We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location, Beautiful property, Helpful...”

Review of Pentre Bach House

The view over Cardigan Bay from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view over Cardigan Bay from the garden
The house from the garden The patio with a beautiful view of the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The view over Cardigan Bay from the garden
The house from the garden
The patio with a beautiful view of the sea
Pentre Bach lounge
The dining room
The sitting room
One of the main bathrooms
Pentre Bach Kitchen
Christmas at Pentre Bach
The front of the house
Another hard day at the office!
The beautiful nearby Mawddach Estuary
Llwyngwril beach
Waterskiing at sunset in Cardigan Bay.
our wild flower area
Fairbourne railway is just a short drive away
Stunning sunsets almost guaranteed!
The house from the haha
The side porch
The rear porch
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Llwyngwril, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
alizzie20...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location, Beautiful property, Helpful hosts!”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

17 of us stayed at this lovely accommodation for my sisters hen do. What a lovely place to stay! This house had everything that you would need, plenty of space and lovely character. Don't be put off by it being called a 'cottage'!!

I for one would love to return for a slightly more relaxed weekend with less people!!

Would 100% recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. It was a pleasure to host your hen do, even if we didn't get to actually meet you! We're not sure where you've seen it described as a cottage but never mind!
We do hope to welcome you or any of your party back to Pentre Bach sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosy D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Group Holiday Home”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I booked Pentre Bach in December for a get away with friends to celebrate my fiance's 30th birthday, and I cannot begin to describe how perfect it was!

The house is well appointed and beautiful, with more than enough space and seating for a larger group than us, as well as lovely thoughtful touches left by the owners which made our stay so wonderful.

Couldn't recommend it enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Pentre Bach in December. Thank you very much for all the kind things you've said in your review.
Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back to Pentre Bach again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable home from home feel of the Pentre Bach
Liked least: Synthetic bedding
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Pentre Bach and did manage to get out and explore the local area despite the largely wet weather.
We'll take on board some of your suggestions but we do feel that the TV is big enough for holiday accommodation and wouldn't want the TV to dominate the lounge too much. We did renew at least two pillows in each bedroom this year but avoided feather pillows because of the number of guests who ask that we don't provide feather pillows and duvets. Perhaps we should invest in a few to keep on standby! We'll certainly check out the squeaky headboard!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulajane...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Pentre Bach House for my sisters 40th birthday our party was 10 adults and 4 children. We were all blown away by how beautiful the house and grounds were. The rooms were all great and beds really comfy! Living room and dining room perfect for our party and my favourite has to be the kitchen which is stunning and spotless and so well stocked with equipment! Better than my kitchen at home. Mike and Wilma were fantastic replying to emails really quickly and being extremely accommodating to us around check in and out days and times.
We were a short walk to the beach and loved taking in all of the amazing knitted characters along the way that the local crochet club had created - 2 minute walk from the local shop and pub - couldn't ask for more!
We have all said that we will return and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a family or group getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed celebrating the 40th birthday at Pentre Bach and hope that you and your family will return to celebrate many more significant birthdays here in this beautiful part of west Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi D
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Family holiday EVER!”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

From the moment we contacted Mike and Wilma with a view to booking Pentre Bach they couldn't have been more helpful and they were there to greet us with an extremely warm welcome when we arrived. They showed us round the property and were on hand if we had had any issues. The house was beyond our expectations, it is beautiful, comfortable and was plenty big enough for our party of 14. We were there for my 50th birthday and to spend some rare quality time together with extended family. My favourite rooms were the bedrooms on the first floor with the sea views - I could lie in bed and watch the waves for hours. It's a fab base from which to explore the gorgeous surrounding countryside and coastline. The local village has a friendly pub, a small shop and a train stop and wherever we went for our days out it was lovely to return to Pentre Bach, a roaring log fire and a glass of wine. I would love to return in the summer as I expect it would be a completely different holiday with beaches and bar-b-ques. Hopefully it won't be too long before we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There were 14 of us and there was enough room that we never got under each others feet
Liked least: Absolutely nothing - it was all fab!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll come back and spend longer at Pentre Bach next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Masses of space & character
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We're glad you all enjoyed your stay at Pentre Bach. We must give the underground trampolines at Blaenau a go!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
smilelike...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning house, beautiful but secluded location”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful house in a gorgeous setting with sea views. The house was perfect in size for the 15 adults and 9 children that made up our family party.
The kitchens had plenty of space for socialising whilst preparing food. For a more formal meal, the dining room can seat 14 comfortably with extra seating by the window.
The bedrooms were large and clean with fresh bedding. I couldn't fault the cleanliness of this property. I stayed in the smaller cottage and found the conservatory to be a great social space in the evening. All three kitchens had plenty of mod cons including a washing machine and there was plenty of cutlery.
There was plenty of ways to keep entertained with the tyre swings, table tennis, board games, books, televisions and a large field to play football and any other outdoor games.
The house is a little secluded in the autumn months but there is a nice ale pub and a little shop as well as a train station 5 minutes away and the beach is a further 10 minute walk down a scenic footpath. A little further than the pub there is a children's playground too and the nearest supermarket is a 20 minute drive into Towyn.
This is a very friendly and welcoming area and I would strongly recommend this holiday rental, and we'll hopefully visit again in the summer months and get some use of the barbecue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The village was secluded
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Perhaps it should be mentioned that we were able to accommodate your party of 24 because you booked all 3 cottages with 11 bedrooms and a total of 17 beds. We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Pentre Bach one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing