We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahia de Baler

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia de Baler
Ranked #20 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Baler
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a wonderful little hotel. Very clean, very peaceful and excellent caring staff. This hotel is just exceptional and the was an added bonus very good food. Try the tortang talong at breakfast absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The location set back baler beach could not have been bettered

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff-C173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was the family's first trip to Baler, and we could not have chosen a better place along the Sabang Beach area. Stayed here for 2 nights to take a short holiday break, and how we wished we could have stayed longer !

Pros: Rooms - were very clean and well appointed. Good, comfy beds, high thread count linens,
and top quality pillows and duvets (these seemingly small and trivial things always make a
lasting impression on me!)

Service - Management and staff were all very friendly and accommodating, and offered every assistance possible, including securing our Joybus return tickets to Manila for us,
giving tips on other possible dining places, and helping arrange our Baler tour.

Food - They have one resto outlet, the Pavilion, which offers good quality food, and I make special mention of their Ensaladang Pako with fish bagoong, Chicken Binakol, Grilled entrees, Suman de Baler with Nanay Pacing's homemade cocojam and peanut butter. Unfortunately, there was no seafood catch to feast on due to the inclement weather.

Others - They have a decent sized outdoor pool for hotel guests who are not too comfortable swimming in the wide open ocean (Sabang Beach extends into the Pacific Ocean) and is more of a surfing beach at certain months of the year (Nov - Feb, as one surfer instructor volunteered this info)...in March, the waters are calmer, and a good month for first timers who want to try some surfing.

Bahia offers a multicab shuttle for hotel guests who come to Baler via bus. They are picked up at the Baler Central Bus Terminal, and dropped off upon departure.


Cons: Rooms - i am not aware if they just overlooked one small thing - our room didn't have
a trash can (the bathroom had one)...

Safety measures - Since there was some raining while we were there, the tiled walkways, specially at the stairs leading to the reception area, were quite slippery, and we did witness a couple of guests who fell victim to that unfortunate situation...Maybe management can take some corrective measures, like put those 3M rubber stoppers at the edge of the steps or something similar.



We had a great time in Baler, and we truly enjoyed our stay in Bahia, Sabang Beach was simply amazing, and touring some of Baler's attractions was an added bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulugirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've been going to Baler for more than a year now, (approximately once or twice a month) for surf and I have already tried staying in at different kinds of inns/hotels in Sabang, but this one is definitely the best. This hotel made me sleep all the time rather than surf. The rooms are clean and the hotel sheets are comfortable. They serve good food too - check out The Pavillion. My personal favorite is the Pako de Bahia - they did it differently from the usual ensaladang pako.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The pictures on their website do not lie. It does look as beautiful as that. I just came from Bahia de Baler Garden Resort and was pleasantly surprised by what I found. Classy all white rooms by a cool swimming pool (the pool goes all disco at night). The restaurant serves good food at affordable prices. I went with the kinilaw and sinuglaw. It's kind of like Filipino sushi. They even give you free suman with homemade cocojam and peanut butter. And we also received a welcome drink of fresh buko juice. If you get sick of the food here, you can go to nearby Bayler Hotel. I recommend their pizza.

One more thing I wanted to add. I've been to San Juan in La Union and Bagasbas Beach in Daet. And it seems the easiest place to become a starter surfer is here in Baler. There is a lot of space and lots of trainers eager to teach you. If I go back here, I would try surfing again.

I also drove here. Drive down the NLEX. Go unto the SCTEX. Exit at La Paz, Tarlac. Turn right. Go straight until Nueva Ecija province. Turn left at the main highway towards Cabanatuan. In Cabanatuan turn right to go towards Baler. Always ask for directions along the way. Cabanatuan, by the way, is the perfect halfway point to grab a meal, because it's a 7 hour journey.

Room Tip: 09087320672 is the number they gave me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeydaninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Pros:
- Best rooms in the area, very clean, comfy & cosmopolitan
- Free wifi
- Cable TV
- Good cell reception
- For same price, room can have more than 2 occupants depending on size of room (4 or 5 pax)
- Clean heated pool & outdoor jacuzzi
- Staff tries to do their best but they seem to lack training one would expect from most resorts
- Reception is fully equiped with water, glasses, plates, ICE, etc perfect for drinking at the room terraces in the evenings
- They have a shuttle service which can take you to the main restaurant or other restaurants on the same street
- Breakfast can be served at the room terrace with a nice view of the pool & garden
- Longganisa is yummy!
- Very close to the beach
- Lots of good parking space

Cons:
- Our room sliding door was defective posing security risks, had to wait awhile before they agreed to transfer us
- Rooms don't always have hot water. When pool heaters are on, shower usually has freezing water
- Rooms have no refrigerator
- Some rooms don't have hand towels or bath towels, you have to ask cause they forget
- They forget to refill the bottled water supplies in the rooms
- Only have breakfast here, not lunch or dinner. They can't really service walk-ins unless you're willing to wait 2 hours!
- Breakfast area is in a different building from the pool rooms & even if you place advanced order, it still takes them at least 20mins to get your food ready & may even run out of your advanced orders.
- Hot choco is sometimes Milo, sometimes local tablea but always watered down

Verdict:
Overall, a great looking place, polite staff, just keep in mind it's a provincial life, hence service is much much sloooower!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the best! There are 2 that fit max of 5 pax for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for two nights and enjoyed the experience immensely. Staff was very accommodating, and the room was satisfactory. Beach was a very short walk away, but sadly our view of it was obstructed by the construction of a bigger 5-star hotel (also of the Angara, owner of Bahia and former governor of Aurora).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10858083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The best things about this hotel are the classy room and delicious food. All is great except that they did not tell me the actual net price before I checked in. Taxes should be inclusive when customers inquire

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jsfjr1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baler
62.9 mi away
Villa Diana Hotel & Cafe
0.0 mi away
Costa Pacifica
Costa Pacifica
#1 of 1 in Baler
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nalu Surf Camp
Nalu Surf Camp
#1 of 50 in Baler
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seasta Beach Resort
Seasta Beach Resort
#9 of 28 in Baler
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Circle Hostel Baler
0.0 mi away
Baler Sunrise Inn
Baler Sunrise Inn
#22 of 28 in Baler
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia de Baler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia de Baler

Property: Bahia de Baler
Address: 80 Buton St. | Sabang Beach, Baler, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Aurora Province > Baler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Baler
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia de Baler 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Bahia De Baler Hotel Baler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing