We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always amazing!”

Cooking With Teresita
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Adrogue
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the Argentine culture by eating and drinking as the locals do. Be prepared to roll up your sleeves for a hands-on experimentation at Teresita’s home kitchen. Learn how to prepare Empanadas Argentinas. Teresita will share regional techniques, ingredients, and a family empanada recipe that has been passed down over the generations.
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was in Adrogué, Argentina last week and took my 6th cooking class with Teresita and another group of people who were visiting from Australia. These cooking classes just keep getting better all the time. Teresita and her husband welcome you into their home where the cooking classes take place in their spacious country kitchen.You can take a class with your own group - or family - or you may be added to another small group of people who are there for the day. Teresita will teach you the basics of making Argentine empanadas, which wines to combine with the empanadas, and she'll also answer any questions you may have about other aspects of Argentine cuisine and customs.

If there are other types of Argentine cooking that you'd like to explore, don't be shy. Write to Teresita and ask her if she's available or can schedule your special request. This woman is an amazing cook and a superb instructor.

I can't stress enough how wonderful these classes are when one's visiting Argentina. They really round out the whole visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank furnmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    15
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great afternoon in charming house of Teresita”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have done the cooking class with Teresita during our 2 weeks stay in Buenos Aires.

+ we received a very quick replies from her.
+ you receive a very detailed description of how to get to her house in Androgue
+ you get a warm welcome.
+ you get a full knowhow on how to prepare empanadas, asado and you drink a lot of wine :)
+ you visit a butchers shop before in order to have a clue about the meat you are gonna eat.
+ the area is perfect for barbeque
+ you get an answer for all your questions
+ you get as much food as you like
+ you feel like coming back in there.

There are no big "minuses" of this activity.
- you have to pay in dollars but regarding current economical situation of Argentina - it's understandable.

We send a warm greetings to Teresita, her husband and her grand daughter. We spent a lovely afternoon with you!

Karina, Sebastian and Maura.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend the day!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I recently attended the empanada class with Teresita during our trip to Buenos Aires. The class was held in Teresita's lovely house in a charming suburb of Buenos Aires. Teresita and her husband were very welcoming hosts even though we were very late. (We took the train there, and even though Teresita gave us detailed directions, we should have allowed more time for travel.) She was funny, patient and informative as she taught us how to make asada and humita empanadas. After the class, we enjoyed the empanadas and wine in her gorgeous backyard. The class was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
“Brilliant teacher! Delicious food! Lovely setting!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Teresa and her husband hosted my husband and I for their empanada class. The other patrons had canceled but they still held the class just for us. Teresa's home and kitchen is everything you'd want it to me - warm and homey and authentic. Her instruction was clear and we learned a ton. They were will to help us practice our Spanish and we had a wonderful chat while devouring the results of the class! Our best day in Buenos Aires by far!

Don't be concerned about the distance outside of the city. The shuttle buses she recommends are easy to use, clean, cheap and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thereaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Empanada-Filled Day”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I took the Culinary and Wine Tasting Tour with Teresita, and we had a wonderful day! Teresita was quick to respond to our emails, and her home is absolutely beautiful. We toured a local farmer's market, butcher, and bakery, and then headed back to her home to make empanadas. We were with a great group from New Zealand and America - we loved our interesting conversations with the other guests.

After learning how to stuff and twist the empanadas (while drinking delicious sparkling wine), we all sat outside in Teresita's garden while she served an amazing multi-course luncheon with wine pairings. It was the perfect setting, and the food was delicious. This was definitely one of our favorite activities in Buenos Aires.

As a suggestion, make sure you set up your transportation before you travel to Teresita's. Teresita sent us a very detailed email on how to travel to her house, and we made the mistake of not reading it until the night before our class. We used a taxi to travel to her house, which took forever but was not very expensive. We used the train on the way back, which was a fun adventure. As for the tour, our only suggestion would be to do more during the walking portion. We wished we could have tried some of the unique foods that Teresita was pointing out - we felt too rushed to buy anything yet we felt a bit awkward just standing in the stores. Maybe a sample of the food would be nice. Other than that, the tour was amazing and I would highly suggest it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking With Teresita also viewed

Adrogue, Province of Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Adrogue, Province of Buenos Aires
Adrogue, Province of Buenos Aires
 

Been to Cooking With Teresita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing