We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super View”
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super View”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We booked to stay here for our first Cotswolds experience for a 2 day break starting 13/04/12. Unfortunately due to illness we had to return home after 1 night.
The Inn is well situated with commanding views of the valley. In the interior they are in the process of updating and still keeping the original features.
We had booked a premier room and paid extra, it was directly above the bar and the front garden/smokers hangout which I did not expect and certainly noticed becoming ill during the night! On our arrival reception was unmanned and no apparent way of contacting anyone until I ventured into the bar. They were then helpful.
Not quite perfect yet!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winifredholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    84
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
155
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel was very well situated on a hill with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the lady juggled breakfast orders with managing reception very well. Our room was a good size with a king size bed which was very comfortable. We had a bath with a shower over it. The bath was great but we found the shower difficult to get a constant good temperature, for which there was a warning in the room about water pressure/temperature. Our room had lovely old stone windows and old furniture. We had a jar of mints in our room which was a nice touch.

The hotel has some charm, being like an old inn in style. A pub is included in the hotel which had open fires and wood pannelling and made a good choice for dinner. The food was good, the chips although beautifully cooked were far too salty for me and my partner. I recommend the amberley nut roast with wild mushroom sauce which was lovely. The puddings were a little on the small side, although equally delicious.

Breakfast was cooked to order and of excellent quality and quantity. Local yogurts and jams featured, although no fruit. We also thought the display of local artists work a nice feature.

We had a very comfortable stay, were made to feel very welcome and would stay again if in the area. The owners are also carrying out further improvements to the rooms as carpet was being laid in the room next to ours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a view are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a beautifully located B&B that is definitely worth a visit. Try to get one of the front-facing rooms looking out over the valley and book in for at least two days to take advantage of everything on offer. There are walks you can do straight from the front door. A spectacular golf course to the left that leads onto the common which itself goes on forever.... You can book in for a massage or facial while hubby tees off and then meet up later in the cosy bar to mingle with the locals and enjoy the pub grub.The hosts really know what's important if you're going for a few days of peace and quiet - wine and drinks selection is superb and everything is honestly priced. Other twee villages are but a short drive away so there's no chance of getting bored. Wifi throughout means you never lose touch with the outside world - unless you want to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Spent two very relaxing days staying at The Amberley Inn. Greeted by a very friendly reception on arrival, nothing was too much trouble, the service from all the staff was lovely.

We would normally eat once at the hotel and probably find somewhere else for the next day, but as the menu choice and quality of the food was so good from the first night we ate their again on the second. On checking out the following morning we were suprised after two nights stay, all our meals, coffee and drinks for two day how resonable the total bill was.

Say perfection in progress as much work to refit rooms and toilets is going on, so will be looking forward to coming and staying again in a few months time to see it finished.

Monday nights is a really good night with the locals as they run a Quiz Night which is nice to see very well attended and had a fun relaxed atmosphere.

Peggy is lovely...!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul_20www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at The Amberley Inn and we will definitely go back again in the future. The rooms we stayed in were lovely, light and airy and very comfortable. The bar area had a lovely atmosphere and the breakfast was delicious. It is obviously a work in progress at the moment but every effort is made to make the guest welcome and comfortable - we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 11 and 2 - both were lovely although room 2 was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Very friendly staff and good service. Lovely food and relaxed atmosphere. Decor in need of some refresment but new management has this in hand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

i found this inn not so much dog friendly,but more 'dog tolerant'. There was no cold running water in the room i stayed in and the 'double' room was barely big enough for myself,let alone my four-legged friend too. Also the 'housekeeping' didn't turn up for two days running, leaving dirty dishes and towels unkempt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Many hotels do not accept pets because of the potential for damage and fouling of the bedrooms. We do not blame the animal and will continue to welcome pets and responsible, reasonable owners who respect the hotel, its furnishings and staff despite the expense of this experience.

Our housekeepers do not service rooms while guest are in the rooms and especially when they have dogs with them (as a matter of safety). It is unusual for guests to stay in the room all day, denying housekeeping the oppertunity to service the room, only opening the door to accept another tray from room-service.

We ask guests to let us know immediatley of any problems so we may resolve things quickly and the majority of people are reasonable and recognise that things do break and need attention from time-to-time. Even on departure this guest did not inform us of any problems or that for three days there was no cold water in her bathroom!

We hope that readers will appreciate reviews are not always entirely reflective of the service and hospitality offered, but motivated by other reasons that professionalism dictates remain private. Please also read the other reviews to formulate a balanced opinion of The Amberley Inn.

Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
669 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
1.2 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Property: The Amberley Inn
Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing