We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub”

The Royal Oak Braithwaite Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Pub”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not flashy but a nice pub. Beer well kept and wide choice. Food is good as is service. Can't understand the persons who said it was cramped. Probably full which tells you something? It ain't The Ritz but a lakes holiday pub!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    101
    48
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great meal”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We both had the Haddock and chips which was excellent, washed down with a couple of Stella's. Very quick service and friendly staff, the furnishings are a bit dated and worn but I highly recommend the food and drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a great meal, good beer and the fact that the place was full every night is a clear indication it is getting things right. We will be back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barrowboy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Rude, unfriendly and unwelcoming. People like this should not be working in the service industry. Avoid unless you're desperate!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Gosh - for somebody who has a good appetite their portions defeated me.....next time I will go for the smaller version. The place was busy and we can see why....great speedy service and done with a smile. You can see why they do well, we couldn't fault the Pate Starter and Olives Selection, we both had the Belly of Pork with Crushed Apple & Mash Potatoes and fresh veg - lots of great sauce (best of all crackling!!) Thanks guys we may well come back when we are in the area again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Braithwaite Restaurant also viewed

Braithwaite, Keswick
Braithwaite, Keswick
 

Been to The Royal Oak Braithwaite Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing