We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience at "The Amberley".”
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Ambience at "The Amberley".”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A family group of 8 stayed here for the weekend, to attend a wedding in Calcot.
Our hosts, Trevor & Jane, & all their staff were so friendly, helpful & very welcoming.
We had Room 10 & it is a lovely big double room (or family room, as it also had an extra single available in a separate area, if needed). Magnificent views over the valley. We thought the road in front might be noisy, but we honestly didn't even notice it. Slept like logs in very comfy bed, lovely linens & fluffy towels in the en suite bathroom. Trevor - New loo seat needed in this bathroom - it didn't stay up ! Also hot tap on wash basin needs new washer, but otherwise all good. "White Company toiletries" in Bathroom (& all Cloakrooms). Plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, Horlicks, biscuits, etc., in room & decent sized kettle, which is always good! TV in room. Could perhaps have a very slightly larger tv as difficult to see the screen from the bed. There was a wee "blip" on Friday afternoon/ evening when the central heating boiler went on the blink, but the engineer came, & in order to warm the building up again, the heating was left on full blast all night. We were provided with an electric heater, too, if we needed it.
Bars are cosy. Lovely log fires. The boys enjoyed the local beers. Excellent Bar Food. Good menu variety. Enjoyed Bar lunches, great sandwiches, & Suppers over the weekend. Between the 8 of us, we tried most dishes. Venison steaks superb! Sweets great. Excellent spicy Apple Tart. nice local Ice Creams. The Restaurant for Dinner lacks a wee bit of "atmosphere". Breakfast service was a tad chaotic at times, but nevertheless, it was always friendly & nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. Just ask & you get! Plenty of choice on Breakfast menu. Between us, we tried everything! As with any business, new owners need a wee bit of time to get things absolutely right, so a few little "tweaks" here & there may be required, but Trevor & Jane are certainly going in the right direction. Would definitely recommend this beautiful old historic Inn as a lovely place to stay & enjoy a relaxing break in beautiful Gloucestershire countryside. Try a walk up the hill behind, on the lovely old Common. Just a small slope then flat for walking, so easy to do.
We're going to have an "Amberley Inn" reunion in the autumn! Thanks to Trevor, Jane, & ALL the lads 'n' lasses there - we had a great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for all your kind comments. It was a very great pleasure having your party here for the weekend, we are delighted you all enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back in the autumn when you will be able to play spot the improvements. (toilet seat attended to already).

Weekend breakfasts, and in particular Sunday morning post wedding reception breakfasts are always a little hectic as inevitably everyone descends on the dining room at the same time and our long-sufferring breakfast chef has to cope with multiple large table orders simultaneously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    80
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
151
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Strange place that could be so much more. Slightly chaotic (hence the Fawlty Towers comment). If you go into the bar and have drinks, or get a table in the bar, then it looks lovely. And actually the food is very nice. But if you can't find a place in the bar then it's the rather soul-less restaurant with windows that are too high up for you to be able to see the stunning views unless you're standing up. Service was sluggish and when we left, the waiter who had served us was too busy tapping away at a computer to notice our party of 5 leaving. I don't think I would go again although Amberley and the surrounds are beautiful. I look forward to the Black Horse nearby opening again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeCeeZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
The food is very nice and the bar is lovely - thank you. Please reserve your table well in advance. The day in question we served over 60 people lunch, most of whom were walk-in diners as was this guest. All of our food is freshly prepared to order, therefore even in quieter periods you will not experience fast food at The Amberley. If service is less than friendly, courteous and professional then please do raise the issue with us at the time.

The Amberley is also a Hotel, the chap "tapping away" was taking a telephone reservation with his back to the door. When concentrating on the task in hand it is sometimes unfortunate that we miss the opportunity of thanking our guests as they depart. Plans are in place to re-design the reception area to resolve this issue.

The Amberley is an extremely popular Inn as it hasn't been themed to within an inch of credulity. The Inn is located in a conservation area so, even if it were desirable to do so, it is not possible to alter the 100 year-old mullioned windows to afford a view.

I am not too sure where the reference to Fawlty Towers applies as we have no Spanish waiters, but there are times when I feel Basil welling up inside. See you in the Black Horse when you open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South african in Cheltenham UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only stayed one night and were out for the whole evening so slept, showered, ate breakfast and left.
Good:
room 2 is lovely with a beautiful comfortable bed
welcoming and friendly staff
great views
good to have breakfast till 10am

Not so good:
Very cold room even with drapes closed
Very nice linen and pillows but tiny duvet that we fought over all night!!
Bathroom is disappointing compared to the room and peeling plaster is so easy to fix!
Breakfast was poor and its not hard to do breakfast so not sure I would be back for lunch if that was what the food is like.

All in all, OK but not special and quite an expensive room for a B&B

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback. All constructive comments are very welcome as we are constantly striving to improve The Amberley in every way. To that end the standard size duvet referred to has been replaced with a Goose down king size and the small area of plaster in the bathroom has been repaired.

Some things are not so easy to rectify immediately however, the very nature and charm of the building is in the authentic window furniture and stone mullions. Unfortunately, although very attractive, these 1850 features are not what we are used to in the modern world of triple-glazing, and during periods of extreme cold weather the old stone building can be cold. We are investing circa £60,000 in a new heating system over the next few months and permission is being sought to change the windows which we would hope to be done by the end of the summer. In the mean-time there are electric heaters in each bedroom for guests to use as they require in addition to the central heating which is on for 20 hours per day.

As to the poor breakfast I can only apologise. Cooked breakfasts are a very personal thing, different people like their bacon, sausage, eggs, toast (the list goes on) cooked very differently, all of which we endeavour to provide for as each breakfast is individually cooked to order.

With any culinary problems we would much prefer to be informed at once if guests are not satisfied in any way - we would much rather provide a replacement meal and have happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In the age of gourmet-pubs, spa-inns and the like, its refreshing to find an unassuming, unpretentious inn. Located on a hillside with cows prowling the road, Amberley Inn is a quaint place with great food, excellent service and beautiful countryside. The rates are very affordable, making this an excellent base to explore the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice-bjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Amberley Inn is everything you want for a weekend away in a genuine picturesque cotswold Inn. Lovely beer,superb food and fantastic open log fires. Rooms were immaculately clean and warm. Jane and Trevor are excellent hosts and could not do enough to arrange trips out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Amberley soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place was fantastic! We pulled in on a normal rainy day in Stroud and immediately felt warm inside the Amberley Inn and it's little Snug room. After a few pints, and a few more hot toddies, we retired in our very comfortable, WI-FI, television room and snoozed away as the rain beat down outside. In the morning we attended the breakfast and felt like we were in a 6-star resort hotel! Such great food. Jane and Trev are new owners of this place and after hearing their adventures through the south of France and sailing in the Mediterraenian on their yacht, I knew they were the right people for the job.

You will not be disappointed with this place!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We try not to bore everyone with our tales. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband, baby and I recently spent two nights at the Amberley Inn and had such an incredible time.
The hotel has such a warm and inviting atmosphere, with it's cozy logs fires, beautiful, tasteful interiors and piping hot, delicious cuisine. Jane and Trevor are also such welcoming hosts - they will whip up any drink of your choice ( I had a Hot Toddy) and will go that extra mile to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. As my husband and I live abroad, we chose the Amberley Inn as a meeting point for a group of five other friends to gather and spend the night. It was such a good choice. The rooms are so comfortable, we even had a moses basket and baby toys in ours, the shower is fantasticly hot with great pressure and the towels are white and fluffy. Jane and Trevor went out of their way to make us all feel so at home. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a country break to stay in a place which makes you feel so at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieHenrichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you Carrie. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Property: The Amberley Inn
Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing