We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

just got back after two nights. was lovely. room and good really good. staff couldn't be more accomodating. even offered a blanket for our dog to lie on while we were eating the pub. booked again to go back. can't wait

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    77
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
40
119
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Food is lovely but the service is a joke, unless you are a regular or friend of the servers! Luckily you get games to play whilst waiting for the bored looking staff to serve you! And don't use your phone for fear of reprisal unless you are pals with management!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TiggyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our second stay at Middle Ruddings as part of a large group. Our room was a bit on the small side but the bathroom was large. Last stay we had a much larger room so it is probably the luck of the draw. The room was clean and décor looked fresh. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a nice buffet selection for the size of hotel. One morning they appeared to have no mushrooms which seemed rather odd but otherwise all cooked nicely and enjoyable. We also ate here on three evenings. As a large group we had the breakfast room set up for our party. The food is okay but I feel it has been better in the past. Service was fine. There always seemed to be a lot of people eating here too. We used the residents' lounge quite a lot for coffee. The coffee could be stronger. I found it overall a pleasant hotel to stay in and quite relaxing.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary so may be worth enquiring on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We called in here one Sunday for lunch after friends told us it had recently been voted Camra's best pub in West Cumbria. We arrived at 12:50 and thought we might have trouble getting a table, it turned out the place was completely empty. The warning bells started to ring. There was a lot of young staff chatting behind reception, probably waiting for some customers to show up. We both ordered a pint of the local Keswick beer, my husbands looked a lot cloudier than mine and he said it tasted sweet so he sent it back. The waiter came back with a fresh pint and informed my husband that the previous pint was half cider, half beer! This from the Cambra Cumbrian pub of the year?!
We both ordered the roast of the day, there was only one option, pork. The food came out very quickly and was warm but not hot. We usually have to cool food down before giving it to our young son but he was able to eat this straight away. The pork was very fatty, the vegetables were far too hard and crunchy and the portions were fairly small, certainly not worth £11. We decided not to opt for dessert but ordered a coffee instead, when it arrived it was so weak we didn't bother to drink it and waited til we got home instead. They knocked the coffee off our bill. While we were there only one other party of four turned up to eat, they had never been there before either and said they were surprised to see it so quiet. It might be a reasonable place to stay but I really wouldn't recommend eating here, not with all the choice you have on the doorstep, I guess that explains why the place was empty.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GnTJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had this place recommended to us whilst staying in the area so we decided to give it a try on our last night. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive and provided great service. Everything we chose from the menu was fantastic, in particular a sausage, bacon, chicken and leek (on the menu as "pie of the week") which was amazing - the best pie we have ever tasted! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place and will definitely return if we are in the area again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveandMichelle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

visited this for the first time recently and was more than satisfied with my meal and service. The place itself could do with an overhaul as far as decoration goes but the food was lovely and good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in Middle Ruddings for one night on my way to Whitehaven for work. I found the place using the internet. What a great find it turned out to be. I only needed the single room which was small but adequate. What sold the place for me was how welcome I was made to feel and the great food. The location is fantastic looking out to Skidaw and would have perfect had I had time to go walking. I stayed on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis and was suprised to find that I could have anything from the normal menu. I had pate followed by an excellent steak pie and chips and then tart and ice cream for pudding. All of the food was very very good. The hotel is quite large ample parking and with a selection of rooms to eat in and a quiet room to relax. The bar had good beer which was well priced and had a nice pub feel to it. Breakfast in the hotel is normally from 8.30 however when I told them that I needed to have left by then they came in early and made my breakfast for 8.00am. And what a great breakfast it was. The black pudding was fantastic. All the way through my stay I was made welcome by both the staff and the other guests. This was a great place to stop and I will be back but this time with my walking boots and my mountain bike.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner and he will advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
670 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
565 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Property: Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing