We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms great place the worst reception staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narrabeen
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great rooms great place the worst reception staff ever”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great perfectly clean rooms great position reception staff terrible on checking out there was no how was your stay just you owe us $20 for early checkin the reception chick checked and it showed we did not check in early but still wanted us to pay what!!!! This was because we had inquired about early check in when making booking was told $10 per hour which is just crazy as if the room is ready then it's ready so we declined the $10 per hour charge and checked in at the normal time still had to wait a few hours to get a call saying good news the $20 charge was taken off no sorry no nothing we didn't check in early so no luck was involved poor management untrained backpacker staff big let down to a great place

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1aussienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to hear that you found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable and our location suitable for your needs. It is however extremely surprising to hear that you found our "Reception chick to be terrible" as it is evident from all of our past reviews that we only receive feedback on how friendly and helpful our Reception Team is.

With regards to the early check in fee, as this was accepted at time of booking, a 12pm arrival was noted on your reservation and hence why the $20 fee applied. We liaise closely with our Housekeeping Team and ensure that all guests who have paid for an earlier check in have their room cleaned by their requested time. Unfortunately as you decided to not check in at 12pm and didn't notify us to cancel your early check in request, we were not aware and had your room ready for your nominated 12pm check in time, and hence why the $20 fee was owing on your account. Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on +61 2 9970 8578.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    237
    75
    30
    9
See reviews for
149
186
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly, other reviews have commented on reception. I found the reception staff to all be really friendly, very helpful, they went out of their way to genuinely help and it was fully staffed at all times.

I stayed twice as had events in the area. Firstly, in a second floor standard room on the side that overlooks houses (the other three sides have roads but only one is a main road). Some people may not want to look at a house, but if you looked sideways you could see the ocean, and it was extremely quiet and great for me.
They should have more photos of the rooms on their website as they were very big and comfortable. The whole hotel was in very good condition, clean, well maintained, modern etc.

For my second stay I decided to risk an ocean view suite (having read the noise reviews). I was on the first floor and there was no noise at all - except at weekends music from the bar below came up through the floor and was really excessive late into the night. Daytime and most nights you didn't hear a single thing at all, but some nights there were live bands and the noise was bad. Having pre-warned by reading the reviews overall it wasn't as bad as expected (because most days I didn't hear a thing), but if I hadn't have read the reviews then I would have been seriously disappointed as you just wouldn't expect it.
I would still go back and stay in the same room as the view more than made up for it. Surfers and paragliders in the distance, views of the ocean, you could sit on the balcony and at some times hear the live music from the café.

Brilliant location - theres a mini market, deli, nice relaxed beach café, take away and restaurants just over the road. Within a 5-10 min walk you have a convenience store, full supermarket, bus stops, newsagents, various small shops, more restaurants and takeaways, and a lake with kayak and paddleboarding. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view suites can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and got to know the local area well. In addition, thank you for your feedback with regards to our Reception Team. I will be sure to share your feedback with them all. Also, thank you in advance for recommending us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again if you have the opportunity to visit Australia again.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I went to Sydney for a wedding and stayed here for the first as it was close to where we needed to be. We were offered a late checkout at no extra charge. The rooms were huge and clean. The bed was very comfy.
However we didn't get a chance to try the other facilities they offered.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the Pittwater Road side, we didn't have a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service was quick and friendly, rooms where well maintained, clean and comfortable. Location was fabulous, beach across the road beautiful views from the balcony. Free parking! We have recommended this hotel to others and would stay again.

Room Tip: ocean view room is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rojorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again! Also thanks for recommending us to family and friends!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Thanks Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, a great room and atmosphere plus really suburb food. The entire hotel was kept wonderfully clean and the staff were genuinely friendly. We would stay time and time again. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ricki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We recently used The Sands for accommodation for our wedding and found The Sands to be exceptional.... The service provided by the staff exceeded our expectations and nothing was ever too much of a hassle!

Thank you to Anita and the team at The Sands.

Aaron and Aimee Gonzalez

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Gonzalez,

Congratulations again on your wedding! Hope you both had a wonderful day & a fantastic honeymoon! Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again... perhaps for your 1st wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My family had four rooms for 5 nights and we were impressed with the accommodation. We greeted by their friendly staff on arrival who were there throughout. The bars were good fun and the live music was entertaining. The food in the Ocean Bar was always fresh and tasty although we also the restaurant down the road! A good place to stay to see the beaches up here.

Room Tip: We had a mixture of rooms but our Ocean View on the 2nd floor was fine. Even though there was live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jofog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, along with our bar & bistro areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narrabeen
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen

Property: Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen
Address: 1260 Pittwater Rd, Narrabeen, Warringah, New South Wales 2101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Narrabeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narrabeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Sands is a contemporary boutique Hotel on Sydney's Northern Beaches. The Hotel provides easy access to the stunning scenery and lifestyle of the northern beaches suburbs. We are located on Sydney's Northern Beaches, only 20km from Sydney CBD and a 15 minute drive from Manly Beach. The wonderful Narrabeen Beach is just across the road from the Hotel. Our contemporary 4 star Studio rooms and Ocean Suites offer the perfect beach side escape. All rooms are air conditioned and feature a private balcony, broadband internet access (charges apply) and en-suite bathroom. Our Bistro & Ocean Bar has plenty of options available for breakfast, lunch and dinner & offers a relaxed atmosphere. Our Lakeside Bar is our Sports Bar, and is fully equipped TAB with plasma TVs. We also we have a meeting/function room, with a large balcony and audio visual equipment is available and can cater to suit your needs. Free undercover parking is available at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing