We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf, A Resort & nature in one beautiful place”

Bonville Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Bonville
Attraction details
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Golf, A Resort & nature in one beautiful place”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Breathtaking beauty in of a challenging golf course in a backdrop of what Australian nature in flora & fauna has to offer in Bonville.
Great Club house which is fantastic inside & outside and the staff make you feel special and welcomed. Lunch was great and good prices. Well equiped proshop with great staff. Even if you dont like golf the scenery & food & service should be experienced.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cagatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great golf, great staff - accommodation a little over priced”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Year and had a wonderful break. The golf course was tough but very enjoyable - and completely stunning!
We ate in the restaurant a few times for breakfast and lunch - all very good. The service is friendly and courteous - couldn't be better.
We stayed in an "executive room" which was expensive at $320 per night room only - particularly as the quality was only around 3-4 star at best. The room was upstairs with a narrow staircase and motel style entrance. It was very spacious to the point where it looked sparsely furnished, and the bathroom needs a facelift. We had an issue with our room not being serviced one day - unfortunately we only discovered this after housekeeping had left for the day. The Food & Beverage manager dealt with the issue very professionally by bringing us fresh supplies, clean crockery etc. and offerings a bottle of wine by way of apology. We were quite satisfied with the response - mistakes happen and the way they are dealt with is what separates a good hotel from a bad.
Overall highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SydneySinger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights and attended a wedding reception on site.

The clubhouse facilities and food are excellent. The reception was a great success. Staff are very helpful.

We played the course which is both challenging and spectacularly beautiful. The radar range finders in the cart were interesting and helpful. Course maintenance, management, and condition are up there withe best this country has to offer.

The only disappointment is the on site accommodation is a little tired and out of date for the prices charged.

We will definitely be back for the golf, probably not to stay over.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaybee754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Restaurant way over priced for extremely small portions, quality of food average, some dishes tasteless. Staff need training, eg knife fell on floor in front of waiter, we had to pick it up and he never offered to replace it, another, when pouring wine waitress spilled it over table cloth and glass base. Certainly not 1 hat standard they are claiming.
Golf course was really challenging and some holes were amazing but gum trees & wind don't mix, branches and leaves all over course.
Accommodation, just 3 star.
If you want great food, great golf, great scenery go to Dent Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee,
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Non golfer”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went with my husband and baby girl. As a non golfer, I found the resort a lovely getaway. My husband really enjoyed the golf. I trout the surrounds were absolutely beautiful. The landscaping and gardens were exceptional. The restaurant was fantastic. I took some beautiful photos.
Unfortunately we went in winter during a bit of a quiet time so the buffet breakfast was very limited but they made up for it with unlimited a la carte. The staff went above and beyond in making us feel welcome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonville Golf Resort also viewed

 
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
 

Been to Bonville Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing