We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great weekend again”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A typically warm and welcoming reception from Kath and her team. They dealt with wet walking gear speedily and had us settled in our rooms before we new it. Tea and cake followed quickly and we then had an excellent dinner on Friday evening. A good breakfast set us up for a challenging hike the next day and again our boots and outer clothes were dealt with on return. A taxi was ordered to take us into Keswick at a price which pleasantly surprised these city dwellers. On return we were happily supplied with wine and a cheeseboard to enjoy in the lounge.
It is three years since we have been to the Cottage in the Wood; it will not be as long a gap to the next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    53
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
427
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect as the Whinlatter forest is close by with lots of clearly marked walks for those who can't read maps ( like us!). But it's also in the perfect spot for accessing the rest of the Lake District.
It's a small hotel and our room was rather tiny (Spruce) but very comfortable and clean. Good facilities too like tea, coffee, soaps etc.
The staff are incredibly attentive and pretty much cater for everyone. There is no bar but you can sit in the lounge at any time and you will be offered drinks or refreshments. There is wifi only in the lounge and no phone signal.
We prebooked dinner ( advisable, don't assume you will get a table there) and had the rather pricy but interesting Cumbrian tasting menu. But it was our choice to pay for something special and we weren't disappointed. Every course is explained too. Almost everything is locally sourced.
If you don't want to eat there the staff are very helpful in suggesting other places to eat. There are many in the area.
Breakfast is good with lots of choice of well cooked food.
The views are amazing and yes there are lots of red squirrels. I saw my first one literally as I arrived at the hotel.
A lovely place to stay.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicken36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked a 4 night break to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked the right place. Kath & her wonderful team made us feel very welcome. Our room, though one of the smaller ones, was well appointed & very comfortable. Our son had arranged with Kath to have flowers waiting for us & had booked a special "Taste of Cumbria " meal & "Wine Flight " which we had on our actual anniversary day. The meal was outstanding! the staff very informative about each coarse & the different wines which accompanied them. The dining room has splendid views, it was a delight to sit looking out over the woods towards Skiddaw every morning while eating a very delicious breakfast,watching the red squirrels & many birds that come down to the feeders just outside the conservatory windows. The 4 days passed all too quickly, hopefully we will return soon .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

had diner at the cottage on a clear evening looking right down the valley as darkness fell. The meal itself was good and the best we had in our short stay in the lakes by far, but it was outshone by the best view from any restauant I have ate at.
Definately return and recomend it to anybody, ask for a table in the conservatory if possible

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a walking break. Difficult to fault. The service in particular was outstanding - friendly, not too fussy, very welcoming, made you feel at home straight away. We dined in the restaurant on two occasions and the food was of a very high standard - we had a tasting menu one night and a set menu the other - both with "wine flights" to go with them - wonderful! Our third night was when the restaurant was closed and the hotel were very helpful in arranging a table at a nearby restaurant and taxis to get us there and back. Again, great service... The hotel is is in a lovely location with great views and surrounding by great walks and views.
Would strongly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to the restaurant for dinner. The setting was peaceful, all the rooms clean, modern, and quiet, and the owners super helpful. We loved the inn so much that we left our other hotel and happily moved into The Cottage in the Wood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewLayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pefkos
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friends of ours had read about the Cottage in the Wood and asked if we'd like to join them for an overnight stay ... we agreed, and had to thank them immensely as it was a fantastic experience in all aspects.
We spent the day cycling round Derwent Water and the following day around the forest. In between we were welcomed by Kath, Liam and Lawrence to the Cottage in the Wood.
In the evening we had fantastic meal, we all chose the tasting Cumbria menu which was a delight, with the staff explaining each course in fine detail added to the experience.
We will definitely return to the Cottage in the Wood.
Andy and Karen Whittle (stayed Thurs 22nd Aug 2013).

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Cottage Rooms which was lovely, but if you'd like a little bit more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy212Pefkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
599 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
516 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing