We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for the third time at Maple Bank, lovely rooms, wonderful breakfasts and excellent hosts Rhona and Tommy as always, in an excellent location with wonderful views, plenty of option for walking (long and short) See you again soon.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joy_and_Keith_Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you Joy and Keith for the excellent review, it was lovely to see you both again.
Hope you come back soon.
Rhona and Tommy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Accommodation at Maple Bank Country Guest House was superb. Rhona and Tommy are great hosts. The room was clean and pleasant, with a good view of Skiddaw. Substantial breakfast, cooked to perfection.Maple Bank is situated in a good location to explore the Lakes and the coast. To be highly recommended. Ruth V.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much Ruth for the great review it was lovely to see you both again.
Please pass are regards to Judtih and David and we hope to see you all again soon.
Regards Rhona and Tommy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very helpful couple,let all four of us store our touring bicycles in their own garage. The hotel and rooms were very clean and breakfast was of a very good standard. We all said we would use this hotel again without hesitation.It was near to a friendly pub in walking distance and just a short cycle in to town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you very much Paul for the great review. Tommy and I are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and to here that you would all return without hesitation.
Regards Rhona and Tommy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rhona and Tommy at Maple Bank are so welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and spotless. A trip to the Lakes wouldn't be the same without Maple Bank. We cannot recommend it highly enough. The breakfasts are great and the atmosphere relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble. We highly recommend a stay. Pauline M

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review Pauline, Tommy and I are delighted you enjoy
your visits to Maple Bank so much, and that you would be so happy to
recommend us to your family and friends.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Maple Bank for 2 nights 15th.&16th. March, and were made most welcome by Rhona and Tommy who are prefect hosts. Our room was spacious and spotless and had a stunning view across the valley to Skiddaw.The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for a day on the fells.Maple Bank is in an ideal location for exploring the northern fells and Keswick.We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much Stephen for the excellent (prompt) review, we're glad you and Lyndsay enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would be happy to recommend us.
Also we're thrilled to be described as
'First class'.

We look forward to seeing you again Rhona and Tommy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Maple Bank is our favourite place to stay in the Lakes. The rooms are lovely, well furnished, warm and spotlessly clean and we usually stay in one with a lovely view. Rhona and Tommy really make you feel at home and are perfect hosts with a wealth of local knowledge. Breakfast was really tasty. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cumbriachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you Paul for the lovely review, It was a pleasure to welcome you both to our home.
We're thrilled you enjoyed the your stay with us and the Location.
Tommy really enjoyed the motorbike talk, hope to see you again soon.
Regards Rhona and Tommy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed a great weekend at Maple Bank to celebrate a birthday. Having the run of the whole house was ideal as there were 13 of us (plus 'Lucky' the dog) we were able to relax and do everything at our own pace. Rhona and Tommy were perfect hosts (very helpful and welcoming but not over the top) being next door they were on hand (if needed). The views were brilliant. We did a bit of walking (Catbells and from the visitors centre at Whinlatter). I'd recommend Maple Bank and will certainly stay again next visit to Braithwaite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gg22858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review for us.
It's always helpful to know, how our Guests feel about their stay, especially the comment
that we are 'not over the top'. Trying to find the right balance of being helpful and just letting people get on with there holiday can sometimes be a bit tricky!
We look forward to seeing you again next time your in Braithwaite.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermiston Guest House
Hermiston Guest House
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#88 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range: $105 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing