We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bois Cheri Tea Factory and Tea Museum
from $125.90
More Info
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
125
128
34
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
128
34
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits guided tour tea museum interesting visit vanilla tea beautiful setting short drive really enjoyed our visit pancakes no pressure to buy rupees per person nice restaurant panoramic view well worth the visit entrance fee nice experience small shop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We did a full day trip to include the tea plantation, tea tasting, colonial houses, rum factory, Gri Gri point and the crocodile park.

Really interesting trip, 1st you visit the Boi Cheri family colonial house then visit the tea factory, a quick look around the museum and then a tour of the factory where you see how the tea is produced and packaged, you then drive through the estate/plantation to the cafe/tea tasting station which has great views over a big lake, there are several teas to try of all different flavours, once thats done we were back in the car and drove down to the rum factory and another family colonial house. Here we had lunch which was included in our package along with drinks, once thats done you get a look around a small version of the factory where you see the sugar cane squashed and the juice extracted before trying several different kinds of rum that is produced, here you then have the chance to buy a bottle or two, before heading to the petting zoo at the end of the garden area, across the road is the bigger rum factory and shop which is extra if you want a look around here.

Our trip then took us to Gri Gri point at the southern end of the island, this is purely a view point but is a great experience as the rock face is a sheer drop and you see the waves crashing against the rocks, the colour of the sea is the most vivid blue you will see, we also had the bonus of seeing a couple of whales way out to sea which was a real wow factor, but this was a stunning view and a must see.

On then to crocodile park, which is really a small zoo, as they have all sorts of animals not just crocs, loads of tortoises in all sizes from very small to huge, deers, monkeys, birds etc etc.

All in all a very long day but very interesting.

Thank SEASIDEJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting the tea museum, factory and tea tasting at the restaurant with a magnificent view is a nice thing to do during a (with a private taxi driver) tour over the South of Mauritius. The tour was interesting, they show you the factory and tell you more about the harvesting of the leaves to making the different types of tea.

Thank M_vanthooft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The tour of the factory really takes you into the noisy centre of the factory where seemingly old fashioned machinery is sorting and moving the tea. I don't know how the workers can survive this environment without ear protection. It was difficult to hear the guide over the machinery. It was quieter by the tea-bag machine where two ladies put the tea bags into boxes. The museum has some interesting historical photos and a few artifacts. The tea tasting is great, (it's over a kilometre away up a bumpy track) but on the day we were there the views were only of the driving rain!

Thank S0crates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have already visited tea factories in Japan and Seychelles - and the one on Mauritius was by far the worst.
We arrived on Wednesday at 11.30am and the production was already finished but we could take part in a guided tour that cost the same as it was incl ongoing production...
This tour was about 15min and what we saw was mainly the packaging process.
Afterwards we went to the tea tasting which was about sitting at a table, waiting for hot water and then choosing from the tea packages from the table. Water lasts for approximately 2 teas each person.
Very disappointing... Not worth the money.

Good: funny guide and nice view though from the tea tasting location!

Thank Hayashi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Opportunity missed. Takes some effort to get to, but the worse road is within the estate. The position is great and the view is everything. The tea planation itself and views to the sea are all what this visit was about. The restaurant was too noisy to hear yourself think, let alone have a conversation. The service was just about OK. The menu looked interesting, but when the meals came, a bit of a let-down. Tea tasting was something of a wash-out, although the veranda was a much nicer place to be. Overall, overpriced and difficult to justify putting your car through the tortuous climb in the estate. Views memorable.

Thank Merrill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

If you are interested how to tea is comming to your kitchen, then go to the Bois Cheri Tea Factory. Price 525 rupee per person is not so small but tea testing is included.
Tour in the facotry take about 45 minutes then you can go to the beautiful located restaurant for the testing. Unfortunately you can probe only tea in the bags, but all factory products are on the table.
Group for tours are too big in my opinion, due to that you can't hear everything and there is no possibility to ask somethnig.
Museum is not worth the visit.
Generally place is worth visit, but could be less expensive.

Thank artsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

The tour of the tea factory is quite short and not really worth the money - we did learn how tea is produced which isn't very complicated but I do think 1050 MUR for 2 is expensive. However, it did include tea tasting in a separate building overlooking a large lake which was a lovely setting and very enjoyable. We decided to stay for lunch in the adjoining restaurant which was excellent with great service.

Thank RichardS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

I eat here to celebrate a birthday. I really enjoyed my lunch. There was heavy rainfall, but eventually the weather became sunny again. After lunch we enjoyed watching the deers having their lunch from outside the huge window panels. Romantic setting. I recommend.

Thank 10dede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Very bad experience,met at reception counter by a very arrogant young man
Told price was 1050rs for 2 to have tour and tasting,paid then was left to see Museum (sic) on our own.Museum is nothing,few photos and machines in a dismally lit room.
Returned to reception for tour,then told 20min wait as too busy.I was left frustrated feeling ripped off and angry. Luckily our fantastic driver went to see the supervisor and by some miracle a guide was found for us and some other people waiting to go on a tour.Very noisy,very rushed and definitely not worth the price. Next was tasting,given a table they pot of hot water,only when our driver arrived were we shown service by the supervising lady who was very embarrassed we had not been even given a biscuit.
Had we not had a competent driver an already disappointing visit would have been even worst.
In summary
would I go there again,NO,
Would I recommend,No
Value for money,No
Customer service is non existent,Felt ripped off and very disappointed.

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

If you’ve ever been on a tea plantation tour in Sri Lanka, India or China, give this one a miss. At 250 rupiah per head for the factory and museum tour, I certainly expected much more. They are amateurs clearly only in it for the money. 250 rupiahs isn’t outrageous, but it is when you consider what we got - we were rushed through the fermenting and drying stages in a garbled sentence to join with a very large group who had started the tour. We were given no choice to join a later tour although these were clearly happening. The tour group was so big, it was impossible to hear what the presenter was saying. 10 minutes later we were left to wander around the museum on our own. When I complained to the desk, they could not have been less interested and suggested I put my comments on TripAdvisor - so here they are.
If you have never been to a tea plantation before then I guess it’s interesting and especially if they make the tour groups small enough so that you can hear and ask questions. Otherwise , save your money for something more professionally run - and there are plenty of these to choose from in Mauritius.

Thank traveller123WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews