We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up the bumpy track”

Bois Cheri Tea Factory and Tea Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.58*
and up
South Mauritius Private Day Tour: Tea Factory...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Opportunity missed. Takes some effort to get to, but the worse road is within the estate. The position is great and the view is everything. The tea planation itself and views to the sea are all what this visit was about. The restaurant was too noisy to hear yourself think, let alone have a conversation. The service was just about OK. The menu looked interesting, but when the meals came, a bit of a let-down. Tea tasting was something of a wash-out, although the veranda was a much nicer place to be. Overall, overpriced and difficult to justify putting your car through the tortuous climb in the estate. Views memorable.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Merrill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"biscuits"
in 18 reviews
"guided tour"
in 20 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 9 reviews
"tea museum"
in 19 reviews
"vanilla tea"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful setting"
in 6 reviews
"interesting information"
in 4 reviews
"short drive"
in 8 reviews
"pancakes"
in 6 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"next door"
in 4 reviews
"colonial house"
in 4 reviews
"scenic view"
in 4 reviews
"tasting"
in 67 reviews
"plantation"
in 52 reviews
"shop"
in 38 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2018

If you are interested how to tea is comming to your kitchen, then go to the Bois Cheri Tea Factory. Price 525 rupee per person is not so small but tea testing is included.
Tour in the facotry take about 45 minutes then you can go to the beautiful located restaurant for the testing. Unfortunately you can probe only tea in the bags, but all factory products are on the table.
Group for tours are too big in my opinion, due to that you can't hear everything and there is no possibility to ask somethnig.
Museum is not worth the visit.
Generally place is worth visit, but could be less expensive.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank artsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

The tour of the tea factory is quite short and not really worth the money - we did learn how tea is produced which isn't very complicated but I do think 1050 MUR for 2 is expensive. However, it did include tea tasting in a separate building overlooking a large lake which was a lovely setting and very enjoyable. We decided to stay for lunch in the adjoining restaurant which was excellent with great service.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank RichardS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

I eat here to celebrate a birthday. I really enjoyed my lunch. There was heavy rainfall, but eventually the weather became sunny again. After lunch we enjoyed watching the deers having their lunch from outside the huge window panels. Romantic setting. I recommend.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 10dede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Very bad experience,met at reception counter by a very arrogant young man
Told price was 1050rs for 2 to have tour and tasting,paid then was left to see Museum (sic) on our own.Museum is nothing,few photos and machines in a dismally lit room.
Returned to reception for tour,then told 20min wait as too busy.I was left frustrated feeling ripped off and angry. Luckily our fantastic driver went to see the supervisor and by some miracle a guide was found for us and some other people waiting to go on a tour.Very noisy,very rushed and definitely not worth the price. Next was tasting,given a table they pot of hot water,only when our driver arrived were we shown service by the supervising lady who was very embarrassed we had not been even given a biscuit.
Had we not had a competent driver an already disappointing visit would have been even worst.
In summary
would I go there again,NO,
Would I recommend,No
Value for money,No
Customer service is non existent,Felt ripped off and very disappointed.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bois Cheri Tea Factory and Tea Museum also viewed

Chamarel, Riviere Noire District
Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
 
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Bois Cheri Tea Factory and Tea Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing