We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Family holiday EVER!”

Review of Pentre Bach House

The view over Cardigan Bay from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view over Cardigan Bay from the garden
The house from the garden The patio with a beautiful view of the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The view over Cardigan Bay from the garden
The house from the garden
The patio with a beautiful view of the sea
Pentre Bach lounge
The dining room
The sitting room
One of the main bathrooms
Pentre Bach Kitchen
Christmas at Pentre Bach
The front of the house
Another hard day at the office!
The beautiful nearby Mawddach Estuary
Llwyngwril beach
Waterskiing at sunset in Cardigan Bay.
our wild flower area
Fairbourne railway is just a short drive away
Stunning sunsets almost guaranteed!
The house from the haha
The side porch
The rear porch
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Llwyngwril, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Debi D
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Family holiday EVER!”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

From the moment we contacted Mike and Wilma with a view to booking Pentre Bach they couldn't have been more helpful and they were there to greet us with an extremely warm welcome when we arrived. They showed us round the property and were on hand if we had had any issues. The house was beyond our expectations, it is beautiful, comfortable and was plenty big enough for our party of 14. We were there for my 50th birthday and to spend some rare quality time together with extended family. My favourite rooms were the bedrooms on the first floor with the sea views - I could lie in bed and watch the waves for hours. It's a fab base from which to explore the gorgeous surrounding countryside and coastline. The local village has a friendly pub, a small shop and a train stop and wherever we went for our days out it was lovely to return to Pentre Bach, a roaring log fire and a glass of wine. I would love to return in the summer as I expect it would be a completely different holiday with beaches and bar-b-ques. Hopefully it won't be too long before we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There were 14 of us and there was enough room that we never got under each others feet
Liked least: Absolutely nothing - it was all fab!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll come back and spend longer at Pentre Bach next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Masses of space & character
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We're glad you all enjoyed your stay at Pentre Bach. We must give the underground trampolines at Blaenau a go!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
smilelike...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning house, beautiful but secluded location”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful house in a gorgeous setting with sea views. The house was perfect in size for the 15 adults and 9 children that made up our family party.
The kitchens had plenty of space for socialising whilst preparing food. For a more formal meal, the dining room can seat 14 comfortably with extra seating by the window.
The bedrooms were large and clean with fresh bedding. I couldn't fault the cleanliness of this property. I stayed in the smaller cottage and found the conservatory to be a great social space in the evening. All three kitchens had plenty of mod cons including a washing machine and there was plenty of cutlery.
There was plenty of ways to keep entertained with the tyre swings, table tennis, board games, books, televisions and a large field to play football and any other outdoor games.
The house is a little secluded in the autumn months but there is a nice ale pub and a little shop as well as a train station 5 minutes away and the beach is a further 10 minute walk down a scenic footpath. A little further than the pub there is a children's playground too and the nearest supermarket is a 20 minute drive into Towyn.
This is a very friendly and welcoming area and I would strongly recommend this holiday rental, and we'll hopefully visit again in the summer months and get some use of the barbecue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The village was secluded
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Perhaps it should be mentioned that we were able to accommodate your party of 24 because you booked all 3 cottages with 11 bedrooms and a total of 17 beds. We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Pentre Bach one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We have many groups such as yourselves celebrating significant birthdays and anniversaries all year round. We do hope that we'll be able to welcome some or all of you back to Pentre Bach again in the future, perhaps for longer next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tituskj
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

One of the best available holiday cottage in UK. This is the second time we are there. Beautiful house with nice sea views, plenty of room inside and outside, very clean and well equipped. Thanks to Mike and Wilma for providing us such a wonderful break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
It's always great to be able to welcome back returning guests and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as before.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry w
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“how can you better this”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

11 stayed here for a week, spread over 3 generations. SO much space for us all in this well appointed property. Great views of the sea in the middle of nowhere, but no need to use the car as good train access from the village stati on to north or south. Great walks. Very friendly owners living next door.

A good real ale pub in the village as well.

We ate in every day, but the kitchen had all the utensils we needed, with plenty of crockery and cutlery and most important a good dishwasher.

Good chance we will go back again, probably into one of the smaller properties attached.

have already recommended this to friends

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent and very speedy review. It was a pleasure to accommodate your family (and thank you for the little bit of maintenance performed by one of your group! Much appreciated!).
We look forward to welcoming you back to any of our cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An idyllic place to spend a holiday”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful few days staying at Pentre Bach. We received an extremely warm welcome from Wilma and Mike Senior, who did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. The setting is simply stunning, with sea views and mountain walks nearby. The accommodation is comfortable and stylish, and we were able to relax and thoroughly unwind in the peaceful environment. Thoroughly recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We're so glad you enjoyed staying at Pentre Bach and made the most of this beautiful area. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing