We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay near Hvar”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay near Hvar”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

One of the highlights of our recent trip to Croatia was our stay at Hotel Fortuna near Hvar. Refreshingly removed from the hustle-bustle of tourist intensive Hvar, the hotel is close enough to Hvar town for visits but removed enough to sit in its own quiet, spectacular environment. The family that runs the hotel is delightful, attentive and helpful. Our room was immaculately clean, modern, comfortable (and had a fantastic shower!) The family run restaurant on the premises is excellent, with a variety of fresh, well prepared and attentively served dishes. The only suggestion we have for improvement is the breakfast, which was adequate, but not good and the coffee was poor. A hotel run with this care and warmth deserves better coffee. Would recommend Hotel Fortuna enthusiastically.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
131
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights with half board. The family who owns this hotel couldn't have been any more lovely. They picked us up at the ferry for no charge, drove us to the hotel in Milna, settled us in and left us to our vacation. They weren't intrusive but they were helpful for anything you might need. The hotel is right on the beach and my kids (10 and 12) loved it as did my husband and I. The food was fantastic and the hiking around the island was super. It was perfectly relaxing and far enough away from Hvar so that we could do just that - relax....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenjocel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

A very nice hotel in a cosy town just 5 km outsider of Hvar town. The hotel is very very clean. We actually stayed in two different rooms during our stay. One of the rooms was nice while the other one was very, very nice but also substantially more expensive. The family who run the hotel is genuinely warm, and you really get the feeling that they care for you. You feel like a guest rather than a customer. The breakfast is nice but the coffee is undrinkable. We had to order espresso and latte. The restaurant is excellent. We tried a couple of other restaurants but Fortunate is together with Lambik the best. Much better and cheaper than the restaurants in Hvar town.
The hotel is a good hotel but not a luxury hotel. They compensate by being so friendly. This is why a give it 5 out of five points.
Thank you all at hotel Fortuna <3

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Let's just say it up front: this hotel is great for a secluded beach vacation, but not if you come to Hvar for the nightlife, dining, etc. It is about five miles outside of town and while they are always happy to drive you into town or pick you up ($8 each way), the distance is an extra obstacle. That said, the people who run it are absolutely wonderful, the views are nice and the restaurant is quite decent. If you want a quiet getaway with sun and ... well, not sand; there is no sand in Hvar, where the beaches are all pebbled ... this is a fine choice.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

First of all, my wife and I were very disappointed with the Island of Hvar, Croatia. It was over-rated and we found ourselves leaving as soon as we traveled around the whole Island. As we had dinner along the waterfront, we had decided that we wanted to stay in Milna before heading back to the mainland peninsula town of Orebic', that's when the disappointment started. We ended up at the Hotels restaurant for some tzaziki and bread, at that point experiencing an attitude from a very young wait staff when a group of 8 came into eat, and she had a slight fit that she had to re-arrange tables to accommodate them. After our bread and, we just wanted to get a room to get some sleep, as it was already 8pm and we needed to still drive another 1.5 hours to the ferry. We happened to get the same girl with an attitude to help us at the hotel counter- she was annoyed that we wanted to see the room, then was pushing us to not get a receipt to save us 2 euro on a room that we were already paying to much for even though she says that we were getting it for 50% off of their "list" price which was posted on the wall. Everybody who travels knows that this is not the real prices that hotels use. I tried to explain to her that it was late and she probably won't rent it tonight, and nicely asked for a better price, and besides she would not have to pay the tax if we paid cash with no receipt as she insisted, yet she insisted that it would be rented even though it was already 8pm, come to find out, her father was the owner, he wanted to let us stay, we agreed to pay, then out of the blue she started going on about us arguing with her (which we did not at all) she stomped away leaving us at the counter, and at that point we smartly agreed to just leave and find other accommodations for half the price- leaving the spoiled little girl with an empty room for the night. What a spoiled little brat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeaSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were picked up in Hvar town and it is only a short drive to get there. We were given a view with balcony and stunning view. The punctual staff will drive you to/from town anytime, even when we had to take the 6:30 ferry out of the island! They have a restaurant that is a must (and we are foodies). Being our first time, we would have loved to have seen other places in the island, but the public bus rarely stops here as it was packed full when it arrived, so I would recommend going into town if you intend to catch it. Breakfast is decent and included.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony/view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sport5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 7 staying in Milna for 5 nights at Fortuna and it is an ideal hotel for families run by the lovely Tudour family. All members of the host family work hard at aming your stay as enjoyable as it could be.The rooms were very spacious and those at front have a great view over Milna beach. The location right on the beach is also a huge plus and although the beach is stony, you soon adjust to that and enjoy the rustic setting away from the busier beaches at Hvar town. When we did want to venture into Hvar, the hotel always drove us in and picked us up for a fraction of cost of local taxis. We also had lunch and dinner for a good few of our 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed the local cuisine with a special mention for the seafood risotto (kids who aren't that adventurous eaters like some of ours will devour the pizzas!). So all in all a super spot for a stay in Hvar.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milna
2.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
2.7 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
251 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: Milna 27, Milna, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Milna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortuna 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fortuna Hvar Island/Milna, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing