We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
East Fremantle

“Relaxed atmosphere”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located on the banks of the beautiful Swan River, the Left Bank is the perfect spot for some relaxing drink and fantastic food while enjoying the amazing view. Our Pub Style Menu includes various Tapas to share, Seafood Specials, everyone's Pub Favourites and Pizzas - we also offer different deals and specials every day of the week. Our Bars are stocked with a wide range of beers, ciders, wines and spirits. So come and join us with your friends for some good times at The Left Bank. And if you're planning a party - why not make the Left Bank exclusively yours by organizing your next Function here?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We met up with family for dinner.
Outside is lovely in the evening and as it gets dark the trees are full of fairy lights.
Good variety on the menu. My husband and I shared the prawns, carimari and sweet potatoe fries plus a jug of pimms for the table. It's very family friendly too with kids activities and changing facilities if you have a bub.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 87jemmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Left_Bank_Freo, Public Relations Manager at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back at The Left Bank soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Visited with a group of friends. Food was just average. Ordered the grilled barramundi at $32. It was fine except I accidentally bit into a piece of raw pork belly hidden in the kale salad! Not great considering I'm pregnant and trying to avoid uncooked meat! Not sure how it got there.... The place has a great view though.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank amperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Left_Bank_Freo, Public Relations Manager at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Hi there, as we do not have pork belly on the menu we would love the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further so that we can investigate. If you would be so kind as to reach out to info@leftbank.com.au it would be appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We held our 2019 Xmas function upstairs on the Mezzanine in late December and had a fabulous time. All 50 attendees loved the surroundings, service & view. The private bar and having your own bathroom was a plus, table set up was perfect, service was great, food was on time and thoroughly enjoyed, Nicole & Carmen from the Functions Team were outstanding. Would highly recommend an event here.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SessyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Left_Bank_Freo, Public Relations Manager at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi there,

So fantastic to hear that you all had such a fabulous time and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We will pass on your kind words to Nicole and Carmen.

Looking froward to seeing you back again soon.

Team Left Bank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Final day in Perth so it was time for a meal with a river view. There were several indifferent reviews but we ate anyway. A note of caution regarding the meals though - almost all meals are cooked with garlic so if anyone has an intolerance, you are left with few choices. Did raise this with management and after investigation this was not n fact confirmed however an undertaking was given that this would be pursued further. All other meals were large and quite enjoyable.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Gibbinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Left_Bank_Freo, Public Relations Manager at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your meals.

With regards to the note about garlic, I understand that you spoke to our Manager and advised that one of your guests was allergic to garlic. With this in mind we decided to err on the side of caution (as we are a commercial kitchen where we do cook with garlic) and pointed out a safe dish for your guest without the fear of cross contamination.

For those not allergic, only 3 of the 17 main meal dishes contain garlic within the actual dish (and this is noted on the menu description).

Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Thanks, Team Left Bank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Quaint and quirky riverfront restaurant in an old building. There were hardly any people there, but at 11 am there was only one lonely muffin on the counter. We asked if there was anything else on offer but were met with blank stares. We ordered it anyway ( for four people) and ordered coffee. cups were put on a tray. Exactly one hour later, after three trips back to the counter to ask, the coffee was served, weak and lukewarm. if you can get a bad cup of coffee in Perth, this is it. Don't bother! We won't be going again.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamelajoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Left_Bank_Freo, Public Relations Manager at The Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi Pamela,

We are really sorry to hear that you didn't receive our usual high standard of service on your visit. We really find it very surprising that it took an hour to get your coffee, especially as you mentioned the venue was not particularly busy when you visited. Hopefully the staff were courteous and explained the unusual delay.

At 11am we would have been changing over from our breakfast service which runs until 10.30am and would have been getting ready for lunch service, thus the unfortunate lack of options at that time. The staff should have informed you of this change over in menu and let you know that lunch was about to be served.

We apologise that you didn't get the opportunity to view our full service breakfast menu that has an array of pastries and croissants on offer to compliment the additional muffins we have on the counter. Or even the specials board near the till as there is always some delicious treats on offer! Hopefully you will come again during our breakfast service time so that you may have the opportunity to sample the great breakfast offering we have.

The Left Bank Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Left Bank also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
East Fremantle, Fremantle
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing