We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and poor quality food for breakfast.”
Review of Narrow Bean Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Narrow Bean Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad service and poor quality food for breakfast.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

As mentioned by another reviewer - very poor customer service (we waited about 10 minutes and when no menu arrived we went and found a menu on the wall so we could order - but them a waitress brought the menus to our table). She was quite unfriendly whenever she came to our table despite our efforts to be nice to her.
The muesli with fruit and yoghurt was really basis - the fruit being a couple of slices of banana, a couple of segments of mandarin and pineapple. We couldn't wait to leave - much better atmosphere Driftwood or Vespa up the road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a taste of Europe at the beach”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

what a great little find!. This modern looking little place has great service with a Austrian/Australian menu - the food is generous & tasty

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rexwoellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Don't Bother!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This morning we decided to try the Narrowbean Cafe for breakfast as we had a voucher we had purchased, we were seated and then waited over 10minutes for a menu which did not arrive so we go one from inside ourselves. We waited another 15minutes for our order to be taken, my fiance ordered the big breakfast and I the pancake stack with berries and ice cream, we also ordered 2 coffees. Our breakfast's arrived 20minutes later with no coffee, I realised half way through my breakfast that my pancakes were dry, this was because they had forgotton to put the berries on top. Still no coffees by the time we had finished eating, we were ready to leave and the waitress brought over a mug of hot chocolate (obviously for the wrong table). At this point we decided to leave. Service was terrible, poor apology for the un-timely manner of service or incorrect food/drink arriving. Would NOT return and would NOT recommend to anyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“eat here it is wonderful”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had breakfast, it was amazing, would thoroughly recommend, will return but want to do lunch or dinner as the menu looks fantastic

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narrow Bean Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing