We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awe-inspiring adventure”

Glacier Country Scenic Flights
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Whataroa
Attraction details
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you are considering a helicopter flight while on the South Island of New Zealand be sure to check out Glacier Country Scenic Flights located alongside of the Whataroa River. It was the best thing we did. We took the Mount Cook Panorama flight that takes you up the Middle Earth route from Lord of The Rings. Then we climbed and climbed some more until you are seeing the Southern Alps eastern slopes. We then did several passes around Mt. Tasman, and Mt. Cook, and then passed back to the west coast for views of Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. It's a very low key operation with a friendly competent pilot that gives you a narrative as you fly along. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tramper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Engelberg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, The highlight of our entire trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Another reviewer this too, they listened and they were very thoughtful and helpful. We did the big trip with the snow landing as a family of four and it was EXCELLENT. The two staff their we so helpful and so friendly it was such a great experience. Ten out of Ten and great service. Highly recommended..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EngelbergAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We arrived in Whataroa on a drizzly, grey afternoon. We had been considering a glacier flight, but this didn't look like a good day for our trip. We met Kevin at the Glacier Country Scenic Flights office in Whataroa, and he told us that the weather was perfect on Franz Josef Glacier. After he listened to what we were hoping for, he recommended that we take the "ACross Middle Earth" option, flying over the Tasman Glacier and getting a view of Mount Cook, with a glacier landing on Franz Josef. My wife was skeptical, but she agreed. It was one of the top experiences of three weeks in New Zealand, and we both agreed on that.

The process was rather casual...no waivers, no security checks...and refreshing. We boarded a small helicopter (four passengers and a pilot) and had almost a 360 panorama as we climbed over fields and forests, breaking through the clouds for a dazzling afternoon over the glaciers. Our pilot, Andrew, filled us in on the sights before taking us down on the Franz Josef glacier. He was very personable and low key. It was supposed to be a forty minute excursion, but nothing was rushed, and we spent closer to an hour on the flyover and glacier landing. From what I heard, the flights leaving from Franz Josef and Fox Glacier are more regimented and perhaps less casual, but this was a very personalized service. This wasn't inexpensive, but it was well worth the price.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fichivini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We heard about this company via the many leaflets and brochures in and around Hoptikita and Greymouth. We telephoned them in the morning from Hoptikita and booked in for an afternoon flight.

The company advertises several different types of flight from fly overs of the glaciers right up to our flight which was around Mount Cook and over both Fox and Franz Joseph plus the tasman glaciers with a landing on Fox. We arrived at the "Heliport" about an hour before time and was met by the staff.

The setup itself consists of a large tin hut which is the base and a field for the aircraft to land on plus a bowser full of A1 Jet fuel and that was about it. Coming from the UK where rules and regulations governing helo operations are really tight so I was a little taken aback at the setup, however the staff were amazing and all seemed well.

After giving over our payments, a little while later, the helo arrived. It was quite small and there were four of us which was a bit of a squeeze. The helo pilot was brilliant and the flight itself was very good indeed, in fact absolutely stunning. We flew over all the glaciers and around mount cook, we then landed on Fox and had a picture taken and then flew back. In all about 50 minutes total time, 40 of which was in the aircraft.

After landing on, we got our complimentary DVD and headed off.

Overall an amazing flight, brilliant staff and well worth the money.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Country Scenic Flights also viewed

Whataroa, West Coast Region
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Whataroa, West Coast Region
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Country Scenic Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing