We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
68
15
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean francoisother guestsoff the beaten pathmountainscorsica
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 88 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a GREAT place. Immaculate with a modern feel. Seating outside your room so in the evening you can gaze at the unbelievable array of stars. Very helpful host. Wonderful breakfast and a town nearby with a good restaurant (Restaurant du Lac) for dinner. (Although I believe they offer an evening meal, we arrived too late.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photogirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We've stayed here twice - and it was excellent both times. Nice rooms, wonderful and caring hosts, good food. Great place for taking day hikes - both Pascale and Jean Francois can give good advice on hikes at all challenge levels, as well as what else to do and see in the area. B&B setup and dinner arrangement is nice way to exchange experiences with other guests. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Lovely room, excellent food, attentive host and wonderful views all round. A great base for a couple of days good walking in this area

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in this house high in the Corsican mountains. We were greeted as friends with fine accommodations, good food, and friendliness. The view from our room was spectacular and the owners were wonderful. Casa Vanella is a perfect spot to explore a part of Corsica off the beaten path, to hike the mountains or bike the roads. We hope to return someday to see Jean-Francois and Pascale.

Room Tip: the room looking towards the high mountains and over the valley
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Location, freindliness, traditional Corsican food [do eat your evening meal here] and a mountain walker guide as cohost made this our favourite Corsican stay. Oh - and the other guests!

While the last is good luck the way the hosts arrange supper enables and encourages the guests to talk to one another. (It's an odd coincidence that 10 of the other 12 guests - from 5 different countries - had visited the tiny island of Reunion. But how often would you expect to be staying in a guesthouse where the guests would ever find this sort of thing out about each other?)

Other:
Plus - Beds are really large. Rooms are large.
Minus - Whole village had a water outage from 0300-1500 one day. Hosts coped fine (breakfast as usual), though no showers for half a day.
Note - If you're early on your Corsican trip and haven't got used to the narrow roads yet road access to Casamaccioli from the west (Ajaccio) is a little easier than from the east (Corte). Both are fine though.
Plenty of day or half-day walks in the area including access to the GR20. But you know that or you wouldn't be looking at the area ...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews