We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed with Rhona and Tommy recently when we were in Cumbria on business. Would have to stay that it was the best guest house that we have stayed at in the UK. The amenities were immaculate and well appointed and the breakfast terrific. Really set you up for the day. The village was a quaint one and it was great to be away from the bustle of London. I would hav eto say though that the most enjoyable part of our stay was the friendliness of Rhona and Tommy. They made us feel most welcome and at home and we really enjoyed the banter. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrymacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear All
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, we are delighted you found B&B's more accommodating than hotels. We enjoyed your company and all the Banter too!
It's always nice to welcome guests from other countries, we have your details and one day if Tommy, Amy and I ever make it to Australia we will definitely visit your town.

Kind Regards Rhona Tommy & Amy. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
125
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Choose this due to reviews on TA and the proximity to Keswick which I choose as a base. Intention was to walk up Scafell Pike and enjoy our time in the Lakes. We stayed for three nights. I would agree with most of what is written in previous reviews. We walked up Scafell Pike after arriving promptly for breakfast at 8am and being well fed with the freshly cooked full english and fresh fruit salad. As mentioned Rhona and Tommy are very friendly and keen to provide advice on local amenities. The small village of Braithwaite half a mile up the road has a lovely little village shop where we had a freshly prepared roll for lunch one day. Also visited the Royal Oak. Location was good easy to get to and to use as a base for the northerm lakes. Unfortunately we didn't overlook Skiddaw because we had a back bedroom but walked up there anyway.

The Guest house was full and I choose not to park in the rear car park as there was not much space left with 4 cars already in it. Room and bed was comfortable and the toilet shower area also clean. Minor gripe we had biscuits one day only and the small shower gel was not replaced after we had used it.

That said would I recommend you stay at Maple Bank? Well easy question to answer yes, come and stay here it is a lovely area and you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgercreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad to managed to do your intended walk up Scarfel Pike and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
So sorry you didn't get your biscuits daily as we usually replenish these every day, this was an over site on our part.
Next time you visit us please give us a call and we will give you double biscuits and endeavour to offer you a room at the front of the house so you have the fantastic views of Skiddaw.

Many Thanks Rhona & Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haxby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is set in a great location, has comfortable rooms and offers good value for money then look no further. Maple Bank offers en suite rooms at very reasonable rates, the rooms at the front have views over Skiddaw, the rooms at the back look out over the vast rear garden. You can start the day with a wonderful breakfast, good choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts, I liked the fruit salad. For the main event, just go for the full breakfast! Orders are taken by Rhona and then cooked by Tommy's fair hand. Rhona and Tommy are great hosts and will be happy to give tips on venues to eat out. If you are looking for a pub meal the Royal Oak has a good menu, they also serve a decent pint! For something a bit more up-market try Ivy House, they serve great food. It is advisable to book in advance for both venues as they tend to be busy at peak times. Having visited Maple Bank a number of times now, we shall return!

Room Tip: Great views over Skiddaw from rooms at the front, quieter rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi you too, thank you so much for writing the great review for us, glad you enjoyed your stay with us again! and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Just like to say that, yes, I do take the orders for breakfast and Tommy does do a very good job at cooking it,. but that's because I have him very well trained!!! Ha ha!

Rhona, Tommy & Amy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Maple Bank Guest House is beautifully located just off the A66, two miles north of Keswick. The property is very clean & comfortable plus providing adequate parking. We were lucky to stay there for three nights & experience what we were informed was certainly the hottest weather so far this year. We had a front room & the views towards Skiddaw & Latrigg were fantastic. Breakfast each morning was varied & good. Owners Rhona & Tommy were very friendly & attentive as well as being very helpful as to recommending trips, restaurants & pubs. In particular, we liked eating in the Bistro of the Pheasant, a lovely old hotel/restaurant/pub; six miles further north of the Maple Bank.

Whilst not knowing prior to my stay, I was informed that cheaper rates are available to those who book direct with the owners.

Room Tip: Room 1 looks out across the Derwent Valley towards Skiddaw & Latrigg. Only negative is if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbliss45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, were glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it always helps when the weather is as fantastic as it was when you were here.

The rooms at front of the house have fantastic views of Skiddaw and the Derwent Valley and we are situated on the old A66 which is adjacent to the New A66, the road quietens greatly in the evening, however, if you do need to sleep with the windows open or feel that the road may cause you a problem, then please call us direct and request a room at the rear of the house, and we will do our very best to accommodate you. Also calling direct can sometimes be cheaper than booking on line.

Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Postives: - Arrived Saturday morning around 12.00, we had phone ahead to advise that we would be arriving early...no problem, the room was ready when we arrived. We were given room number 5, two flights up with beautiful views overlooking the fells.
Room size was good and more importantly it was spic and span, the bathroom was very clean.
The location was really good, we have stayed in the centre of Keswick and it can be hectic with parking etc, around 2 miles out is Maple Guest House and has ample free & secure parking. The little village of Briaithwate is just lovely with a couple of pubs we found.
The couple who run this guest house make you feel really welcome and just leave you to your own devices which was perfect for us.
Breakfast:- Full english with a fried egg cooked to perfection! bonus...plenty of toast, freshly made coffee, juices, cereals etc, nothing was too much trouble and we can certainly see why people choose to return to Maple.
Negatives: - We dont have any.
No hesitation in recommending this lovely run B&B to anyone, go and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for writing us a great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can stay a bit longer next time.

Rhona and Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed over the May Bank Holiday weekend with my whole family (9 adults and 3 children) as we had travelled to the Lake District for a wedding. Tommy and Rhona were very welcoming and we had a lovely stay. Our room was very nice and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. Rhona even kindly packed up a bacon sandwich two mornings for my 12-year old daughter who couldn't make it out of bed in time for breakfast! The rooms are well equipped and lovely and clean. The only slight draw back we had was that the shower wasn't particularly powerful and was a bit hit and miss with the temperature on the first day - but overall we can't complain. The location is good - such a picturesque setting - and only a 5 - 10 minute walk to some nice pubs serving food. Would definitely like to return. Thanks again Rhona and Tommy for making us so welcome - and hope my two toddler nephews didn't cause too much chaos!?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetieChatham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry the shower wasn't as good as it should be, I shall get Tommy to have a look at it.
It was lovely to meet you and your family and the toddlers were a delight!!

Hope to see you again in the future!

Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed with friends at the Maple Bank Guest House. The occasion, my 50th birthday treat!
What a fantastic weekend, with the warmest weather in March for years we were able to fully enjoy Braithwaite and all it has to offer. The guest house was friendly with Rona seeing to all our needs including amking sure that the sparkley was on ice for our arrival and that when we misplaced the key to our room the master key was always to hand!! We climed Cat Bells on the Saturday and in glorious nsunshine the views were well worth the effort of getting ther ( not for the faint hearted!) We were well fed all weekend, breakast was well presented and there was ample supply! We ate at the Coledale and the Royal Oak and I can honestly say that both were well worth the money. All in all worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at 'Maple Bank' for your 50th Birthday celebrations, we are delighted you all had such a wonderful time and that the weather was fabulous for you, it always makes a difference.
Hope to see you all again for your next Birthday maybe, can't gaurante the same weather though!!

Rhona Tommy & Amy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Property: Maple Bank Country Guest House
Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing