We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Views to Die For”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Petaloutha

View over pool to Skiathos Island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over pool to Skiathos Island
Villa Petaloutha Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View over pool to Skiathos Island
Villa Petaloutha
Sitting room
Sitting room
Perivoliou - closest beach to house
View of Skiathos from lower terrace
Main bedroom
Main bathroom
Gallery bedroom - lower floor
Gallery bedroom - upper floor
Third bedroom
Terrace
Sunset over pool
Outside dining area
Villa Petaloutha
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glossa, Skopelos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tim C
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Views to Die For”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Picture the scene ... sitting by the pool, glass of chilled wine in hand, gazing out over neighbouring Greek islands, with nothing to spoil the view.
This was our second stay in the fabulous Villa Petaloutha. It is situated on one of the highest points on the island, where the views don't get any better.
The house has all the amenities you could possible need.The kitchen is well-stocked, the locker room has snorkels and flippers, and the utility room has a washing machine,
This year, we brought all three sons along for a scuba diving break. They loved it. The house and grounds have so many private areas, that you are always guaranteed a bit of privacy, should you need it.
Each bedroom has air-con, which was a life-saver for us. Skopelos was experiencing its hottest June for some years, with temperatures into the high 30's.
The people in the nearest town of Glossa are so friendly and there is a lovely 30 minute walk from the house into the town. Glossa has tiny streets, so leave your car behind.
I can't really offer any negatives, although be warned that the private drive up to the house is steep. That aside, this is a fantastic place to chill for a week or two. We have already re-booked for 2018.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for that lovely review. I'm delighted to hear that you had such a good time on the island and really loved the villa. It's also wonderful to know that you enjoyed the whole experience so much that you will be coming again next year. You are so welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acarver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Setting Look Forward To My Return ”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited Petaloutha with some seasoned travellers who have visited the island & villa before to rave reviews & comments
The villa & island did not disappoint
Petaloutha is set high up in the hills & to have such an idyllic location & views, not far from bars & restaurants of Glossa is fantastic.
The villa set has such character & charm and that is its appeal .The main house and the annexe allows room for people to move around freely .The views from the main terrace are breathing taking and hard to drag yourself away .
The villa is set up a windy track but that allows for the amazing views, it doesn't have all the mod cons but that is its charm & appeal as a traditional comfortable Greek villa.
Saying that the very needed air conditioning worked perfectly throughout our stay.The outhouse has a great storage & washing facility area. The Gardens are situated at the back of the property.
Everything we needed was at the villa & plenty of towels and clean sheets to accommodate everybody .
The main living space is housed with beautiful ornaments from around the world
I would throughly recommend Petaloutha if you like a traditional villa with bag fills of charm & a view and location to match any Greek Island
Fantastic holiday and look forward to my return .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Thank you so much for this review. It's greatly appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector58o
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab week in a fab villa”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a wonderful time in this charming quiet villa. It is in a remote peaceful private location where we all managed to completely relax and forget about our busy lives back in the UK.It was great base from which to explore Skopalos.
Wonderful views. Comfortable accommodation. Very helpful manager who met our every need.
A thoroughly good time was had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you so much for your generous review. I'm delighted that you had a wonderful, relaxing time at the villa, and also that you chose a week in late September when the weather was perfect. (I was following the forecasts closely!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelswi...
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, tranquil and quite lovely.”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much to the owner. We had a wonderful time. The weather was a little inclement for a couple of days (this was late September), but it improved as the week went on and even if it initially kept us out of the pool, it never once marred that astonishing view. The villa is simply lovely and every bit as relaxing and tranquil as we’d hoped for. We didn’t do very much - had some great meals in some of the fine restaurants on Skopelos, went snorkeling in the sea a few times, walked around the hill in the early morning sunshine to pick up bread in Glossa and otherwise sat around reading, playing backgammon, gazing at the sea and drinking wine, but then that’s our idea of a perfect break. Everything was very well organised; our reception was warm, friendly and helpful, our hire car was waiting for us at the quay as promised, the house was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable… This is a calm, restful, romantic place, on a quiet beautiful island with great beaches and all quite magical in its own way. We’ll definitely be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you so much for this generous review. It was always such a pleasure dealing with you, and I'm delighted that the house and the island lived up to your best expectations. My only regret is that you had bad weather for a couple of days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a family of 5 adults ranging from 19 to a lively and able 94 year old. Expectations were exceptionally high as the reviews were amazing! This was our second time on Skopelos in consecutive years having spent our first visit in a 5* hotel and Spa. Arrival was very organised, Eleni and Antony were extremely helpful, but thank goodness we followed Eleni as I don't think we would have found the Villa. It was very remote and had a steep track to it but this was not an issue, it  had the most amazing views and was very peaceful and tranquil.  However, we were expecting rustic but for us it was just too rustic. Inside felt cluttered and shabby as did the patio and pool area, where one could not walk barefoot because of the condition of the tiles. The kitchen was very tiny and very tired and not really appropriate for 5 adults. (I would expect a dishwasher in any villa in the 21st century). The showers didn't work very well. And the TV was  outdated and in an inappropriate location for viewing as a family when the weather was poor.  The villa really wasn't somewhere we could spend 2 weeks it was too remote and too rustic, and there were a few small, brown, furry, four legged non paying guests frequenting the kitchen and we would see them scurrying across the kitchen worktops! The villa really wasn't for us and I am disappointed that it didn't meet our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2016
I'm really shocked by your comments. Every single review we've had has been "ecstatic" and five star. None of our guests have made any of the complaints that you have, with one exception -- the showers -- a problem that occurred at the end of the season, and which has already been solved by replacing the main water pump. . What I find particularly upsetting is that you and I actually had a chance to meet. You were very friendly, and didn't make any of these criticisms when you spoke to me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a stunning villa! It sits proudly on what must be the highest point on the island and the views are unbelievable. I cannot add a great deal to the other reviews on here, apart from attaching one of our wonderful sunset photographs. The Villa is full of character; Anthony, the owner, is charming and takes a personal interest in the people who are renting the villa, with a welcome note and bottle of wine when you arrive. Eleni is delightful and knowledgeable about the local area. In his welcome letter Anthony recommended Flisvos Taverna, right by the sea in Loutraki and we went there several times. It did not have the grace or style of Agnanti in Glossa, but the food was wonderful and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
Be warned that the car hire firm appreciate cash for hires at the moment. The roads are not for the faint hearted, but the views and personality of the villa make a little bit of nerve so worthwhile!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thank you so much for that lovely revue, Beverly. I'm really sorry if the car hire people were grumpy about card payments. They've assured me many times that they will always accept cards, though they prefer cash. I've just phoned them, and they promised that this policy won't change, and they are sorry about any misunderstanding!!With best wishes and thanks again, Antony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris s
1 review
“Character full, well designed,private with exceptional views,a get away from it gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A wonderful villa for secluded relaxation , but never boring due to an abundance of indigenous wildlife and eye-catching views,but only a walk to the lovely town of glossa.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing