We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveler rating
384
380
117
41
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
384
380
117
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location northern beaches across the road the pub down stairs cafes and restaurants good size saturday night would stay again free parking great room road noise palm beach a great stay room was spacious pittwater road staff were very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 939 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the positives.
The cafe across the road sells awesome coffee.
The room was clean.

Now the rest of our stay.

Care factor of staff at reception? Zero.

Got back from dinner and parked in the underground car park. Tried to get the lift up to our floor. It it wouldn't work. I call reception and the man says "it's not working - that happens all the time so you will have to use the stairs". Um....ok. If they knew that then it wouldn't be too hard to put a sign that says "out of order"! Also - it's usually polite to apologise when your guests are not getting a service that is pretty much expected in what is advertised as a "4 star" property.

So we trudge up the stairs to our room and get to listen to the people above us moving furniture for about 2 hours. Seriously - what can they be doing up there??

We settle in for the night and find ourselves snapped out of sleep at around 8am (on a Sunday morning) to an alarm that is accompanied by a voice over saying "evacuate immediately". We are thrashing around trying to throw clothes on and grab our things (for what seems like an eternity with a hangover and all) when the announcement stops.

No announcement follows - so we are unsure what the hell we are meant to be doing......so we still need to leave? Is there still an emergency? What do we do?

No one knows what we should be doing and people who are calling reception can't get through.

Finally - just as we are about to run screaming down the stairs - another person who is staying there comes back up from reception and tells us it was a false alarm. Great! One would expect that to be an announcement by the staff? Or is that too much to expect in a "4 star" place?

Upon check out (we decided to leave since there was to be no sleep in after experiencing an awakening that resembled a panic attack) I asked the lady at reception if it was common place to have no announcement after such a serious event. Her response? It was up to the fire brigade. So I pressed her to find out if they had the capacity to make a facility wide announcement - and again she blamed the fire brigade - so I asked her AGAIN - "is there the facilities to make a facility wide announcement?". She said yes - but staff are not trained!

So - we were charged the full price for the room - without the use of the lift (which was still out of order as we left) - with a terrifying awakening AND WITH NO APOLOGY FROM THE STAFF AT ALL.

So - do not be fooled by the "4 star" rating. Do not stay at this facility. Do not pass go because you sure as hell won't get your $200 worth. Yes. $200 for one night of crap.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback online in addition to the feedback already provided to me personally upon departure. As discussed, we have 2 x lifts at the hotel. One is for guests going to the bistro, bar, gaming & TAB level of the hotel and the other is for hotel guests. The lift you are referring to that was out of order was the lift to the above facilities. The lift to our hotel rooms requires your room key to be used at all times from the car park for security reasons. Furthermore, although it was beyond our control, we again apologise for the fire alarm being activated by another guest and any inconvenience caused. As outlined, for safety reasons we are automatically connected to the local fire brigade and the hotel goes into automatic evacuation mode with the voice overs to evacuate. Once the fire brigade had attended the scene and confirmed it was a false alarm they deactivated the alarms and everyone was advised they could safely return back to their rooms. Once again although it was beyond our control, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

I really wanted to write a good review. I really did. The room was great and the location was great but a very loud band started playing at 9.00pm and that was the end of it. We had an ocean view room and were offered a room on the other side. But we actually travelled there for our 35th wedding anniversary for the ocean view. I'm not sure the staff understood that. We had to check out. Never did that before and I'm surprised that we weren't offered a discount return trip at another time. It was really too bad. We had to wait hours before we could actually drive home (we had been celebrating our anniversary after all). Couldn't find anywhere to do a breath test - even the police station wouldn't! Finally got to bed at 1.00am. At home.

Room Tip: Check if there's a band playing before you book.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank streblig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback online in addition to the feedback already provided to me personally when liaising with me on Monday night. As outlined, we normally only have live entertainment on Friday & Saturday nights. However being the Anzac public holiday the following day, there was additional entertainment scheduled which you may have seen advertised when booking your stay with us via our website. Although all of our rooms are double glazed, and sound is rarely an issue, I understand all guests have differing needs, and did offer to relocate you to another room on the other side of the hotel. As this offer wasn't acceptable to you, you decided to leave. Due to the inconvenience caused, we also discussed that I had waived the cost of the accommodation, and you only paid for the dinner & beverage charges incurred. Hence why no discount was offered on a future stay, as you received 100% discount on this stay. Should you return to Narrabeen in the future and wish to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to liaise with me personally so that I am able to take care of all of the arrangements for you.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Very Nice Hotel to stay at. Good pub food.
Excellent friendly staff, Next to Beach,
20 mins from Manly, just jump on a Ferry to Sydney (approx 25min by boat) great Views of Sydney on the boat. 5 Stars

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank neal843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear you had a great stay with us, enjoyed meals in our bistro & found our team to be excellent & friendly. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

I had a room with a sea view. Excellent. Plenty of space, great view. Obviously a bit more than the other side of the hotel but who wants to look at the traffic. The only negative was they charged me $20 for an early book in - 12 noon

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, along with the spectacular view over Narrabeen Beach from our Ocean Suites.

Please note our check in time is from 2pm onwards and our check out time is prior to 10am. Therefore, the small surcharge that was advised to you for the early check in is for additional room attendants to ensure your room is ready as our team have a smaller window of ensuring all rooms are cleaned by the specified check in time.

Thank you again, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We stayed in a beautiful ocean view room which was clean and modern. The bedding was fresh and clean. The room was decked out with a flat screen tv. A generous size fridge and complementary teas and coffee. Polite and friendly staff and to top it all off the hotel is just metres from the beach!! Loved it. ❤️

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicholeteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoyed the amazing views over Narrabeen Beach from our Ocean Suites and found our team to be polite & friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews