We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe”
Review of Narrow Bean Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Narrow Bean Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, International
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Quiet spot for nice relaxing lunch. A bit pricey for a cafe but still enjoyable.
Would be better with a view but Im just being picky

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lowndesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service! ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Returned a 2nd time hoping there service will be redeemed as the pancakes on the first visit were amazing. 2nd and last visit ever! Ordered an iced mocha received a warm milky drink with a shot of coffee. After embarrassingly suggesting I may have been given the wrong drink the waitress returned from the kitchen to say I was wrong that this is indeed an Italian iced mocha- an Italian friend who was at breakfast had assured me this was untrue. We waited over half an hour To revive all 4 meals long moments apart with the first 2 out of 4 of us having finished their breakfast before the last two had arrived. Not a nice way to catch up with friends on a Sunday morning. To top it off the pancakes my partner ordered hoping they would be great we're horribly drenched in maple syrup and were half the size of the ones we had on a previous visit. The waitress that served us was abrupt not friendly, no smile and was very cold. A horrible place to be starting a beautiful day ! Never Again !

Helpful?
Thank Leva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Bad service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ordered our meals, after waiting for 20 mins we followed up and they had lost our order, they then brought out a drink that we didn't order, the chicken caesar salad then turned up with absolutely no chicken in it so that had to be taken back for chicken to be added. 35 minutes later we got the right drink after telling the waitress 3 times what flavour we asked for.
Very poor service and average meals, we will never go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdw4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food; great staff”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. The food was everything you would expect when looking for a good meal but the manager made the difference. She was there on her own, served every customer, cooked all the meals and made time to talk to all customers, some of whom were obviously regulars but some like us who were not. Nothing was too much trouble & all was done with a smile. The owners need to be sure to look after her as she is an absolute asset to the business. (We visited on a weekday for a late breakfast/early lunch.)

Helpful?
Thank Krsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service and poor quality food for breakfast.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

As mentioned by another reviewer - very poor customer service (we waited about 10 minutes and when no menu arrived we went and found a menu on the wall so we could order - but them a waitress brought the menus to our table). She was quite unfriendly whenever she came to our table despite our efforts to be nice to her.
The muesli with fruit and yoghurt was really basis - the fruit being a couple of slices of banana, a couple of segments of mandarin and pineapple. We couldn't wait to leave - much better atmosphere Driftwood or Vespa up the road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narrow Bean Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing