We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Tradewinds as a special treat. We had been there in our courting days almost 20 years before and had very fond memories. The receptionist appeared very helpful and told us about the facilities and about breakfast times as a full buffet breakfast was included in our rate. The room we were given had a view of a wall. It was on the 2nd floor and just outside the lift. As this was supposed to be a special occasion and our memories of our room of 20 years before was in the original old heritage building, with wonderful harbour view, we asked if we might be given something nicer. Apparently no one could remember the old building ever having rooms, it is now a conference centre, so that was not an option. The next room we were given was just above the first. Looking straight out at the wall of the lift well. But with a 90 degree twist of our necks or by dragging our chairs a few rooms further down the outside walkway we could glimpse the harbour and hopefully the setting sun. It was room 315. I will never forget. We ventured down to the Restaurant for Dinner where the music was so loud we could not hear ourselves think. So we gave it a miss and went into Fremantle to a great Indian Restaurant. We returned to our room, having missed seeing the sunset from the concrete walkway. We sat down on the couch to watch a bit of TV and have an end of day beverage, when, after a few minutes we realised the floor was vibrating. There was an awful droning noise that vibrated along both side walls and through the floor. Not knowing if this would eventually stop, we contacted the reception and asked if we were, perhaps, above the kitchen and the noise might be the exhaust fans. We were told no. So then we asked that someone come up and listen to the noise. After about 3 phone calls and nearly an hour the duty manager finally came and listened. He admitted there was a 'bit of a noise', but he had no idea what it was. So he went to investigate. Another 2 phone calls and about half hour later the receptionists told us he (the duty manager) could not find the source of the noise, but if we were 'so susceptible to noise' they could put us in a room further away! This was almost mid-night. We packed up and changed to a much quieter room! No one ever followed up. We never found out what the noise was, though we suspect it was a motor on the side of the lift shaft. But apparently we were the only people who had ever noticed it, even though it vibrated through the whole room and the wall where the couch was and the bed. To top it off, the next morning we had 15 minutes to have our buffet breakfast as the receptionist had told us it finished at 10am when in fact it finished at 9.30am weekdays and 10am on weekends. This was a Friday!!

Room Tip: Never get a room near the lifts on the Eastern side the view is of a stone wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    75
    82
    42
    29
See reviews for
52
86
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here due to having a family member in hospital and I needed to be close by. I rang and booked in quite late but the receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. My room was large and very clean and the bed was comfortable. Being from the country, the traffic noise was loud to me, and early next morning a refrigerated delivery truck parked almost directly outside my room was extremely noisy.

I had ordered breakfast - it arrived during the requested time and was very enjoyable. Checkout was quick and simple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here back at the end of November 2012. We arrived quite late at night and we were greeted by Raj one of the reservation managers who was doing an extra shift and had been work all day. Even though he was tired he still greeted us with a smile and great customer service.

Our room was on level 3 facing the river and the over the front of the hotel. It was a great view to start the trip looking out over the swan river. Although the weather was a little cyclonic for our stay the room was sound proof from the gail force winds outside. The room was well appointed nothing to flash but not to out dated in itself. Self contained kitchen and mini bar was a good addtion to the comfy bed.

The restaurant was a little over priced but then so is Fremantle so it just comes part and parcel with the area. I will say that once the weather warmed up the outside alfresco bar area is quite amazing and really the place to be on a sunny Sunday session.

Thanks to the team at Tradewinds for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Grab a room with the view of swan river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passportwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our Tradewinds was Fairly average for the $200 per night we paid. The room were clean but looked a bit outdated and the beds were hard. It's more of family hotel with most of the rooms facing inward to the courtyard /pool, during the day and evening there was a lot of noise coming from the pool area and therefore difficult to relax. We stayed over a sat/sun and there were a lot of teens drinking heavily which did not help either. We booked this hotel based on the photos on their website, the pic look great but in reality the hotel could do with a facelift.

Security was an issue as the door was a just a old patio type not very secure. There was even a sticker advising to bolt your door at night using a simple sliding bolt!!

There is not much around the hotel and its situated right on the Canning highway so it's not in the best area

No Wifi only LAN so we found it difficult to to business as I only travel with my IPad . The hotel was Ok-ish but there is better value in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldofg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Fremantle hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I don't believe our sheets were changed. Checked in late. Sounded ok over phone but once there girl behind counter was extremely rude Our room was dirty. Bathroom dirty. Kitchenette was disgusting. Overpriced. I would never ever stay here again. One of the worst

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth (Coogee)
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel needs a make over starting in the lobby, then to the rooms. Perfect setting where its situated service they need a shake up.... Better service in Bali !
Had Xmas funtion there so with Taxis not that good this time of year thought it would be best to stay the evening a share with a friend. Had breakfast very basic not very friendly in restaurant.
Find this so sad as we are fremantle people ourselves but for the tourist I would not be that impressed .....

Room Tip: Our room was a 2 bedroom suite on the third floor that was spacious enough & had a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxysPerth_Coogee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This historic hotel needs a make over. This needs to start from the lobby/ reception area right through to the dining area and onto the rooms. The reception area had the most uncomfortable, old sofas which were not even arranged in a way that promoted any conversation or made it an inviting place to want to stay.
The actual room we stayed in was large but the carpets dirty, table and chairs battered just adding to the impression of being run down.
The restaurant on this Saturday night just seemed to be in a shambles. There was no directions on how to be seated and then to actually get a meal, had to queue outside in a very noisy small bar area. When I asked if there was any table service was advised that it is bistro and I could have the meal in my room if I didn't like it. Therefore the choice of enjoying some of the views of the water and perhaps actually making the stay remotely pleasant were taken away again . I will say once the food did come, it was pleasant tasting and well presented. My companion also made positive comments about the food but certainly not about the service.
I chose this place via the photographs on the net and the fact it is an historic building. I am so disappointed and certainly won't encourage others to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Property: Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Address: 59 Canning Hwy | East Fremantle, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds Hotel offers 83 fully self contained apartments, alfresco and indoor bars, a delicious seasonal menu created by Executive Chef Gary Martin in our Restaurant and is conveniently located on the beautiful Swan River in East Fremantle. The hotel offers amazing river views and is only 5 minutes to the heart of Fremantle and 20 minutes by car to Perth's CBD. All apartments are spacious and equipped with a kitchenette and private bathroom, 24 hour reception, room service, outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, new state of the art gym and complimentary undercover security parking. Located within easy 5 minute walk of an extensive range of cafes and dining options along the river, and on George Street, East Fremantle. We offer in-house buffet breakfast for hotel guests including children and have highchairs available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing