We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here quite a while ago now but it has stood out in terms of venue and service. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful. The food was delicious and their breakfast was very tasty with a daily special. The conservatory was a great place to take in the scenery and watch the wildlife, we could have sat there for hours. the location is really lovely and in a great situation to visit all the Lake District sights. The room we had was quite small but well appointed and warm (sometimes a bit too hot! But that's better than too cold). We didn't spend much time in the room anyway as the area is so full of places to visit and things to do and the public areas of the hotel are really lovely. Quite expensive but worth it for the service, views and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parsley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    52
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
416
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our visit was limited to lunch but we would love to stay at The Cottage in the Wood as our brief visit was superb. We were early for our reserved table but were made so welcome, the log burner lit and our pre lunch drinks brought to us. Our table had the most fantastic views of Skiddaw and the menu although very limited was of excellent quality and incredible value. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMH1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

No, really !! We've just come back from a perfect mini-break in the Lakes and could not have wished for a better hotel. We stayed here over 20 years ago and had a good time, but the present owners have taken it to another level. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and full of nice touches. The restaurant really is first class - carefully crafted menus crammed full of excellent local produce. The staff could not be more friendly, and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible - nothing seems too much trouble (I swear they even arranged rain-free weather !!). But don't listen to us - go and stay there yourself !

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are not huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After using Trip Advisor to assist with our search for the perfect weekend, we came across The Cottage in the Wood, and were not disappointed with our find. It was perfection all weekend, absolutely amazing and can't rave more. From arriving to be greeted by very happy and professional staff through to the amazing cusine, that should definitely be worthy of a michelin star, and I've eaten at a few places, through to the cosy super king bed and wet room. One of the main reasons apart from the stunning views and rave reviews, was that I was recently diagnosed with celiac disease. I phoned Kath and from the outset there was no issue, very accomodating and throughout the weekend they catered for me. I have recommended this place to everyone I can talk to about it, and even treated my mum and dad for a christmas present to have a night at the Cottage in the Wood. We didn't try the taster menu, but we are definitely going to be returning so I will look forward to trying that. All in all, I couldn't recommend highly and I have very high expectations! Thanks to Kath, Liam and all the staff for a perfect weekend.

Gemma and Andy

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room. Whilst it doesn't have the views of the mountain top, it had stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Difficult to improve on any of the superlatives about The Cottage in the Wood! Wonderful setting, brilliant service ( the team, Jodie, Sally, Emmanuelline and others so expertly led by Kath) And the food is up there with the stars. Highly creative, changing menu. Interesting tasting menu or a la carte. Each course carefully balanced so that you finish the meal feeling 'just right' and ready to face a climb up Grisedale Pike or the Lords Seat. We really could not recommend the Cottage more highly.

Room Tip: The Oak room has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from another stay at my favourite hotel. If you have never been but want to be treated to all round comfort with impeccable service and wonderful food or you have not returned for a while, then this delightful hotel is a must for a visit. It manages to get better every time I go, yet each visit is already perfect! Kath and Liam don't stop coming up with new ideas to add to their perfect little hotel and restaurant. The restaurant has just been refurbished again creating a more sophisticated and cosy environment in which to enjoy their imaginative and perfectly cooked food. If you want to experience the best professional masterchef could offer, then here it is! I particularly enjoyed the "tasting menu" on offer this weekend as it took away the dilemma of choosing when I was on a stress free break!There's a choice of lovely quiet rooms to retire to after dinner. Cottage rooms are small but everything you could want fits in neatly. Comfort level is high. "Superior" rooms are larger and each have special touches. I highly recommend this special hotel in its very beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to fault ! Great location in a beautiful corner of the Lakes, excellent service & food and comfortable bedrooms and reception areas. We were made very welcome and felt very much at home. Good area for walking and some of the best scenery in the Lakes. No hesitation in recommending this little gem !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greenie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
495 reviews
22.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing