We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant!”

Restaurant la Promenade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I love this place :-) always trying to find a good excuse to go there.
Food (especially in autumn for the duck) - all is super. Excellent service.
Professional staff friendly staff.
The entrees, main meat course, the fish course, the cheese, the deserts... Wine... Sublime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    40
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very special and fabulous.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

La Promenade is a very special place. The food is sensational and the service is exactly what you would expect for a Michelin star restaurant.
The really surprising thing is to find it in a tiny village in the middle of rural France! Luckily we spend most of our holidays in the area so we always have the option of eating there.
And when we have, although it is more pricey than other restaurants we use more often, it is worth every euro. As always, lunch is more affordable than dinner and extremely good value considering the quality of the food, the service and the surroundings. Eating there is a pure delight for the senses. Every course has all the little touches that make the meal so enjoyable. The service and surroundings make the diner feel extremely relaxed - the level of personal attention is just right - I have a dislike of "posh" restaurants where the staff are snooty or intimidating - not so here !! It's so good to feel the staff know what they're doing, that the courses follow at sensible intervals and the food will be delightful.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomegranite58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centre Region, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As a special treat for visiting family, we visited La Promenade for Sunday lunch. It was a culinary delight, which lasted nearly 4 hours. Good choice and lots of different amuse bouches. Our 3rd visit to the restaurant, and certainly not our last. Prices were good, definitely not a plat du jour restaurant, expect a truly exceptional experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfanindre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wow - the food is surprisingly good. I say that because we were on holiday in the middle of France and didn't expect to find such delicious food. We were recommended this restaurant by the owner of the B&B we stayed in at La Celle Guenand (the next village). He said it would be one of the best meals we would have in France and boy, was he right. The portions are a perfect size for the incredible taste that they produce - rich and interesting. The foie-gras is fantastic, the chicken melts in your mouth, and those creamed potatoes are to die for, not to mention the chocolate pudding to finish. Even now my mouth is watering with the memory of the food served here... I say again, wow.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PolskiLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and delicious”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

As a person who like cooking I often find myself saying "I make this better at home :( ". Well this was not the case here. Pay special attention to the smoked salmon and the lamb. The real highlights were the tiny intermediate dishes.
We visited with our 3y old, who eats next to nothing. the restaurant was children friendly enough to supply white rices and the such.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Galia Ariav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant la Promenade also viewed

Preuilly-sur-Claise, Indre-et-Loire
 
Preuilly-sur-Claise, Indre-et-Loire
Le Grand-Pressigny, Loire Valley
 

Been to Restaurant la Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing