We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm Cotwold welcome and service”
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I visited The Amberley Inn near Stroud in mid June with a group of friends. We planned to do a bit of waling in the surrounding Cotswold area.

The manager / owner of the inn gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel right at home!

The room my girlfriend and I had was in the 2nd building, an old cottage. It had lots of character although the ceilings were a bit low, floors a bit creaky (we could here fellow guests in their rooms) and the bed a bit small to what I'm personally used to.

We ended up eating both days we were there, dinner on the first evening was great and Sunday lunch the following day was also just what the doctor ordered but the breakfast was outstanding! My only minor (and I mean minor!) gripe was the lack of cutlery on each occasion as the food turned up, it became a bit of a standing joke ;-)

The owner and staff were very helpful with other things such as directions and places to check out on our treks.

Overall a very nice weekend, many thanks!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building, may cost more but our friends got one and they were very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveroseknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 295 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this Inn in June 2012 for three nights. We paid extra for a deluxe room and it was well worth the small extra cost. Our room overlooked the road and the hills in the area with a lovely view. The room was on the first floor and very spacious with nice onsuite bathroom. I heard other guests who were not as impressed with cheaper rooms out the back of the main building but ours inside was great. Breakfast was just great, included in our rate and had hot cooked options as well as cold. We also ate in the hotel two of three nights and the food was excellent and prices reasonable. My only negative comment would be that the wait staff for both breakfast and dining room probably needed some training, they were a bit disorganised, forgot things and needed to be reminded several times, however they were always friendly and helpful and tried hard. I would definitely stay there again as despite everything not being perfect it certainly was value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building seem to be superior, I believe they are known as the deluxe rooms, I cant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and what a lovely experience! Very welcoming and helpful staff. Our accommodation (at the back of the main building) was charming, clean and homely. We had dinner on the first night which was fairly priced, generous and tasty...and don't get us started on the breakfast! Overall we would highly recommend the Amberley for those who enjoy a chilled out environment with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. One warning...cows in road:) Thanks again Trevor - you should be very proud of yourself and your staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410KimA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location but really badly run. If you needed help at reception, there was the invisible man. A drink at the bar? he was there again. Ordered food? you guessed, he was invisible again. Drastically understaffed throughout. We ordered a bar meal but it took an hour and a half although the hotel wasn't busy. To give them some credit we received a free bottle of wine and the food wasn't charged for. Our premier double room was overlooking a busy main road (not evident on the website photos) and was very small with a tiny and mouldy bathroom with no fan and the window welded shut. Could be great with the right management but needs some investment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at The Amberely Inn on the 9th of June as a last minute booking with laterooms. We got what we felt was a briliant deal in comparison with what else was on offer but our priority was the location as we were visiting the area for a wedding reception.

We knew that Amberly looked beautiful from the outside from the online photos but we couldnt quite believe how lucky we were once we arrived. Amberley is as gorgeous on the inside as it is on the out. We loved the mix of traditional features combined with local art and photography hung all around the hotel. Our room was fabulous but the views get the big mention - stunning! - highly reccomend booking a room that looks out over the front of the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent - choice of cereals and juices to help yourself to - absolutely loved the mint infused fruit salad! followed by a selection of hot dishes to choose from a menu set on the table. We both had a full English and it was perfectly cooked - delicious.

We had a warm welcome and a pleasant send off - staff were very friendly and happy to answer all questions - taxi info, local eateries etc. Highly reccomend staying at Amberley and have already raved about it to friends and family as a top place to stay if visiting The Cotswolds.

Thanks very much for having us - hope to see you again Amberley Inn!

Hannah Hilton & Alex Smith

Room Tip: choose a room at the front of the hotel that looks over the beautiful rolling cotswold hills.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Needed a place to stay for one night and at short notice, needed to arrive out of hours. Called to let them know and was delighted with the friendly, flexible hospitality. From that point, we knew we were going to have a very pleasant stay. Lovely, quaint, old fashioned rooms with lovely big bathroom suites.

Beautiful setting in the heart of the Cotswolds. Impressed with the local traffic calming measures. We have policmen with speed guns in our home county of Norfolk, but here they rely on cattle patrolling the highway, but we have to say, both cow and car co-exist harmoniasly.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just had a lovely stay at this quaint inn near Stroud, Gloucestershire.
The english breakfast hit the spot with lovely locally sourced sausages.
Room great with nice views. Staff were very helpful and accommodating of our needs for the children. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
695 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#5 of 34 in Stroud
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing