We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return visit to Middle Ruddings”

Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A return visit to Middle Ruddings”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've stayed at the MR for many long weekends over the years. Last year we just visited for a final family meal at the end of a week's holiday. Andy keeps a great selection of local real ales and is always ready to recommend one. The restaurant menu is varied and also includes some unusual dishes. I've always found the food to be excellent, and this time was no exception. Service was also first rate. If I had one ask, it would be to widen the selection of ports available for after the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickinstilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    102
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Saturday night treat”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Called at the hotel (on recommendation from the local b&b) on a wet and windy Saturday evening. The welcome we received was excellent, as was the whole experience.
The conservatory was beautifully laid out (and warm); the service was friendly and relaxed and the food could not be faulted. I had the lamb, which was cooked to perfection and enough to feed two!
We were also impressed that the bill for our meal (with drinks) was considerably less than we anticipated - no 'loading' on the wine, beer and coffee, which can happen in hotels.
Many thanks to the staff for making our first meal in Braithwaite
memorable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 514Mrs_K62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

given a scrap of bread with starter because they had run out of brown bread the other option was curry bread. The waiter didnt know fish of day or potatoes of day. They had at 7.30 run out of fish. The potatoes were watery and seemed to have been standing in water too long. There would need to be a big improvement if we were to go again

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful birthday meal”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Booked this restaurant for a family birthday as staying in area. Very helpful and nice on phone, when got there beautiful place really friendly could not do enough to help. Food and service fabulous and selection of drinks behind bar excellent.had a lovely seating area with an open fire which was welcoming. Locals all very friendly and able to take dog which is great. Would definitely recommend this place for everything very happy and pleased

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiona604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently stayed at a lovely place called Bisoi and the owners recommended Middle Ruddings and also booked us a table. The meal was lovely and the staff all very friendly especially the young waiter who served us. The food arrived promptly and was delicious A* to the chef

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing