We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated”
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

i found this inn not so much dog friendly,but more 'dog tolerant'. There was no cold running water in the room i stayed in and the 'double' room was barely big enough for myself,let alone my four-legged friend too. Also the 'housekeeping' didn't turn up for two days running, leaving dirty dishes and towels unkempt.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Many hotels do not accept pets because of the potential for damage and fouling of the bedrooms. We do not blame the animal and will continue to welcome pets and responsible, reasonable owners who respect the hotel, its furnishings and staff despite the expense of this experience.

Our housekeepers do not service rooms while guest are in the rooms and especially when they have dogs with them (as a matter of safety). It is unusual for guests to stay in the room all day, denying housekeeping the oppertunity to service the room, only opening the door to accept another tray from room-service.

We ask guests to let us know immediatley of any problems so we may resolve things quickly and the majority of people are reasonable and recognise that things do break and need attention from time-to-time. Even on departure this guest did not inform us of any problems or that for three days there was no cold water in her bathroom!

We hope that readers will appreciate reviews are not always entirely reflective of the service and hospitality offered, but motivated by other reasons that professionalism dictates remain private. Please also read the other reviews to formulate a balanced opinion of The Amberley Inn.

Thank-you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Amberley Inn offers a very warm and friendly experience from the first moment that you arrive. Set in the rolling hills of the Cotswolds It offers any visitors stunning views and also a close proximity to the local village where It is literally a pleasure to walk with unbelievable panoramic views of the surrounding area.

The hotel experience was equally as impressive where upon arrival you are made to feel welcome, comfortable and the staff convey an impression that they are more than happy to help with anything. The rooms are beautiful with a choice of rooms in the main hotel or the cottage annex , they are immaculately presented and very very comfortable.

We also had our evening meal in the hotel which was truly wonderful, the quality of food is the best that I have experienced after many weekends away around the country, again the service was impeccable , combine this with the beautiful lounge area which has a stunning open fire It was a very special evening. Breakfast was also of the same high standard.

In summary I would recommend the The Amberley Inn to anyone who wishes for a break in a stunning part of the world , fantastic accommodation and first class food, It really does tick every box and we will be visiting again (multiple times) over the months and years to come.

In a word "Outstanding"

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed on a cold frosty weekend - inside the inn was warm and comfortable, owners and staff helpful and pleasant. We were offered help with our bags on arrival and departure. The bathroom and bedroom scrupulously clean and there was plenty of hot water. As we have a dog, we ate in the lounge bar by a big log fire. Both the bar and restaurant menu was available giving a selection of good food, wine and beer. If you are a dog owner with a preference for easy walking the Amberley in is ideally situated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent a week-end here and had a most enjoyable time. Wondeful views from the bedroom, good food, friendly staff and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Enjoyed a great weekend at the Amberley Inn. A warm stone building in a lovely location at the edge of the common, with stunning views over the countyside. Large wood fires in the lounges - great for sitting by with a pot of tea. There is a good choice of wines and beers, and the evening meals were excellent, if a bit short of pudding selection - although the local Cotswold ice-creams were wonderful. Cotswold preserves were served at breakfast too, a nice touch supporting local businesses. The bedroom was large and airy, with comfy easy chairs, and with spotless towels and bedding. Some rooms are in a cottage behind the hotel, but we didn't see those. The owners were friendly and accessible and excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in September so not sure if there 'new owners' referred to in the other reviews are the ones we had or not. Also, not sure if the owners where out of town and had left the kids in charge. The room was fine and we were pleased to find that the accommodation is actually in a seperate building behind the hotel. When we arrived the young boy who helped us explained that the stove had broken down so dinner wouldn't be served that night - no biggy - we just went to another pub. The breakfast was interesting though and this is where I'm not sure if there was an experienced adult around or not? Food wasn't out to help yourself to - ordered fruit and yoghurt and was given a plate with half an unpeeled orange and a huge slab of watermelon. Fancied croissants - they were burnt on the outside and uncooked in the middle - stove had been fixed though? Ended up not eating brekky - we were able to laugh though 'cause it was only one night out of many wonderful ones we had had elsewhere. One of those you put down as as experience. The young guys were trying but obviously needed some guidance! Lovely location - the field above the hotel is huge and there is a golf course with horses grazing on it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyBednarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley1, Owner at The Amberley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay in September 2011.
For your information and that of other readers the hotel came under new ownership on the 12th October 2011. Since then we have been refurbishing areas of the hotel making general improvements across the board, which are reflected in comments left since.
We hope in your next visit to the UK you are able to come back and see the changes we have made, as well as having a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Amberley Inn is both a great hotel and a great pub - a place to both relax and have fun. The staff are really friendly and helpful and Jane and Trevor, the owners, are very welcoming and great hosts. The hotel is in a beautiful location and the view from my bedroom was stunning.I loved the little snug for relaxing and reading the paper in front of the fire - I could have stayed in there all day. The food was lovely and I especially recommend the poached eggs! I'll definatley be making the effort to go back there soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#5 of 34 in Stroud
286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Frocester George
The Frocester George
#1 of 1 in Frocester
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range: $99 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing