungle and beach tours to rainforests, beaches, waterfalls and wildlife, canopy tours, snorkelling, horseback-riding, ATV's, hang gliding, crocodile river cruise, cruise to Tortuga Island, aerial tram, twin engine aerial tour, Spanish school, and last but no least, treat yourself to a relaxing in house massage at the private facilities. Rooms Deluxe guestrooms right at the beach This Costa Rican landmark features luxury accommodations with beachfront rooms less at than 40 meters from the Pacific Ocean. All guestrooms include air conditioning, ocean view balconies, TV, private bathroom with hot water, and Internet access. Beautiful Restaurant & Bar At the bar and restaurant you can enjoy magnificent views of the pool and lush tropical surroundings on one side, and the beautiful Pacific Ocean on the other. The bar features Direct-TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Beachfront Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Delfin Beach Front Hotel
Delfin Beach Front Parrita
Hotel Delfin Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing