We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s a ‘Caesar Salad’, Jim, but not as Cardini would recognise it...............”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tiger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Dean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tiger Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 East Dean B&B and Inns
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It’s a ‘Caesar Salad’, Jim, but not as Cardini would recognise it...............”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A Caesar Salad with prawns seemed a pleasant choice for lunch, and having paid extra for bread (!) I looked forward to a dish of Romaine Lettuce, croutons, flaked parmesan all dressed with a beautiful classic sauce made from a variation of egg, lemon juice, olive oil, Worcester sauce and garlic - then topped with prawns. It was some time before the dish arrived, beautifully arranged in a large deep dish.
But what I was presented with was in fact merely a fancy Prawn Cocktail served up with a few rancid tasting croutons. Just to make the point, the spears of Romaine lettuce contained a reasonable portion of prawns, dressed in a Marie Rose sauce (usually mayonnaise flavoured with tomato ketchup) and sprinkled with those unfortunate croutons. No sauce Caesar, no flaked parmesan, nothing to suggest this was a variation on a Caesar Salad. And no lemon. Accompanied by a discussion with the waitress about bread not being part of the dish, even though it had been ordered as an extra!

At a time when issues of food authenticity are very much in the public mind, the management should remember their legal and ethical obligations in this area and take care to ensure that the food they serve is as described. The term ‘Caesar Salad’ is a well known classical dish or ‘brand’, and the customer (and especially Americans) will have expectations as to its constituent parts. If you want to offer a dish that is very different to the classic dish then you should make this clear. And/or invest in some staff training.

The Tiger Inn is idyllically located on the green in a Sussex downland village and is very popular in the summer and at weekends so it really is a great pity that the management are not more careful about the authenticity of any classic dishes they offer. And as the pub is frequented by walkers enjoying the magnificence of the South Downs and proximity to Beachy Head and Birling Gap it is a pity that they feel the need to charge extra for bread to accompany dishes that are served as main courses but which contain so little carbohydrate which would be needed to stoke the walkers up for the continuation of their journey. Surely this should be part and parcel of the same dish?

It is a common mistake to underestimate customers’ knowledge and experience of food, classical and otherwise, and one can, of course, take one’s business elsewhere if one thinks that one has been taken for a fool - there are, after all, three other really excellent eating places on the same Green at East Dean - a Thai Restaurant, a Delicatessen and the Hikers’ Rest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GastroSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    60
    41
    37
    24
See reviews for
66
112
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at the Tiger today and sadly we were very disappointed, two of the meals were ok out of four. The meals were delayed, and we were told "good food takes time" however the food was not good. Having complained that the Duck was all bone, we were told it had been weighed. Not the answer we were looking for. The manager then told us he would take the duck dish off the menu, if still on the menu be warned.
Please read all the comments regarding the management style and attitude, I would suggest that the management need to be retrained in customer expectations and requirements. Good luck if you are going to the Tiger ! We will never go back and we will never advise anyone to go to there......

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Dean hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The service was totally well under average, staff were rude and very obviously in a job they don't particularly like. There's no feeling of welcome when you arrive, in fact I felt relief leaving the establishment.. The manager clearly lives in a bubble and if he took as much time training his staff as he did talking about himself then maybe the pub/b&b would improve.. Unfortunately I've had one too many bad nights because of their lack of customer care and if there is ever an improvement then I won't be finding out as I won't be visiting the tiger inn in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samaliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Poor service let this lovely pub down. The food was great, but the bar maid let the whole lunch down. She followed the manager around, talking to him all the time. Conversations about her wellington boots, and moaning about other staff, this was when all customers could hear and some were waiting service. She was clearly not customer focused, She forgot completely a round of drinks that was ordered and forgot to bring a sauce after offering to get it. Then to cap it all stood choosing her lunch from the specials board and was then irritated by customers wanting serving as her lunch had arrived.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really like the location and surrounding of this pub, but the food can be lovely one day and the next awful ! Management can be rude and very unprofessional which makes the whole experience very uncomfortable , like I said one day you can go there and have a lovely great meal next it can be very disappointing ,shame really as this is what lets the pub down as this potentially could be a fantastic pub.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Lifefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking forward to a nice meal and we booked a table for one oclock.
We arrived by one and took our table. There was a mass of people. in front of the bar with 2 people serving. We waited and waited and WAITED and no staff showing any interest in taking our order. What a strange way to run a buisness. In the end we had to walk out and found a lovely place to eat in Alfriston instead.
Maybe management were not expecting New Years Day to be busy or the owners think they can make more money by understaffing or maybe management are clueless. The result is the same. RUBBISH SERVICE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jonny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

After a long and hearty walk the Tiger Inn was the perfect spot to set down our rucksacks and hit the bar for the evening. Warm welcome, cosy surroundings and a spacious room with ensuite. Plenty of local knowledge available for walkers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annasmithjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Dean
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
3.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Inn

Property: The Tiger Inn
Address: The Green, East Dean BN20 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > East Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Dean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Inn has five luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tiger Inn East Dean, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing