We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rubbish service”
Review of The Tiger Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Dean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tiger Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 East Dean B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking forward to a nice meal and we booked a table for one oclock.
We arrived by one and took our table. There was a mass of people. in front of the bar with 2 people serving. We waited and waited and WAITED and no staff showing any interest in taking our order. What a strange way to run a buisness. In the end we had to walk out and found a lovely place to eat in Alfriston instead.
Maybe management were not expecting New Years Day to be busy or the owners think they can make more money by understaffing or maybe management are clueless. The result is the same. RUBBISH SERVICE

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank jonny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 288 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

After a long and hearty walk the Tiger Inn was the perfect spot to set down our rucksacks and hit the bar for the evening. Warm welcome, cosy surroundings and a spacious room with ensuite. Plenty of local knowledge available for walkers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annasmithjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food [especially the puddings] and ambience were excellent, although the service was rather poor [1hr from order to receipt of food]. Overall, the pub is in a lovely location, has a good atmosphere and is a genuinely nice place to have lunch. There is, however, room for improvement on the beer quality/selection.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Charming pub with rooms. Went for the weekend for a romantic wander by the coast.

The service was convivial and excellent, we had tea and supper here as well as breakfast. The nicest table seems to be by the door near the fire, and other tables in the main bar area were a little draughty but it was winter and windy.

Food at both supper and breakfast was good, although the chocolate brownie for pudding was a little tired. Other than that a wonderful time.

Highly recommended for anyone seeking to get away from it all in a lovely pub in a very picturesque village, with plenty of opportunities for walks along the coast and further afield.

Room Tip: Stayed in 'Grace' which was wonderful and perhaps because it was winter and few people outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a lovely time, could do with some comfortable couches. Breakfast was excellent and the quality of service was very good. The food was pricey for what it was portions were big but lacked quality. All in all had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had lunch here at this old style pub on the village green in a quiet spot off the A259 and near to the South Downs Way. Free parking close by. It was a rare sunny day and the pub was busy, however there was inadequate staff to deal with the numbers. Only one girl serving who was rushed off her feet and did not have time to look after diners. The kitchen also did not keep up. Fortunately we were in a group so the wait of almost an hour for the food (Fish and Chips, not a suffle) was bearable as we had a lot to catch up on, but if it had been just the two of us we would have walked out. It was a great pity as the food when it came was excellent and good value. We would go there again if we could be assured that the service would be improved. Slow service in pubs is too frequent and one reason why we do not eat out more often.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandwich10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Great room, great evening meal, friendly service in the evening couldn't fault it until breakfast!
Hot Water in a flask doesn't make good tea, toast served 20 minutes before hot breakfast, Luke warm food served on cold plates, watery poached eggs, poor slow service. And we were only ones in the breakfast room so can't use being busy as an excuse. Such a shame as everything else was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tiger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Inn

Address: The Green, East Dean BN20 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > East Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Dean
Price Range: $127 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Inn has five luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tiger Inn East Dean, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing