We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$790
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Hotels.com
$790
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
FindHotel
$476
View deal
Booking.com$791
Priceline$711
Trip.com$611
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,369 results
Traveler rating
1,099
178
58
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,099
178
58
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews six senses beach villa wine cave ninh van bay private pool main restaurant hill top outdoor shower our honeymoon speed boat cooking class the general manager amazing experience stunning location the resort manager amazing resort beach front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,369 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

spent almost a week there in February. The perfect place to hide with someone special.
Not recomended for families. Travelling there is a little complicated as you need to take a car and a boat. Being such isolated one can imagine that there is nothing but the resorts restaurants which are quite costy even compared to the extremely high standards.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaMiZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear WaMiZurich,

Warm Greetings from Six Senses Ninh Van Bay!

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you had appreciated our "perfect place" for its hideaway and privacy. However, along with this advantage, we do face a challenge for the food logistic.

We are sorry if the price at our restaurant let you disappointed. We will try to look at the price but kindly understand that at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, we commit to provide food with quality and above all, we strive to insure the food safety and hygiene for every customer.

Thank you again for taking time to share your experience at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of Ninh Van Bay in the not too distant future.

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay for our honeymoon for 5 days/4 nights in Water Villa 5, which is the end water villa and has absolute privacy to all but the passing boat. The villa itself was so spacious and comfortable, with bedroom, bathroom and lounge room, as well as private pool and plenty of space outside to lie in the sun. We could not see any adjacent villas and the rock villas across the bay were so far away that we couldn't even tell if they were occupied.

We had a very helpful butler that helped suggest and organise activities and drove us around in the buggy when required. Housekeeping came twice a day to service the room and the pool guy came daily to clean the filter and skim the bugs out of the pool.

There is a long path and many. many steps required to reached our villa, but that is the price to pay for the complete privacy we enjoyed. All water/rock/hilltop villas had steps to get to, so if you want to be able to ride the bikes directly to your door then I'd suggest staying in a Beach Villa. The up side was that the water villas are located fairly close to the main restaurant and bar.

Food was amazing. I was able to try lots of traditional Vietnamese dishes, and when I needed a change there was Western food also available. The breakfast buffet was huge with everything imaginable.

The whole resort is amazingly constructed into the natural landscape, with so much attention to the finest detail. Keep in mind that this is a quiet couples resort - I suggest leaving the kids at home.

The activities staff were great and very helpful with finding things to do. The resort also has 3 hiking trails, of which we did number 1 and number 3. They are not for the unfit, and are quite challenging in spots as you scramble across rocks and swing from tree to tree down steep descents. I definitely recommend trail 3 though, which requires a guide and takes about 2 hours. It finished on a private beach where the staff had set up a picnic lunch for us. We stayed there for a couple of hours after the walk to eat, swim and relax all by ourselves.

Compared to other Vietnam hotels the food and drink is expensive, but this was our once in a lifetime honeymoon and we accepted this fact before we arrived. I suggest you do the same.

Bad things:
1) The bar staff were very slow at making cocktails and there was no atmosphere at the Drinks by the Bay (the main bar/lounge). There was no 'show' like you normally get from a cocktail bar, which gets you excited and in the party mood. On previous holidays we normally spend hours at the bar trying all the cocktails and making friends with the bar tender, but here the mood was all business and quite depressing which made us prefer to go back to our villa rather than hang around the bar.
2) The bed was not a queen bed, but 2 single beds pushed together. I am disappointed when I get this in a normal hotel, but in a luxury, romantic villa this is unacceptable. Having the hard join between the 2 beds underneath you as you try to cuddle your new wife during the night is very uncomfortable. I can't imagine that they would ever split the beds into twin singles, so I'm not sure what they were thinking when they put these beds in.

Room tip: Don't be put off the Hilltop Villas by the steps, because chances are you'll have to walk further to the water villa or rock villa anyway. Water villas are close to the restaurant while rock villas are quite far away. Hilltop villas are on both sides. If you go for a water villa and don't mind the walking, ask for villa 5 for the privacy. If you don't want to walk at all and would rather ride the bike or get the buggy right to your door go for the beach villa.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henners_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Henners_8,

Greetings from Six Senses Ninh Van Bay!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on the resort and the team.

It is so great to know that you had an amazing stay at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay and that you enjoyed the privacy of our water villa, the helpfulness of our butler service as well as our food and our sport activities. Beside, we are sorry that your experience about the bar and the bed did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, we strive to provide exceptional service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us to know where to improve. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thanks again for choosing our resort for your honeymoon. We do hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having stayed at the Six Senses Hideaway near Hua Hin we opted to try the hideaway at Ninh van Bay for a change. The logistics of getting to the resort are a little convoluted (Flight to Amsterdam, then to Bangkok, then Ho Chi Minh City, then Nha Trang before a road transfer and boat trip to the resort) but the effort was more than worth while.

Staying in a Hill top villa the concept of the hideaway becomes very clear, with seclusion guaranteed.

The facilities of the resort are exceptional, the food and drink divine and the welcome and friendliness of the hosts sensational.

I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Lord_Anderson,

Thank you very much for posting a top ranking review for Six Senses Ninh Van Bay on TripAdvisor.

It is definitely a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback especially when you had prior stay in our sister property which is also a fantastic place. We will share your comments with the Food & Beverage team as well as with other teams.

We wish you a less convoluted but safe journey back home. Hope you have more great stays with Six Senses Resorts and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Highly recommend this resort for honeymooners. Would not be much fun for families. Our Hill Top villa was fantasic, very private and secluded amongst the trees. The hike up and down the steps was good exercise as we mostly did nothing but eat and drink!

As it was our honeymoon, the resort organised a free romantic cruise around the bay for us with champagne and food. A nice touch!

Food is fantastic - caters for asian and western tastes, and was of very high quality. A bit expensive! Would recommend the in villa BBQ, an experience worth doing once during a stay.

Only disappointment was we were eligable for a free villa upgrade but when we arrived they obviously forgot and only told us half way through our stay. At that point in time we didn't want to move. For a five star resort they should get this sort of thing right first go. Also the bed was a bit lumpy and needed to be replaced.

Spa was fantastic - we felt like royalty.

Room tip: Only pick a hill top villa if you dont mind 40 or so stairs a few times a day. Good exercise but not for everyone....
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Skramit,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the privacy of our villa as well as the food, and especially the in villa BBQ. Your valued comments have been shared with our hosts and will serve an encouragement to all of us.

We are sorry to your stay with us is less than perfect. As for the free upgrade for honeymooners, please understand that this is subjected to availability. However, we will revise with Reservation and FO team to ensure that all guest profiles should be properly gone through before their arrival. As for the bed... we are on process to replace.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and hope to have another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards from sunny Six Senses Ninh Van Bay.

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After spending much time planning a trip to Vietnam and considering staying at Six Senses and the Nam Hai we decided to stay at both wih 6 nights at Six Senses. We booked a Rock Villa which was located amongst the rocks right above the water at the end of the resort. The villa was absolutely beautiful with amazing views out across the water to Nha Trang and the other side of the resort. One of the highlights of the stay was the Beach BBQ. This could not be faulted. The relaxing boat trip to the secluded beach then the table set up right on the waters edge followed by the most amazing "BBQ" I have ever had. We also had dinner at Dining by the Rocks which was also a wonderful experience high up on the hill overlooking Nha Trang and the resort. Again the whole experience was just amazing! We could not fault any meal from breakfast to dinner at this resort. I don't understand what others have criticised the resort regarding food.The resort itself was beautiful and rustic and blended perfectly with the surrounds. Although the beach was available to us we mostly chose to swim in the pool at out villa however when we did swim at the beach the water was beautifully clear with amazing coral and fish to look at. The beach was always clean and only once did I see a plastic bottle that looked like it had washed in from across the bay. We spent some time looking through the herb and vegetable garden as well which was also well worth some time to do. The staff were always very friendly and our Butler, Christmas was a delight to deal with. The Assistant Executive Manager, Gary Chan, was always engaging and up for an interesting chat which we always enjoyed. I totally recommend this resort for those looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing however be prepared for some "gentle" exercise if you are not staying right beside the main facilities. I would most definitely return to Six Senses!

Room tip: If you have trouble with stairs do not stay in a Rock Villa or Hill Top Villa.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AusTravelsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews