We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Royal Oak Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Food overpriced and microwaved

Staff very hostile and unwelcoming

Drinks over priced

Most locals avoid this pub the only reason it still has any buissness is because its in the center of the village once you go once you avoid.

Bar stafff are the worst i have ever had.

Room Tip: Never go find some were better or camp
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mrjaffa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We ate here on a busy Friday night - lots of locals and walkers filling the place - and although we were seated at a table in the thoroughfare between the bar and restaurant, the food and service was very good . Good tasty, piping hot pub food served in a traditional country pub. Recommended .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank barry89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

stayed here for three nights over the bank holiday while visiting friends. this is how a pub should be a mixture of locals & tourist .very busy over the holiday weekend but no problem waiting for your food either in the bar or dinning room promp friendly service.a range of good beers very comfy rooms . good location for ramblers or driving around the lakes keswick about 2 miles away {nice market town}. will be back at the royal when we go to the lakes again. ps very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed here with 5 mates for 3 nights. We had great time excellent food, superb beer. The rooms were fine, clean & comfortable, good showers and TV. Breakfast was great and plenty of it and the staff very friendly. We certainly intend to stay here again. It is very convenient for Keswick and the NE Lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Not spent the night here only ate here which we do regularly when visiting this area. It is what I would deem a proper pub atmosphere at lunch times and I would imagine more so in the evenings as they have live entertainment and things going on. The interior is dark and echoes dark reds and gold walls with traditional cast iron pub tables. There is one public bar on two levels, with a TV which tends to have the sound off (which pleased us). There is a stone fireplace and a log burner too. The curtained windows are small and the pub is located on the entrance to the Whinlatter Pass against the cliff face on one side, with a small road in front of it leading you through the pretty villages with cottages accessed across the beck, the shop! yes I said shop, and the start of the Newlands Pass. Both passes are extremely spectacular in different ways. The Hotel has a car park with tables tucked around its perimiter, with the road leading you back to the campsite which also boast, yes a shop! and beautiful Lake Bassenthwaite in the distance. We only have sandwiches at lunchtimes as we are amply fed where we stay. The Royak Oak offers a good selection and the hot meals are also tempting and the suite board. They obviously have a resident chef as the plate is always garnished with a proper salad with a dressing on, which varies, sometimes with olives and usually croutons.
The beer is good, I always opt for the Cumberland, served in a Cumberland glass and we finish with 2 very descent sized proper exppressos and an almond macaroon.
The bar staff are knowledgable and pleasant. The window ledges are stuffed with places see guides. It seems a popular stop with cyclists and walkers alike. The toilets are spotless. Only down side if it could be called one is when the bar person (who may have been management?) whacked off the crumbs and food debris on to the floor whilst clearing up. We also had to sit amongst our dirty plates for our expressos. If he had cleared we may have had a pudding. We cleared it ourselves and put them on another table. Not a severe critisism - just a point. The food is excellent value and cost me £8 less than I paid in two supposedly upmarket inns in the area, and their food was not up to the Royal Oak standard.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
3.5 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing