We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great stop-off on the way south, just off A46 and M5. Bat with real local ale and good menu. All the usuals, but beautifully cooked. Good quick service and very clean. A small garden is available for those who want to eat outside and the views across to Nailsworth are stunning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    79
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
147
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled across The Amberley Inn quite by accident and were so glad we did. The owner, Trevor, provided excellent service from the moment we called for a reservation to the time we left, easily accommodating our requirements for our 2 young children. Our room and the whole hotel is immaculate, with a very Cotswold country casuals design and exquisite dining room. The inclusive breakfast was beyond expectations and the pub served great local beer in a super friendly community environment. I am from Stroud and visit relatives regularly and now have a great new base to do so from. Fab value for money. Great decor. Super friendly management. Fully recommend the Amberley Inn for anyone needing a base in this area of the Cotswolds. Previous reviewers have said it's on a busy road - this is rubbish - it's a winding lane through the commons, with some through traffic. Our room was near the road and we heard nothing! The hotel is under new management and we thoroughly applaud Jane and Trevor and wish them every success - they deserve it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while my wife was on a course an I dogsat and worked. We stayed in a garden suite behind the hotel which lead straight onto a fully enclosed garden - excellent for pets (and young children!!). We had a very warm welcome from friendly and helpful staff and eat in the restaurant. Food was well above average for similar hotels and was evidenced by a thriving local trade - book early. In spite of the hotel fronting the road we had an excellent night's sleep. The garden Leeds straight out to a footpath which then leads onto the open Common which is perhaps no more than 300 yards away. Do not be put off by the slightly shabby exterior ( which is expecting a facelift) as this is an excellent value friendly stop over.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very friendly staff made us instantly feel welcome. Our room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated enjoying the most stunning views over the valley. We loved our walk around Amberley village and the National Trust owned Minchinhampton Common a stone's throw away. Nice friendly atmosphere in the bar, great food in the restaurant with a very nice selection of wines. We enjoyed a delightful bottle of Pomerol at a very good value, then slept like logs and enjoyed a full on English Breakfast cooked to perfection. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrusselsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Was looking forward to a couple of days rest in the countryside but left after the first night after feeling more exausted than when arrived. The bed is a very cheap noisy uncomfortable frame and the breakfast consisted of water covered poached eggs, beans I nearly threw up and very cheap weak coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladstn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
The Amberley Inn's policy is to actively encourage guest comments and feedback as we constantly seek to improve the overall experience. Information in every room requests any problems are brought to our immediate attention, so we may rectify or resolve the issue. Manageemnt and staff seek feedback from guests on a daily basis.

The views from the front rooms are fantastic, cows stroll past (as they have free roaming around here) and traffic noise is occasional - A winding country road with a 40mph speed limit, further limited by the afore mentioned cows who frequently bring traffic to a standstill.

Our breakfasts are constantly commented on for quality and choice. (See most other reviews) We use only Heinz baked beans, freshly ground coffee in caftieres on each table and if it is possible to poach an egg in anything other than hot water our chef would be delighted to hear.

We are disappointed that this person has written this response. We have tried albeit unsuccessfully to trace a booking in the last month when a customer has left a night early. The only occasion were guests from Warwickshire who left apologetically due to the terrible weather that weekend and were delighted when they were not charged the second night - a discretionary discount applied by the owner for guests who were looking forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swift33
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed one night whilst driving to Cornwall, we had a choice from three rooms and chose one with a bath. Couldnt fault the room, apart from some hooks needed in bath room and no mirror in bedroom . Our host was very pleasant, lovely small garden. We ate in the restaurant - Menu had a good choice. Bar friendly. Amberley is a lovely. village beautiful views surrounding the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

stayed for 1 night and booked a premium room ,not as good as anticipated
room smallish ,compact bathroom poor shower .small holes in wall (something had been removed ),dust behind pipes, peeling paintwork,mould above shower cubicle on the ceiling
room on road so noisy with traffic at 7 am .bed comfortable,nice toiletries.
Breakfast not remarkable we expected more choice on the buffet .

Room Tip: don't accept room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
23.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Property: The Amberley Inn
Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing