We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to have A relaxing holiday!”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milna
Certificate of Excellence
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to have A relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our best holiday ever! The hotel is a few meters away from the beach, it is very clean and modern! Hotel Fortuna is run by the Tudor family, and they do not know the best they can do for you! The breakfasts are just fantastic, the restaurantfood are specialities from the area, very well prepared and delicious, they serve their own wine, oliveoil, olives and vinegar, everything is fantastic! We will definitely come back, and are already looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: All Romsdal are quiet and nice, but room the room om the third floor in the front have a fantastic v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mas190486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
119
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel run by a wonderful family. Milna is a few kms from Hvar, on the sea just off the main road. The town has a number of good restaurants and a few places to stay. The room was a good size and the bathroom was modern and clean. We had a small terrace that overlooked the sea. Getting into town was quick - we were there early enough in the season that finding a spot in the main parking lot of Hvar was no problem. Not sure if the same would be true in high season. Price/performance is quite high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is just 4km from Hvar, this means you can enjoy the facilities and pubs in Hvat Town and came back to stay in a relly peaceful place with astoshining view!
The breakfeast are served just in front of the beach.
They have a restaurant with really good prices and best spaguethi ao sugo that I ever had!
Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlaffitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marino T, Manager at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing our family hotel l for your holiday. It was our pleasure to be your hosts!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived off the car ferry from Split, and soon found the hotel off a quiet side road a few kilometres from Hvar town.

It's located right on the pebbly beach in small, local village of Milna, and the whole setting is amazing. Our room was clean, nicely air-conditioned and had free wifi.

The village hasn't seen any western commercialisation, and consists of an amazingly pretty winding coastal street with a few Croatian restaurants dotted along it. One of them, in particular, had amazing barbequed food and tables laid out on the rocks overlooking the sea. We can't remember the name, but look out for it! The hotel's own restaurant is also very tasty, well priced, and has a nice terrace overlooking the beach. The breakfast is also served there, and it's a great setting.

The beach is rocky, and you have to hire sunbeds from the local chap for a nominal fee per day if you want to lounge around, but the sea is warm and inviting once you've stumbled in over the pebbles.

Would definitely recommend if you want to see real, authentic Croatia.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank zippymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in September 2012 at this wonderful, family owned hotel located in Milne, a very short distance from Hvar City (3 km). We had a rental car that enabled us to make the drive to Hvar City, sometimes twice per day. Good parking lot availability in Hvar City made for easy access to all of the activities in Hvar City.

The Hotel Fortuna is new, quiet, very clean, and the breakfast service of exceptional quality (made to order egg dishes, rolls, juices, etc.). Strong suggestion that future guests reserve at least one evening for dinner at the hotel. Delicious, fresh seafood with a highlight being the home made wine and olive oil with grapes from the family vineyards and olives from the family olive trees located on the island. We purchased two bottle of the olive oil to take with us upon departure. The family owners are very helpful in suggesting places to visit.

Room Tip: Request a room with a water view - hotel is located on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trlock60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. This family run business makes you feel so welcome and they cannot do enough for you, breakfast is amazing and so much of it, they just want to keep bringing you more food. Maggie and her husband are lovely people and cannot do enough for you. We had a beautiful room up the top with a balcony overlooking the beach. Perfect. There are lots of walks to beautiful little beaches, so if you are looking for a bit slower pace than Hvar town then this is the place to stay and its only a 5 minute drive away. Thanks to Maggie and her family we had a wonderful stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RickG1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I am director of a travel agency in Brazil and I really know how important is a good service.
Despite the Hotel Fortuna has : comfortable rooms, shuttle to Hvar center all day (charged but ,not expensive ) an excellent breakfast served in a balcony overlooking the sea and be located in the charming beach Milna; the better is the excellent care of Magda and her husband to spare no effort to please their guests.
Me and my friends loved the 4 days we were guests at Hotel Fortuna on September
We will definitely come back ! Thanks Magda and family !

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turistabrasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milna
2.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: Milna 27, Milna, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Milna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortuna 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fortuna Hvar Island/Milna, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing