We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Charming and delicous!

A lovely way to spend a few hours. Teresita and her husband are charming, warm and welcoming. We... read more

Reviewed March 27, 2016
Amigamadre
Fun to spend the day at a great cook's home!

This is a fun day. A short train ride from the city and you are in the lovely town of Adrogue... read more

Reviewed January 19, 2016
lacrosse_9
,
Orinda, California
Read all 132 reviews
  
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
113
15
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
15
1
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 132 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2014

A friend and I did the empanada cooking class and loved it! Teresita and her husband made us welcome in their kitchen while we learned to make empanadas. We enjoyed some nice wine a different points during the class and enjoyed the product of the cooking lesson as well in Teresita's beautiful backyard. The class is about an hour out of the city but well worth it. We paid about 300 peso for a cab there.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2014

Ditto to everything the previous reviewers said. Great time. Great value. We were so stuffed from the delicious multi-course meal served after the market tour and empanada making, that we skipped supper that night, (but managed a little ice cream instead).

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank saras1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2014

If you spend time in Buenos Aires I would highly recommend that you schedule a day to spend with Teresita. I thoroughly enjoyed visiting the market, the butcher and the bakery, learning all about seasonsal produce, cuts of meat and traditional bakes. The highlight however, was learning how to make empandas whilst sampling Argentinina prosecco, and then the most delicious meal of various Argentinian dishes (all accompanied by regional wines). We had such great fun with our group and laughed all afternoon. I would happily do this all over again the next time I visit BA!

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank NZ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Teresita and her husband Raul, retired professionals, run a B&B IN
Androgue, but the main attraction is the tour of the markets and shops with Teresita, then cooking empanadas, followed by a fine 5 course meal of real Argentinian home cooking.
We had escabeche, empanadas (we made em!), a rustic bean stew, stuffed veal cutlets, and a wild dessert of soft cheese topped with candied cayote, and plenty of wine with discussion of the wine areas and wineries.
Getting there is actually pretty easy. Mini bus from BA to Androgue followed by a 5 block walk. Took us a little less than an hour each way.
These folks are the real deal! So friendly and open. I liked the opportunity to see how the real folks live, work, eat drink.
Highly recommended!

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Danioro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Teresita - and her husband and grand-daughter were the most gracious hosts for an afternoon of empanadas and parilla! And .... omg - DELICIOUS! Opening up her kitchen to host visitors from around the world, to cook, share, drink wine, and enjoy the back yard - it was amazing!
Make time to do this!!!
(Note: Plan ahead and give yourself time to get there! BA traffic can be BAD... Taking the shuttle was the easiest, though a shuttle sits in the same traffic as a car would, they take the best route.)

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank rjharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews