We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tiger Inn
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Apartments(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$105
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$155
$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Alexandra Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Wilmington Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$77
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Chalk Farm Hotel(Willingdon)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oban(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
113
71
44
41
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
71
44
41
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubvillage greenseven sistersbeachy headbirling gapchicken pieselection of beersgreat beerlovely old publovely lunchlow ceilingsbirthday lunchsunny daysouth downsshort drivelovely bathroomlog fire
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 298 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely room (we were in the Garden Room, a few minutes walk from the pub but perfect for us), great shower, beautiful village, great walks all around, books and maps in the room, good breakfast and dinner too - tho there could have been more variety on the evening specials menu from one day to the next. A bit pricey perhaps but big breakfast included in £100 a night charge. The pub had a great atmosphere and good, if not extensive, selection of wines. The staff (mostly young girls) were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend for a quiet weekend away from it all.

Room Tip: You will need to note your room's security code to get in - it wasn't on our confirmation email which caused a bit of hassle on arrival! The Garden Room is not on the pub site but great for a quieter time...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Every January for many years, we have walked the Seven Sisters to detox after the festive season. For a while The Tiger refused to serve walkers, but happily, under new management, that has changed, so once again we could enjoy this lovely pub. This year there were seven of us, ranging from 40something to 73 in age, and we were welcomed with smiles, and great service. A good variety of beer, well kept, and an excellent if limited menu. I've got to say that the food was exceptionally good. The burgers were thick and juicy, served in granary buns, the guy who ordered gammon seemed to be in his own little heaven, but the biggest smile was worn by the one who ordered sausage and mash. Well, FOUR sausages, actually - and he was still telling us how flavoursome they were several hours afterwards! On a slight aside, ambiance was partly provided by candles on each table. Considerable mirth was caused by a worthy so immersed in his newspaper that he didn't notice it catching alight, and then performing an interesting dance while extinguishing the blaze. We'll be back next January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We had visited this place once before and had a very pleasant drink there. This time we had family and kids. To be fair the pub was full, due to unexpected good weather. But the delivery of service by clearly inexperienced and sometimes arrogant staff was very disappointing. We were told there was a 30 min wait for food. Fair enough. But when an hour had passed and the table next to us who had ordered about 20 min after us got served we got worried and annoyed. We were then assured our food was being plated. 15 min later tge food came out. No apology just a comment that there were only 3 in the kitchen. Very disappointing. However it is worth commenting that the food was good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank DRKKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I have visited here on a few occasions, Lovely food, great service, lovely decor my only criticism is that the menu is limited and the menu hasn't changed in a long time. Saying that what they do have is very well done and I will definitely return again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank emilie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

we had taken our children with us and were greeted nicely and put in a kid-friendly area of the pub. very quaint pub and what looked to be a good menu...the food, however, was bad, very bad, actually. i ordered the bangers and mash and was sick the whole evening because of it. decided to go for fish and chips the next try and there was none to be had. they were out of fish and chips both days we lunched. how can you be out of fish and chips and be a pub?! so, i went for prawn scampi which was inedible. horrible. while there's not much in the area, go and have a pint and some chips but leave lunch or dinner for elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meganturnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews