We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tiger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Dean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tiger Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 East Dean B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely room (we were in the Garden Room, a few minutes walk from the pub but perfect for us), great shower, beautiful village, great walks all around, books and maps in the room, good breakfast and dinner too - tho there could have been more variety on the evening specials menu from one day to the next. A bit pricey perhaps but big breakfast included in £100 a night charge. The pub had a great atmosphere and good, if not extensive, selection of wines. The staff (mostly young girls) were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend for a quiet weekend away from it all.

Room Tip: You will need to note your room's security code to get in - it wasn't on our confirmation em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    60
    41
    37
    24
See reviews for
66
112
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Every January for many years, we have walked the Seven Sisters to detox after the festive season. For a while The Tiger refused to serve walkers, but happily, under new management, that has changed, so once again we could enjoy this lovely pub. This year there were seven of us, ranging from 40something to 73 in age, and we were welcomed with smiles, and great service. A good variety of beer, well kept, and an excellent if limited menu. I've got to say that the food was exceptionally good. The burgers were thick and juicy, served in granary buns, the guy who ordered gammon seemed to be in his own little heaven, but the biggest smile was worn by the one who ordered sausage and mash. Well, FOUR sausages, actually - and he was still telling us how flavoursome they were several hours afterwards! On a slight aside, ambiance was partly provided by candles on each table. Considerable mirth was caused by a worthy so immersed in his newspaper that he didn't notice it catching alight, and then performing an interesting dance while extinguishing the blaze. We'll be back next January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We had visited this place once before and had a very pleasant drink there. This time we had family and kids. To be fair the pub was full, due to unexpected good weather. But the delivery of service by clearly inexperienced and sometimes arrogant staff was very disappointing. We were told there was a 30 min wait for food. Fair enough. But when an hour had passed and the table next to us who had ordered about 20 min after us got served we got worried and annoyed. We were then assured our food was being plated. 15 min later tge food came out. No apology just a comment that there were only 3 in the kitchen. Very disappointing. However it is worth commenting that the food was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DRKKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Dean hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I have visited here on a few occasions, Lovely food, great service, lovely decor my only criticism is that the menu is limited and the menu hasn't changed in a long time. Saying that what they do have is very well done and I will definitely return again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank emilie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

we had taken our children with us and were greeted nicely and put in a kid-friendly area of the pub. very quaint pub and what looked to be a good menu...the food, however, was bad, very bad, actually. i ordered the bangers and mash and was sick the whole evening because of it. decided to go for fish and chips the next try and there was none to be had. they were out of fish and chips both days we lunched. how can you be out of fish and chips and be a pub?! so, i went for prawn scampi which was inedible. horrible. while there's not much in the area, go and have a pint and some chips but leave lunch or dinner for elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meganturnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have 2 small kids, don't get away often and so as a treat decided to book one night at The Tiger Inn...will not be doing that again.

The main staff seemed very unhappy, especially the cook who was moaning to some regulars about, I presume, the management, The manager on the night, very nice, but seemed over stretched and in flexible, e.g. a customer asked what the specials were and she said she didm not know and would not know until later in the evening. I wonder why she could not have just gone in and asked the chef. On the plus side, the 2 young ladies that served our meal were excellent and attentive.

The website promotes the place as having a cost atmosphere with real wood fire. This was not lit when we went (January 2nd) and when I asked if somebody could light it the manager said she would have to see as they were short staffed. I ended up lighting the wood burner myself.

Room was nice enough but no sound insulation between the walls, so a restful night away was not had as the couple above/ next door?? could be heard, very clearly, undertaking bedroom gymnastics and then watching TV.

Breakfast was mediocre, only one slice of toast with my eggs and bacon. The couple next to us were told that there were only 2 cafetieres and so they should ask for a top up as and when.

Real shame, had been really looking forward to it. sadly will not be able to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vishp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

As a fairly recent and regular visitor to East Dean, I was looking forward to spending some pleasant evenings drinking and sometimes eating in this superbly located establishment. I have been here three times (for a drink only) and unfortunately on all occasions have met with disinterested staff behind the bar who make you feel that they are doing you a favour by serving you. The first visit involved a long wait prior to being acknowledged by staff who spent far too long talking to the locals that almost 'took over' the bar area. All of the experiences will mean that I will not visit in the future but will take my custom to the much more customer friendly Eight Bells at Jevington or The Lamb in Old Town. Shame really that I don't want to visit my 'local' pub anymore and am now faced with driving to another location. I have looked at other reviews on this site, and the problems here often seem to stem from the landlords lack of interpersonal skills. He was only around on one of the times that I visited where I observed an aggressive attitude to some other customers who we're sitting outside.

Room Tip: No comments as I did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Dean
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Inn

Property: The Tiger Inn
Address: The Green, East Dean BN20 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > East Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Dean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Inn has five luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tiger Inn East Dean, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing