We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable small hotel”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Well-located hotel, welcoming, comfortable lounge/bar and dining room. Room had good view and large bathroom. Good breakfast. Dinner was good too. Only disadvantages: drainage (macerator) a little noisy at times and no soap in the bathroom (only sachets of shower gel).

Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    79
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
120
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed with our five and two year old boys and all were very pleased. The family room was clean, quiet, spacious and had a bath (our boys hate showers). The menu was locally sourced and suitable for all. The boys enjoyed home made beef burgers cooked to perfection, just pink while we enjoyed Scottish scallops, haggis, wonderful local lamb. The breakfast was similarly impressive.

This is not international fine cuisine as you might find at one of the larger soul-less establishments. This is fine local food prepared very well. My only criticism would be that a couple of the young waitresses would plonk the botle of wine down in the middle of our table, leaving us to pour and were clearly in a rush to get home - they couldn't hide their annoyance when we wanted to linger late in the dining room. However the owners, breakfast staff and bar staff really could not have been more friendly and helpful.

The box of toys and board games were also much appreciated in the afternoons when walking had worn us out.

The location is perfect - wonderful walking within easy reach and its easy to find.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The Middle Ruddings Country Inn and Restaurant is a bed and breakfast, restaurant and local pub. Andy, Liz and all the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. When we saw they advertised a novel by a local author, we enquired about it and they arranged for us to get a signed copy.

Our room, facing the back of the hotel, had an adequate modern TV with freesat TV channels and radio. There was an en suite toilet and bathroom with bath and shower and an environment friendly towel policy was operated. There was good storage space. The hospitality tray had Fair Trade tea, hot chocolate and instant coffee as well as biscuits. The bed was firm, possibly too firm for some.

Braithwaite village is west of Keswick on the A66 near Bassenthwaite Lake. There are views of Skiddaw and other Lake District peaks. The hotel is located just a few minutes drive from Keswick which is on Derwent Water.

The restaurant and bar serve locally sourced food and beer where possible. The restaurant was often open late and is open to residents and non-residents alike. Dogs are welcome, but they must be well behaved and are allowed in the bar and not in the restaurant. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 9:15 only, which may prevent early starts on good sunny days. A buffet service for cereals and fruit plus hot freshly cooked food was available from a limited traditional menu. The restaurant menu was wide ranging with daily specials.

There were quiz boxes on the tables in the bar which was an interesting innovation. There is a residents' room stocked with games, books and toys for children - essential for the occasional wet day in the lakes.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We went with friends on a walking holiday.The welcome and service throughout our stay was excellent.The locally sourced food was of a high standard,the only problem being one of choice.We are already debating what to have on our next visit.Real ale or pleasant wine complemented our stay.To sum up,a very relaxing place to spend time and recharge batteries.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonboyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Saw the good reviews here and booked expecting a friendly and comfortable country inn as a base for a couple of nights. Was delighted with the welcome - so lovely to stay where the hosts clearly love what they do and do so well - a pleasure to meet them. Our lively little boys were made very welcome - the toys available are a nice touch. Breakfasts were delicious and we ate twice in the popular restaurant which served food of a very good standard. Our family room was comfortable and suited us all fine - bath but no shower. Views gorgeous. Nothing was too much trouble despite it clearly being a popular place; readily given information about local walks. ALL the staff we met were pleasant, genuinely friendly and keen to please. Would highly recommend and certainly return.

  • Liked — comfort and hospitality
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wilmaflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
1.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
578 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
2.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Property: Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing