We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its expensive just to try it.”
Review of Fabro

Fabro
Ranked #16 of 35 Restaurants in Murter
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

If you know exactly what kind of fish you want to eat and of course then you know the value of it just in this case choose this place.Im not telling you it was not good, it was special, but to expensive for a trial.
After that its an expensive place I dont understand why do they let you pay for the bread and if they ask for tip's why do they let you pay for couvert.
The soup and the fish was special!Waiters are helpfull but they know exactly how to sell the dish.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank ViktorK1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I had dinner in Fabro recently. Food adequate, service not so good, price was stellar!! The waiter suggested us some seafood as appetizer and a couple of fishes with potatoes as main course. A friend of ours wanted squids but the waiter suggested shrimps (without specifying they were 4 times more expensive). Housewine was mediocre. Sorbetto offered by the house, finally we ordered some coffees and digestives. At the end the bill was astonishing, according to which, seafood and fishes weighted like gold. Potatoes served with the fish have been very well priced separately in the bill. The waiter suggested 10-15% tip (on top of the service already billed), justifying this to be a normal practice in Croatia. After intense, inconclusive, discussion, we paid several thousands kunas: for our complaints, the waiter offered us something to drink, but we were too pissed off to accept.

Date of visit: August 2018
5  Thank V5342SHalessandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by the restaurant pier with our boat. Based on previous experiences in other Croatian restaurants by the harbour, we expected the total cost to include water and electricity for the boat. Once we arrived, our waiter proposed house wine, a mixed entrée (raw and cooked fish) and some baked fish with vegetables as the main course for the whole table. Again, based on previous experiences, we thought this would have been a good deal. We explicitly asked how much fish we should have ordered for six people and they recommended such a quantity. So, the dinner went as follows: the mixed entrée was pretty good but with some clearly expensive, never specified in the initial offer and never ordered, dishes (such as 4 oysters and some truffle). The fish was clearly average but they insisted it was amazingly good. According to the waiter, the main course included the incredible quantity of 5,5 kilos of fish (for 6 people), which we were obviously unable to finish. We ended up in being asked to pay about 100 euros per person + tip. The day before we had a similar dinner, with an appropriate amount of food, for half of this price. We were a bit shocked (most expensive meal of the entire trip) but considered that (at least) this included the price for electricity and water for the boat. Unfortunately, this turned out to be a quite wrong assumption: 30 seconds after asking for the tip, a different waiter approached us in order to ask us to pay for electricity and water. A friend of mine complained about the lack of transparency and the general (average) quality of the food. They basically replied that we were free to write a bad review..

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We went here twice. First time we orderd a cheaper lunch. It was good, espesially with the perfect view on the pier in the harbour. Next time we came for dinner. The place was still beautiful, but we got totally fooled by the fishplate they recommended. It was extreamly expensive, like tentimes everythingelse on the meny, and awfully overcooked, totally dry and spoiled. If you want to eat dry fish ask for the total exact price you will pay in advance!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 740bellab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

My visit to this restaurant prompts me to write my very first review here. Unfortunately, this was truly the worst ever and anywhere (and I travel a lot and to many countries). The food was tasteless, both the starter (seafood soup) and the main (fish). The fish we got was not fresh, (although the manager claimed otherwise, but even if he had been right it doesn't change much,) it was dry and with no taste, and carelessly presented. The service was absolutely terrible, we couldn't believe it. Ok, perhaps we were unlucky with the waiter, but the whole management was anything but good. After it was noticed that we were not happy, the manager or owner came with an attitude to argue, not to ask our opinion. Not recommended at all!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Than_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabro also viewed

Murter, Murter Island
Murter, Murter Island
 
Murter, Murter Island
Murter, Murter Island
 

Been to Fabro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing