We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude management , food is very inconsistent . One day it's lovely next it's awful !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tiger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Dean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tiger Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 East Dean B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very rude management , food is very inconsistent . One day it's lovely next it's awful !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really like the location and surrounding of this pub, but the food can be lovely one day and the next awful ! Management can be rude and very unprofessional which makes the whole experience very uncomfortable , like I said one day you can go there and have a lovely great meal next it can be very disappointing ,shame really as this is what lets the pub down as this potentially could be a fantastic pub.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Lifefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    60
    39
    35
    23
See reviews for
64
110
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking forward to a nice meal and we booked a table for one oclock.
We arrived by one and took our table. There was a mass of people. in front of the bar with 2 people serving. We waited and waited and WAITED and no staff showing any interest in taking our order. What a strange way to run a buisness. In the end we had to walk out and found a lovely place to eat in Alfriston instead.
Maybe management were not expecting New Years Day to be busy or the owners think they can make more money by understaffing or maybe management are clueless. The result is the same. RUBBISH SERVICE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jonny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Dean hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

After a long and hearty walk the Tiger Inn was the perfect spot to set down our rucksacks and hit the bar for the evening. Warm welcome, cosy surroundings and a spacious room with ensuite. Plenty of local knowledge available for walkers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annasmithjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food [especially the puddings] and ambience were excellent, although the service was rather poor [1hr from order to receipt of food]. Overall, the pub is in a lovely location, has a good atmosphere and is a genuinely nice place to have lunch. There is, however, room for improvement on the beer quality/selection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely building in fabulous setting with comfortable accommodation and atmospheric bar / bar food but breakfast was so disappointing - few choices, fundamentals not properly sorted and just a bit too much "DIY". Great shame but fairly easy to rectify.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konnosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Charming pub with rooms. Went for the weekend for a romantic wander by the coast.

The service was convivial and excellent, we had tea and supper here as well as breakfast. The nicest table seems to be by the door near the fire, and other tables in the main bar area were a little draughty but it was winter and windy.

Food at both supper and breakfast was good, although the chocolate brownie for pudding was a little tired. Other than that a wonderful time.

Highly recommended for anyone seeking to get away from it all in a lovely pub in a very picturesque village, with plenty of opportunities for walks along the coast and further afield.

Room Tip: Stayed in 'Grace' which was wonderful and perhaps because it was winter and few people outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a lovely time, could do with some comfortable couches. Breakfast was excellent and the quality of service was very good. The food was pricey for what it was portions were big but lacked quality. All in all had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Dean
3.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
3.4 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Inn

Property: The Tiger Inn
Address: The Green, East Dean BN20 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > East Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Dean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Inn has five luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tiger Inn East Dean, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing