We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bois Cheri Tea Factory and Tea Museum
from $124.60
More Info
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
330
327
89
37
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
327
89
37
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits guided tour tea museum interesting visit vanilla tea beautiful setting interesting information short drive pancakes well worth the visit entrance fee next door colonial house scenic view process tasting plantation
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 795 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2014

The visit is by small groups accompanied by a "guide" ( ours seemed to be learning the job) We have gone through every stage of production to the final product packed and ready to go.
The we had tea tasting and there's also a shop where one can buy teas produced by the Bois Cheri Tea Estate. Part of the Mauritian heritage and I sure hope the schools take their students on an education tour to learn about their heritage.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank taipanlam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were a bit disappointed in the tea factory tour. For 500 Rps each ($17US ea), the tour was pretty short (about 20-25 mins) and the guide kind of rushed us through. It's a labor intensive process and the factory is pretty small. There's a small museum in the same building as the tour with some interesting tea facts, a short video on the Route de The in Mauritius and some old equipment on display.

The highlight of the tour is the tea-tasting in a tea room about 2km away from the factory. We walked to the tea room, but you can drive or take a cab there. There are tea bushes, lots of flowers and trees and a herd of deer en route. The tea presentation was pretty nice. Each little table is set up with 12 different teas produced at the factory plus milk, sugar, a pot of hot water and some sweet biscuits. We tried them all and spent well over an hour sampling the teas and taking in the beautiful scenery.

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank NineofCups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2014

We went through the museum and watched the film with great interest, afterwards we enjoyed a delicious tea tasting. Worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Tine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014

Never visited a tea plantation before. Lovely short tour of factory and tea tasting from the colonial house. Well worth a visit

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2014

I forget how much we paid, I think about 1000MR each. Fo this youget about 15 minutes to look around a 'museum' with some artifacts and pictures, then you get a 30-45 minute tour showing the whole process from the tea coming in to the packets being filled. This was interesting as was observing how safety interlocks on machine guards were etiher non-existant or had been over-ridden. The fee included 'tea tasting' Naïvely we had anticipated professional guidance for the price. What you get is a table in their restaurant with 10 boxes of different teas and as much boiling water as you need.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank xxxyyyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews